Construction Specialties, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
personal assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, VAJune 4, 2018
Best job i have had and highest paid. felt like i learned a lot after working here. applying hands on skills was a good time for me. would work here again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for entry level positions but don't stay long
None (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJMarch 27, 2018
As for the Cranford location extremely unprofessional; HR does not help the employees; only promoted if you're one of the 'favorites' and laughing all day; talk about each other behind their backs; management only cares about themselves; unfair preferential treatment to employees; no respect for long time employees at all.
Pros
Free Bagels on Friday
Cons
terrible raises, low pay, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repressive Work Environment
Post Order Sales (Former Employee) –  Hughesville, PAFebruary 20, 2018
As a dedicated and hardworking employee, there's not much to gain from working here other than unimaginable stress and unrealistic expectation. The more you do for management, the more they expect from you, and their lack of recognition fails to justify burning yourself out.

Management's view of trivial matters is black and white, and employees are not given fair opportunities to defend themselves, suggest process improvements, or voice concerns. The micromanaging is so abundant that you will often feel that you are not trusted to perform your daily tasks.

I made the mistake of accepting a move from an entry-level job position into a specialized field and was further denied the corresponding promotion. The politics here are so heavy that ethics are sacrificed to save the company pennies and dimes.

The modern-day, thriving work environment for design-oriented trades is encouragingly collaborative, but CS is unfortunately far behind these times. In a dreary, quiet office, talking about work-related matters will escalate to the HR level and reflects negatively on participating individuals. Having worked in a design department, this environment felt counter-productive in that it made everyday tasks more challenging.

I hoped to build valuable skills and make notable connections at CS, but instead I have just been conditioned to be excessively defensive over my work. If you have ambition to succeed in your career, CS is not the place for you. The benefits of this company are great, so it's a shame that there are no better reasons to spend more than just a couple years
  more... of your time here before moving on to something more worth your while.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stifling and judgmental
Marketing (Former Employee) –  PAJanuary 8, 2018
My coworkers truly made the job worth it despite incompetent management and supervisors. This company is staffed with intelligent, talented people who are grossly mismanaged by supervisors who withhold information, set employees up for failure, micromanage and treat employees like schoolchildren in the marketing department. Other departments do seem to have fun and treat employees with respect.

CS is a stifling, stagnant environment where creativity and different ways of thinking are not encouraged and even punished in the marketing department. If you’re raising concerns or attempting to rock the status quo, prepare to be disappointed and treated as an issue instead of an asset.

