Community Options
Happiness rating is 48 out of 100
2.6 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Community Options Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.6Work-Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 953 reviews matching the searchSee all 959 reviews

Community Options insights

Based on 510 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Fair pay for job
  • Sense of belonging
Is this information useful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Excellent environment work place.

Featured review

Community Options selected this as a representative review
Great place to work. Love the environment and clients. Great benefits, pay is great then most Home Health Care Agencies here in Santa Fe. Program Manager is an excellent support for staff. I enjoy my job. And look forward to coming into work. No stress, work environment is excellent... Encourage all to work apply and find out for yourself!..
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

August 24, 2021
Thank you for your feedback and for your dedication to improving the lives of people with disabilities in Santa Fe!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Horrible nothing

Horrible company management sucks and they dont know what they doing they dont care about their clients or staff. If you speak up for yourself your a target wouldn't recommend to no one
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

July 20, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue and we take these concerns very seriously. So that we can properly investigate and address this, please email us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Poor Place to work

The culture was very poor and management not the best. I enjoyed working with my colleagues. A typical day involved looking at cases and administrative work.

Pros

None whatsoever

Cons

Lying, unfair labor practices, exploitation
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

July 20, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your service. Thank you for making a positive impact in the lives of people with disabilities. We understand your frustration when it comes to this situation, and encourage you to contact us so we can properly address this. Feel free to contact us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

The good is quick hiring process

Not a good company to work for they didn’t help during training also some of the staff was extremely unprofessional and rude I wouldn’t work for this place

Pros

None

Cons

Mean and very very un organized
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

July 26, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your service. Thank you for making a positive impact in the lives of people with disabilities. We understand your frustration when it comes to this situation, and encourage you to contact us so we can properly address this. Feel free to contact us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Program manager

One of the worst jobs I ever had. Lazy supervisors that lie about being hurt in order to not have to go to houses. Extremely short staff and out of ratio for the clients. Staff aren’t properly trained and are left at houses for multiple shifts without notice. A horrible company.

Pros

1 Complimentary meal during training

Cons

Always stuck at houses not able to leave due to no staff, horrible pay, lack of communication and honesty, management doesn’t care about the clients, etc
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

July 26, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue and we take these concerns very seriously. So that we can properly investigate and address this, please email us at hr@comop.org

Job seekers rely on your experience.

Every work experience is unique. Let people know your thoughts on previous employers.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Horrible

Company does not take the field serious mist employees are only there for a check the management in Lubbock office is horrible and rude HIGHLY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

July 26, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your service. We understand your frustration when it comes to this situation, and encourage you to contact us so we can properly address this. Feel free to contact us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

No support

No support from anyone above you, your manager, their manager and so on. They take everything you’ll give until you’re burnt out and toss you aside and start over, they aren’t about providing training, knowledge or compassion to strengthen programs. Staff always look miserable and are responsible for holding up the fort. As a non-profit, all management talks about is money made and how much they lose making clients feel unimportant.

Pros

Cool coworker

Cons

Pay, benefits, management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

July 26, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Ogden region. We value your feedback as it helps our organization grow and improve. Our Talent Management and Quality teams are currently revisiting our training initiatives for our regional management positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Ego driven administrators

- no training.- no work life balance.- administrators belittle the DSP’s.- administrators gossip.- DSP’s have no trust in the administrators.- no classes offered for dealing with aggressive clients.Don’t work here until there is an overhaul in the administration or else you’re wasting your time.

Pros

You get paid biweekly if you submit your time on time.

Cons

Too many to name!!!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

July 16, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your service. Thank you for making a positive impact in the lives of people with disabilities. We understand your frustration when it comes to this situation, and encourage you to contact us so we can properly address this. Feel free to contact us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Terrible

The job was terrible ! I only worked there for 22 before I quit ! I loved the consumers they were dope individuals. But that management was TERRIBLE , the communication sucks ! Everybody talked about everybody. I also was accused of using “petty cash” to pay for my personal lunch, when firstly I used my debt card ! And secondly I had no access to the petty cash. It was just an all around horrible experience with the staff..... The job itself was not hard at all tho. I just wish it was different circumstances

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

July 16, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your service. We want everyone to have a positive experience with Community Options. We are sorry that wasn't your experience. Thank you for making a positive impact in the lives of people with disabilities. We understand your frustration when it comes to this situation, and encourage you to contact us so we can properly address this. Feel free to contact us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Horrible

The management is horrible. They will do anything to cover themselves. They call people unprofessional for advocating for themselves as an employee. They will hire you for one position then demote you to DSP. They lie to their hire ups about employees and also do not care about employees. I normally do not write reviews but please think twice before working here. They are always understaff. In the the group-homes no ones wears their mask they take them off as soon as they walk in the house. Management will take hours to come to your rescue when ur in a emergency. This is not a loving place that appreciates their employees especially during a pandemic. Community options is all about chasing the next check. I am disgusted

Cons

Horrible pay, unorganized, horrible management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

March 10, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue and we take these concerns very seriously. So that we can properly investigate and address this, please email us at hr@comop.org

Jobs at Community Options

See more jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

stressful enviroment

Unfortunately, they do not care about their employees. They will attempt to overwork you, and if you disagree with anyone, they will make working there even more stressful than it already is. Very little support, close to 0 communication, and the pay is not worth the mental or physical stress. The only enjoyable part about working for this company is helping the clients out and seeing their life get just a little better.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

March 10, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your service. Thank you for making a positive impact in the lives of people with disabilities. We understand your frustration when it comes to this situation, and encourage you to contact us so we can properly address this. Feel free to contact us at hr@comop.org. Our goal is to have everyone have a positive experience with Community Options and we can do so with your feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Real bad experience

Unfair treatment to staff.Long hours.Low pay.Certain individual workers are favored.Lots of drama among staff for some reason.Gossip and just overall Avery uncomfortable place to work for.

Pros

Free coffee

Cons

Power trips
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

February 15, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your service. Thank you for making a positive impact in the lives of people with disabilities. We understand your frustration when it comes to this situation, and encourage you to contact us so we can properly address this. Feel free to contact us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Not a place to work

Management did not care about their employees also they didn't listen to their employees about the individual that the employees took care of it's not a team

Pros

No pros it sucks
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

The Worst

Absolutely terrible. No training. Company could care less about staff working 90 plus hrs a week with no recognition or support. Unfair to clients in need of proper support.

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

January 21, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Bloomsburg, PA region. We value your feedback as it helps our organization grow and improve. Our Talent Management and Quality teams are currently revisiting our training initiatives for our regional management positions. Feel free to contact us so we can learn more about this situation at hr@comop.org.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Horrible

Management is currently horrible and power driven. Went from the best job I've ever had to the worst with poor leadership. They will give you directives with absolutely no training.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

January 21, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your service. Thank you for making a positive impact in the lives of people with disabilities. We understand your frustration when it comes to this situation, and encourage you to contact us so we can properly address this. Feel free to contact us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

The job can be either laid back or extremely stressful depending on what home you're assigned to work at

The clients are wonderful to work with, other staff are good people to be around. The biggest downside is the nature of the management, it's all based off of nepotism and favoritism.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

January 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue and we take these concerns very seriously. So that we can properly investigate and address this, please email us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Too much drama throughout the company

Mid-management (a position I originally held) gets little to no support from supervisors. The position itself inherently has some stress built-in, but trying to manage multiple employees and residents without the support from those in positions over you, there's a constant feeling of living in a vice.

Pros

Free coffee

Cons

Too much of a gossipy cilture throughout.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

January 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Nashville, TN region. We value your feedback as it helps our organization grow and improve. Our Talent Management and Quality teams are currently revisiting our training initiatives for our regional management positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Horrible

The management team is terrible. They don't care about you or staff. They want to work you like a dog. I was a program manager they don't care about you nor do they care about the clients. They have the clients living in nasty dirty homes. Have clients living with no hot water or no No heat! just horrible. I had to leave the company.

Pros

clients

Cons

Horrible pay no support
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

January 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue and we take these concerns very seriously. So that we can properly investigate and address this, please email us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Worst Job I've Ever Had

I am so happy I was able to quit this thankless job. This company hires the most low life people who could not care less about the clients because no one else wants this kind of job. I don't understand why those people even want to work here when they can make more money at Burger King. DSPs do so much work for so little pay and appreciation. If you don't want a toxic work environment do not work for this company.

Pros

None

Cons

Toxic work environment, terrible pay, mentally and emotionally draining, long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

January 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue and we take these concerns very seriously. So that we can properly investigate and address this, please email us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

No benefits management is horrible

No benefits management is horrible. They allow the residents to be extremely abusive there’s never any type of punishment for awful behavior. If residents attack the employees the employees are blamed. They can see a resident going after an employee and they will stay in there and allow the employee to be abused or hospitalized

Pros

None

Cons

Psychotic residence horrible psychotic management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

January 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We do provide a benefits package which includes medical, dental, vision, travel reimbursement, and more. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue and we take these concerns very seriously. So that we can properly investigate and address this, please email us at hr@comop.org
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Horrible company, avoid working here at all cost

Avoid wasting your time with this company. The pay is very minimum and upper management is condescending and do not care about the treatment of their staff. I would give this company 0 Stars if I had the option.

Cons

Horrible pay, poor treatment of Staff members, horrible management, bad work culture
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Community Options

January 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue and we take these concerns very seriously. So that we can properly investigate and address this, please email us at hr@comop.org.

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Community Options. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6

Based on 959 reviews
5
148
4
146
3
202
2
130
1
333

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.6
InHerSight Score
2.0Personal Development
3.4Career Opportunities
2.6Family Support
Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight
Powered byInHerSight
  • Companies
  • Community Options
  • Employee Reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?