Community Development Institute Head Start

Community Development Institute Head Start Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Company
Early Childhood Home Base Teacher (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAMarch 4, 2019
Managers well trained to implement their leadership skills, encourage environment at work place.
Enthusiastic and collaborative coworkers, inclusive mentality.
Cons
Good amount of paperwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvememt
Infant/Toddler Teacher (Former Employee) –  Mathis, TXJanuary 21, 2019
Recently switched to cdi and it was very hard and stressful oberall there was alot of slack with communicating one would say something them the other something else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with children and families.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Clarkston, GANovember 27, 2018
Great place to work and great opportunities. Teachers work well together and parents are great. Administration always answers questions when needed.
Pros
Can move up in company.
Cons
need more trainings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was good to a certain degree'
Center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Selma AlabamaOctober 18, 2018
the company could have been better if the leadership had been bette.
This company had a good idea and services to the community except they were poorly carried out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun and productive place to work.
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee) –  Weir, MSOctober 5, 2018
I enjoy working with CDI head start and I would to move up in this field from being a teacher assistant to a teacher preschool. I have learned MANY great things from working at this center.
Pros
free lunch, an hour and a half of planning time
Cons
short breaks, riding the bus some days, active days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Program Director (Current Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 1, 2018
Advancement is not based on objective criteria. They do a good job of adhering to their policies and procedures and ensuring the health and safety of children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like it. Can't wait to see everyone once school starts back in August.
Transporter (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MSJuly 9, 2018
Very welcoming atmosphere. I have nothing but great things to say about this place. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a job where family is first and team work is welcomed.
Pros
Laid back
Cons
No retirement package
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent employer
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 20, 2018
support is always available, teamwork is valued and individual accomplishments are recognized. This employer cares about each one of its employees and goes above and beyond to provide quality support
Pros
career advancement
Cons
overly dedication required
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a joy to come to work every day
Receptionist/Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 7, 2017
When you walk in the door the smile and warmth from the staff would bright up your whole world and all your problems would go out the door you came in. The director made you fill like you was part of the family.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
the company took over by a different company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and i loved working there.
Assistant Teacher Aid (Former Employee) –  Peach Springs, AZ 86434October 3, 2017
I got to make kids enjoy Head Start and help them learn more of what they can do. They had so much fun and so did I when i was working there. I treated them like they were family and we bonded everyday I got to learn about them and what they like to do. I watched them grow and head off to Kindergarten.
Pros
free lunch and breakfast
Cons
the boss had her favorites and took sides.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun
Sub. Asst. Teacher (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 28, 2017
I enjoyed by time here. There was tons of structure, organization, and great management.The pay was fair, considering that I had little experience and no early childhood education. I would definently go back if I could.
Pros
The children and co-workers
Cons
Not enough time to do paperwork on the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classroom Setting
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Opelousas, LAAugust 26, 2017
The cl;assroom setting is good we work together and I enjoyed teaching the children. I love to interact with the teachers and the children and help them and get them ready for the next level of learning.
Pros
Outside
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working there
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Selma, ALAugust 9, 2017
CDI was a good place to work. I wish that they were still there. At CDI I work there as a teacher assistance first than I move up to a teacher. The pay were good. I were for holidays and summer.
Pros
Wish they were still here
Cons
I wish we got paid year around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJune 20, 2017
I enjoyed working with for this company. Had a good 2 years working for this agency. How I wish this agency still exist. More pay than most Head Start programs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Kids
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Sandston, VAApril 21, 2017
Headstart was a great part time job for me because it worked out great with my schedule. I also got the summer off. I was able to pick a schedule that worked with mine each week.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
on call
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente empresa donde se respeta y valora al empleado.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Canóvanas Municipio, PRApril 5, 2017
Trabajo en equipo, confidencialidad, ambiente libre de drogas, personal responsable y comprometido. Buenas relaciones interpersonales con el equipo de trabajo y las familias que visitaban el lugar. Sensibilidad, seguro medico, respeto, liderazgo y confianza en la personas y adiestramientos continuos
Pros
Buen sueldo y buena aportación al seguro medico
Cons
Es una agencia transitoria
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Copromiso y dedicación
Maestra (Former Employee) –  Canovanas, PRSeptember 17, 2016
Horario de 7:30am a 4:00pm, trabajé directamente con niños de 2.8 a 5 años de edad realizando observaciones semanales y evaluaciones de progreso en un ambiente de trabajo en equipo con el fin de ayudar a los niños en su desarrollo temprano.
Pros
Vacaciones, plan medico
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working was good ,but not good communication time
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJAugust 24, 2016
it was okay,it was a job they could have communicated a little better before they closed my job site down.they could had handle the situation of closing down centers better but they didnot.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with advancement opportunities
Center Director / Head Start teacher supervisor (Former Employee) –  Levy, Gilchrist, Dixie CountiesJuly 24, 2016
Great benefits, advancement opportunities, paid holidays. Travel paid while traveling within the three counties.
This company is a temp company that steps in to manage a program (like the Head Start program) when a new grantee is needed.
Pros
Paid holidays, good support system
Cons
only a temp grantee holder for program
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Center Supervisor for Early Head Start Center (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 1, 2016
This company really enhanced my knowledge in working with children. It allowed me the opportunity to grow and learn all the duties of every aspects of a Head Start program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Community Development Institute Head Start. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 36 reviews
513
413
310
20
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture

Community Development Institute Head Start Reviews by Location