Listen to your employees—your most valuable resource. Do not attempt to forge ahead until fixing the glaring issues in the marketing department, regardless of who it will offend. Treating employees like they’re real people instead of robots would go a long way to improve morale, which is at a significant and scary low point. Believe those who want to talk and help out in order to improve direct reports and managerial relations, and work with instead of against your employees, whether that’s in meetings, through brainstorming sessions, or actual content creation.
Pros
Decent PTO time, the people working below management
Cons
Poor management, resistant to productive change, old fashioned
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction Specialties
Regional Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Cranford, NJDecember 21, 2017
Good people at the company for the most part. Some advancement if you work hard. Pay is below average. Days are slow most of the time which can be good and bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active workplace
Iiro rakkunus oy (Former Employee) –  Finland EuropeDecember 15, 2017
Did a lot of ground work and pretty much was a construction helper at the end of the day. Had to make metal pieces that goes underneath the ground. Sometimes had to fix and restall material that goes into houses, apartments, etc.
Pros
Free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Construction Worker (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 6, 2017
At construction specialties, inc. We had fun we laughed joked around we were basically like a big family but when it was time to get our job done we always made sure it got done and we made sure it was done right.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about construction
Owner, Sales, Supervisor, Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  MichiganDecember 5, 2017
The staff and coworkers are great. Enjoyed my time while their.
They trained me to do each craft. I than got raises based on the my advanced skills. Very good culture to work in.
Pros
Paid travel
Cons
gone a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning
Remodeling Contractor (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, KSOctober 9, 2017
constant learning and quick decisions felt like a family atmosphere hardest part of the job was trying to make the right decision on the spot most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the finished products
Pros
the knowledge i gained
Cons
some days were stressful with a lot of pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kinda productive
Finisher (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOOctober 3, 2017
The people are nice co workers I mean but I have a family and need more income and benefits I like the placr but like i said i need more for me and my family
Pros
Company picnics
Cons
To many bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Playing the Favorites game.
Production (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAAugust 29, 2017
This was not a bad place when I started but eventually you learn how everyone is. Management likes to favor some people over others and those are the people that will see the advancement opportunities. You have to fight your way to get some where with the company if your not in the "In Crowd". The production manager, maintenance manager, or safety manager, whatever his title is for the day of the week, has experience in leadership and that is about it. Yet he is considered the most knowledgeable person in the building. He used and I am sure is still using other peoples ideas, procedures, and writings as his own and claims he done it himself. Engineering and management are not held to the high expectations they should be. An hourly worker can be let go for having a bad day and not approaching a situation correctly but an engineer can miss work for being arrested for possession and being under the influence with nothing said and continue on like nothing happened. At the end of the day this is not an ideal place to work and nothing is going to get through to corporate to change it so save yourself the time.
Pros
Somewhat laid back environment at times.
Cons
Management and the physiological game play encountered on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Internship Experience (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 14, 2017
Good place to learn the basics of construction very friendly people very good hours and very demonstrative instructors good place to learn in overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic and Regressive
Managerment (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJuly 26, 2017
What was once a great company led by steady, strong, and strategic leadership is now being run into the ground by poor management and a lack of any clear vision. The company lacks an identity in a once prosperous industry. Management is grossly incompetent and struggles to make decisions of any caliper without the blessing of a small handful of individuals in senior/executive management.

Projects are often substantially over budget, overdue, and over staffed. The end result is a mediocre product and a deflated workforce. Management refuses to automate manufacturing domestically - causing them to manufacture in Mexico just to make money on an already slim margin across their product line.

If you want to work for a company that has zero consequences and little room for growth, than look no further. If you're looking to make a difference and be a change agent, look elsewhere. Anyone or anything that challenges the status quo and old-school business approach will quickly be alienated.

The real gem of this company are the employees below management. They give everything to their job are the real reason CS hasn't gone bankrupt sooner. There are so many who help each other for the betterment of the company, without advancing their own agenda. Without them, CS would be a memory in an already declining market.
Pros
The People
Cons
Suffocating Management/Incompetence
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Analyst
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, NJMay 16, 2017
Fantastic work environment. Work with pharmacy contracts and decide whether or not a contract has expired or can be improved upon through a 3rd party.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJMay 4, 2017
This job was okay for someone who's looking for a little bit of experience.

Typical day is pretty boring - just meet your deadlines and people are happy.

It wasn't too hard but it was boring and there wasn't a lot of room to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work here
Project Manager I Cranford, NJ I (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJJanuary 22, 2017
This is not a place you want to work. The pay is bad and raises are rare. Management is reactive and the manufacturing plant tends not to be flexible in schedule. Ultimately, the project manager is given the title of project manager without any of the authority.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Del Rio, TXJanuary 10, 2017
Its a great place to work at, the environment, the people, great compensation and bonus, great work hours, weekends off. Work load is simple, great opportunity for personal growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back work environment
Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Muncy, PADecember 7, 2016
Great place to work. they treat their employees very well. their health care is awful. i just feel that i am ment for so much more than the job i have there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun hard day at work
Office Support (Former Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLFebruary 25, 2016
doing manual labor being a helper construction work carrying bricks unhauiling trash learning a lot from the others workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Upper management
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJFebruary 16, 2016
Paid at minimum level for the area and position. Lack of career growth and initiatives. Technical support was difficult to obtain from key personnel.
Pros
hour lunch, co workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Construction Specialties, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 35 reviews
511
47
37
24
16

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

1.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Construction Specialties, Inc. Reviews by Location