Compass Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company
VARIOUS LOCATIONS, EXEC CHEF (Former Employee) –  Merrillville, INApril 5, 2018
This is a very large company with lots of management and lots of locations for employment but there is no follow up management once you are placed into a facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and new learning expereince
Baking & Pastry Intern (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 5, 2018
A typical day at work consist of a split job in the culinary and baking kitchen. The culinary kitchen was using knife skill to prep for lunch, dinners, a la carte and photo shoot. Baking kitchen consist of preparing goodies for lunch and dinner and teach bank members how to bake.
Pros
Free lunch, Pay every friday
Cons
short breaks, amount paid per hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
holiday breaks
Cashier/Cook, Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Macon, GAApril 5, 2018
We was once able to receive unemployment during our holidays off. Now we have to seek for work part time or be without funds. We no longer receive pay time off not even any possible relocation over the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salt mine
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDApril 4, 2018
The department is so under staffed the workers are under lots of pressure. If the massive work load is not done right you will hear about it. The staffing is limited because no one wants to work this hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Chef Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, AL 35211April 4, 2018
exciting place to work take many hours to get our jobs completed not a lot of family time. our customers/clients are normally about the best we could ask for, truly love what i do
Pros
good benifits
Cons
to many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too stressful
HR Coordinator (Current Employee) –  College Station, TXApril 2, 2018
Helping co-workers was the best part of the job, but there is no appreciation for your work unless you are actually bringing in money. If you work in the support group, you're pretty much at a dead-end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Prep Cook-Server (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMApril 2, 2018
I've worked in various places in the Albuquerque Compass Group location. The workday can vary between sites and to a varying degree of difficulty. Management is either very good or awful with not a lot in between, but you really have to mess up to be fired or disciplined. The workplace culture is friendly unless you do any temporary work at a new location but it could be worse, and adjustments are made quickly to keep good employees. The most enjoyable part of the job is my coworkers. The downside is that they don't always have enough people to keep all the locations as clean as they need to be.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mower/ weed trimmer
Groundskeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INApril 1, 2018
I mowed about 15 schools per week using large zero turn mowers. Also mowed using tractor. I worked in various outside weather conditions. Company provided vehicle for equipment transportation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 31, 2018
Poor management for employees and poor in customer relations. Management watching you like a hawk. Don't get 40 hours a week but 36 hours. Management does not trust with cashiering.
Pros
Free Starbuck drink
Cons
Management that does not trust you with cashiering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whippany, NJMarch 29, 2018
I learned somenthing difference, i like to work there .people was nice and helpful.Working with compass was very good experience for me.
it was well paid . work was not hard.
Pros
I like it.
Cons
it was a little far from my house.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People oriented fun place to work. Love to cook and that’s what I did
Manager (Former Employee) –  Timberville, VAMarch 29, 2018
I would highly recommend anyone to work there. They have wonderful catering job opportunities . A lot of job placement and a very good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good for a new person
Production/Distribution Manager (Former Employee) –  Rome, GA 30161March 29, 2018
treated like an outsider as a new manager did not get proper training in the business all the managers spoke spanish in the meeting so i could not learn as fast as needed most of the workforce is of spanish speaking origins communications were difficult
Pros
compensation and benefits
Cons
spanish speaking environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on the military base
Food Service Director (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 28, 2018
The hardest part of the job was trying to balance all 5 concepts at the same time. Multi-tasking was a must. Ensuring that you were ready for business a top priority especially when it came time for chow time!!!
Pros
meeting a variety of people from around the world
Cons
long hours!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn how to keep a clean working environment
CUSTODIAN (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CT 06708March 28, 2018
Cleaned classrooms and bathrooms.
Swept and mopped stairs and hallways.
Shampoo the carpet
buff and wax the floors
vacuum all the carpets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Executive Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Westhampton Beach, NYMarch 28, 2018
Great place to work with a nice friendly, family. Extremely fast paced catering/fine dining environment. Good management with open door policy. Seasonal employment.
Pros
Great place to work!
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Route Sales (Former Employee) –  Richburg, SCMarch 28, 2018
give change to employee and stock drink and snack machine and stock condiments.
Management was ok
hardest part job get time off
Meeting difference people and difference cultures
Pros
so so money
Cons
no time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor training
Chef/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lewistown, PAMarch 26, 2018
It took a whole month to just start here. I was only hired on just to be thrown under the bus! Poor training and lack of communication. I was technically doing a two person job. There was never time to take a break, I was always rushing trying to get things done. Barley got help when needed.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Lack of training, no breaks, not paid enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 25, 2018
The enviroment is pretty good . the benefits are way above average. work life balance is much better than a normal culinary job. the culture is ok. does have room for improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disconnected Management
Technical Producer (Current Employee) –  Redmond, WAMarch 25, 2018
*this pertains to one particular account in Redmond, WA*

This is a Catering Company trying to run an AV/Events contract, and it shows. They take on more services than they can swallow, and put the burden on the lowest ranks possible.
Pros
Discounted meals
Cons
Loose adherence to labor laws
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYMarch 24, 2018
Honestly is a great place to work. Great people, great atmosphere. The new boss is the only problem, and the only reason I’m considering other employment. She’s been here over a year and still doesn’t know what she’s doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 3,060 reviews
5799
4881
3681
2285
1414

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.3Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight