Compass Group USA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced
DIRECTOR OF FOOD SERVICE (Current Employee) –  Statesville, NCMay 16, 2018
I love to be busy,everyday is pretty much a fast paced working environment. This makes my job fun for me. Compass Group has some great benefits, but they have higher expectations than is possible, at times. Management has a lot of responsibilities. I am a hands on manager that is willing to do what it takes to get the job done and done right. I am willing to get my hands dirty and I am willing to do the same jobs that I ask my employees to do. I love to have a relaxed, clean, and fun working environment ......yet I want things done properly keeping food safety a top priority. Customer satisfaction is extremely important and customer retention a priority. Staffing is the most difficult part of my job. It is so hard to find good, dependable help. I try to be respectable and fun to work with, but I draw the line.....between boss and friend. We are at work more hours than at home, so it's great if we can have fun while getting the job done.
Pros
fast paced, good benefits
Cons
lots of paperwork, high expectations without the resources needed to meet them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like the culture of catering dept. at my location
Catering Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Deerfield Beach, FLMay 14, 2018
I did not fit it with the culture. Very business minded on how to raise the bottom line. I learned how to use the Catertrax system that is very routine for Compass Group Catering.
Pros
Free lunches, good benefits, overtime
Cons
Short breaks, fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Catering Director (Current Employee) –  Wilkes-Barre, PAMay 14, 2018
It is a large company that has great opportunities, you must read the description closely for the respective area. Make sure to ask job related questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
BISTRO SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 14, 2018
Made alot of very good friends. Bosses pay attention to what you do and show appreciation. I was recommended for all my hard work,as well congratulated for my move
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Favorite Job
Catering Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 11, 2018
I really enjoyed working for Compass. If I had the opportunity, I would go back. They were extremely flexible when I began to transition from high school to my college career. They really do promote from within and it is not hard to advance in your career with Compass if you apply the dedication.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
12 hour work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
IT ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 28, 2018
They will tell you you're doing a great job. Have you move to a new location with your team and then let you go the same day 15 minutes before 5pm telling you that your performance isn't where it needs to be. You've been warned.
Pros
Great cafeteria and events for employees
Cons
Management cannot be trusted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place lots of creative concepts
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 11, 2018
great energy
fast paced
not enough benefits for middle management
Innovative concepts
room for advancement
nice work life balance
non union position
Fun place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Call Center Representative (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 27, 2018
3 stars there is not a whole lot to say, my manager was great did the best she could with what she was giving to work with,If I just really needed a job I would work for them again.
Pros
they will hire you if you are willing to put in the work
Cons
no advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work if you have children, or need a flexible schedule due to the fact you are a student
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Rochester, MIMarch 24, 2018
they work around you schedule when applicable , most positions have week ends and holidays and summers off, although you can elect to work summers if there is openings.
Pros
free lunch and weekends and holidays off. perfect job for someone with children or a student, there is full time and part time available
Cons
the benefits could be better and not everyone can work the summers if needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My overall summary working at compass group was good i enjoyed working over night
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 18, 2018
My overall experience working for compass group overnight was great i met alot of great people my jon was well organized thay when i got to work i could get the working the mangaer was very smart and talented people
Pros
Average
Cons
Average
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa estable ni buena ni mala.
Cashier,salad prep,barista etc. (Former Employee) –  Ashburn VAMarch 8, 2018
Trabajo para esta empresa por casi 15 años li cual significa que no es tan mala.
Pros
Seguro medico privado.
Cons
No pagan bien.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
been here 10+ years
Chef Manager, Support (Current Employee) –  MarylandMarch 6, 2018
ok place to work, upper management is terrible and have no idea what is going on in specific accounts. every account is different but they treat every one the same.
Pros
pay, benefits
Cons
upper management, lack of caring from higher ups until there is a problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Food Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 15, 2018
too much work not enough pay or hours Disrespectful employees No clear understanding of job description. No fairness or equality in the workplace No leniency on transpotation or home life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity
Senior Treasury Cash Accountant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 13, 2018
Great place to be at with great opportunities. I enjoy my time at Compass, however I am ready to go somewhere else and learn other things. Compass is a great Company to retire with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full time work
Culinary Assistant // StLouis, Missouri (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 6, 2018
The hours are long and the work can be tedious. Schedule not consistent. The health benefits are great and there are plenty of opportunities for overtime.
Pros
health benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catering
Catering Attendant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 2, 2018
Poor management . Treats you with no respect.
Stress when you open the doors . Do too many jobs besides your own.
Man agent is all about money and that all. No product to work with half of the days.
Pros
No weekends
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
DIRECTOR, HUMAN RESOURCES (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJanuary 29, 2018
Fast pace, very large company so no one really care to know you. Very good training and development and opportunity for advancement within the different sectors.
Pros
too much to list
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only if you enjoy drama and harrassment
assistant (Former Employee) –  odessa txJanuary 27, 2018
Employees are abusive and bullies.This job was like working in a day care. Employees not showing up, Harrassment and verbal abuse prevalent and theft at an all time high.
Pros
I don't work there anymore
Cons
Abusive cut throat atmosphere. No amount of money is worth this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a good place to work felt like family
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2018
It’s an awesome place to work for ! If you’re looking for a part time . And are going to school still ! They work with you as long as you talk with them in time .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not always what things seem
General Labor (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 22, 2018
many years of employment, many closures of accounts due to contract with client discrepancies, generally management was just doing their job, false impression that the company cares about their employees, over pricing of insurance benefits, advancement never came from upper levels.. you had to pursue them to move up.
wish I had left company earlier in life.
Pros
no weekends
Cons
no overtime, have to pay for food, not recognized by upper managers for skills and rewarded for your efforts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group USA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 87 reviews
517
419
322
214
115

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

4.3Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.