Compass Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for offering a great benefit plan!
Chef (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 25, 2018
I had worked at a local hospital when the food service department was contracted out. Although it was difficult for the long term employees I adapted fairly quickly. The food quality was greatly improved and the new manager had no previous history with staff so he was able to hold them up to Touchpoint standrds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dietary
St Johns Broken Arrow (Current Employee) –  Broken Arrow, OKApril 25, 2018
I l loved working for Compass Group. My boss was wonderful and listened to comments and people I worked with? you could not find any nicer. I enjoyed working with all the patients in the hospital too.
Pros
Health Insurance.
Cons
vacation time, after one year was only 2 days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cut throat place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Texas Gulf Coast, TXApril 25, 2018
Compass group needs to really think about who they hire before they do. Stop hiring people on how they dress for an interview, or because they resume looks good. Start checking what is really in someone's resume before hiring them. Why not promote inside before hiring outside. Why don't Compass pay for holiday pay or time and a half. Some units are very unfair to their employees, overall Compass head leaders needs to visit these units and see what is really going on and why their turnover in employee's leaving is so high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for those with social skills
Cashier & Barista (Former Employee) –  West Bloomfield Township, MIApril 24, 2018
Depending on your role it can require you to interact with students young and old daily. It helps to be very social. Most locations are fast-paced so you also need to be able to work quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job
Barista Cashier (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXApril 24, 2018
Change to uniform and clock in
Check coffee, throw the trash, assist customers by making drinks or attending them at the cashier.
Push products to the front, mop/sweep then throw the trash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you don’t like clean up behind people or just need extra money I wouldn’t recommend working there.
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAApril 23, 2018
The people that work in the areas are disgusting they leave trash everywhere will even throw food paper clips and coins on the floor to see if your cleaning around the desk.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hours for the culinary field
Chef/ Manager (Current Employee) –  VAApril 23, 2018
good company to work for. Good benefits and salary commensurate with work. not much support for each individual unit. As chef manager you are expected to run the unit as an independent business. Onboarding process was lacking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support, constant change in management
Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Avenel, NJApril 22, 2018
Long hours are necessary to make any kind of income. Management does not support or offer help. No recognition for hours or dedication. Issues are never addressed.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
long hours, no support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work group
Nutrition Services (Former Employee) –  Stevens Point, WIApril 22, 2018
Working with the people was nice. There were many different age groups there. Some people thought they were more superior and brought people down instead of helping them in a well constructed way.
Pros
Some nice people, meet many different kinds of people
Cons
Some co-workers were rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The newest management team is terrible.
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSApril 20, 2018
I honestly don’t intend on working for this company ever again. The director asks about your personal life just so they can cut your hours down to the max. Then give you more work to do in less time. The executive chef just sits in the office watching the business fail instead of pitching in and blames the staff for things that is clearly his responsibility. These managers work the staff to the bone. Then either terminate them or take away all their hours till they are forced to quit.
Pros
Your days off, because it’ll give you time to apply elsewhere.
Cons
Everyone in management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXApril 20, 2018
Working in a food service job you have to be steady on your feet. Great with customer service with a positive attitude. Be hands on and willing to learn everything about working in food service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
payroll
Payroll/ Account Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 20, 2018
connect to manager to submit payroll on time. Process garnishment ( Tax levies, child support). Answer manager and employees questions.
It was a nice place to work. Great manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Catering Chef (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 19, 2018
good place to learn and grow as a chef, if the culinary arts is your end goal then look not further, lot of options at different accounts to move, learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty much a temporary job for high school and college students
Branches Giftshop- Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 19, 2018
i worked for the company for four years and I have seen employees come and go. I worked for Compass Group- “Branches Giftshop” and this job is pretty much for people that are in their late teens through mid 20’s. The reason why i say this, is because this is a retail job. They sale clothings, jewelry, baby/kids toys, snack/drinks and etc... you do a lot of merchandising and young adults know what’s the new trend now a days. Yes, a lot of young/older customers shop here, but they always ask young folks opinions. What sucks about this company is your yearly review. They check to see how well you done the whole year and calculate that and give you a raise.. the MOST you can get for a raise is $0.45 cents!!! Not a even a bonus. The pro about this set schedule and weekends off.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Yearly raise sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Café Manager (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAApril 18, 2018
Over all decent company to work for. Free lunch. Chef coats are provided for by the company. Cashiers, and managers had to buy their own clothing/ uniform.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fast paced, decorating special events such as weddings
Catering Captain (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 18, 2018
Overall this is a job and not a career. More for kids in their teens or early twenty’s. I loved setting up banquet events and weddings, very beautiful outcomes.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Have to pay for parking, low pay, management wasn’t so great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent benefits and strict policy
Lead Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCApril 17, 2018
The most interesting variable in a Compass group kitchen, as in most, is the manager. The handbook is very strict and can seem ridiculous at times. I have been told by HR, a manager can change your schedule at any time and you would be liable for punishment if you didn't comply. Staying friendly, quiet, and hardworking seems to be the going formula. Pick your boss wisely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top notch company and one of the biggest.
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 16, 2018
Work like in any food service industry is demanding can be fast paced and rewarding when customers satisfied. I learned working in a diverse environment. How to better manage staff and help keep cost/waste to a minimal. The hardest part of the job is working short handed and still providing excellent customer service. Most enjoyable is a happy client.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work in compass group
waiter (Current Employee) –  Armor, NYApril 16, 2018
Compass Group or flik work for citibank at 188 king st Armonk, NY 10504
As it is a private place, reserved for executives of the bank and important clients the work is different to many places that is why the work schedules each week are different and some days are 8 hours a day and others are 16 hours. In general, it is a clean place, an excellent work team and a magnificent, very human, understanding and supportive head of his team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at a google facility and currently want to re-apply
Chef (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAApril 15, 2018
I worked at a google facility and worked with sone of the best chefs ive ever worked with i my 8 yr experience. Even though i had to commute two hours they staff worked with me as much as they could and when it became too much they helped me maintain a good standard with the company. And promised to help me get a job closer to my residence. You just dont find good people like that anymore
Pros
Free food and drinks
Cons
Well there's always that one guy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,975 reviews
5782
4854
3661
2277
1401

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.3Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight