Consumer Cellular Employee Reviews

Showing all 248 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall.
Customer Account Advisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 19, 2018
Good company, although the rate of pay posted online is different from the actual pay posted for the position. The quota is a bit high standard. Your phone calls should no more than 2 mins. Including verifying acct info, listening to the problem, navigating, solving the problem.... most of the time consisted of customers not knowing how to use their device and not accepting "call apple" as the answer. The hold times get outrageous and they critique every last thing you do and after 2 marks offs you fail a call. The managers are rarely available so you have to know how to deal with rowdy customers. Your numbers and scores are everything... or at least more so than your customer relationships. More or less its a job that requires quick analytical skills and patience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZJuly 17, 2018
Opportunity to advance is there pay is decent, employee treatment needs improvement as well as company policy and training. improvements have been promised but seem like they arent priority.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay experience.
Customer Account Advisor (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 16, 2018
The job is quite simple, I got it down two weeks into my training. It's simply helping customers, nothing more, nothing less. Customers would call about account issues, and those were the easiest. The ones that call with physical phone issues were always the hardest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is a joke
TEAM SUPPORT SPECIALIST/ LEAD (Former Employee) –  Redmond, ORJuly 12, 2018
You have limited advancement for growth and a team full of people who don't believe in growing employees. They consistently talk about the culture and you cannot make human error without feeling "in trouble". Upper management is not involved until there is a huge issue or claims. Sick time is incredibly strict. There is no time off within the first 90 days - no exceptions (yeah, even if your kid is sick).
Pros
It's a job?
Cons
Going there every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing supervisors and fantastic people to work with
Customer Account Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJuly 10, 2018
Immediately loved the job with fantastic supervisor assistance and the team meetings every morning to talk about what we can all work on as a team. Supervisors always pushed employees to do their best and to never stop striving to get to the top and would pull employees to the side to show them calls that were fantastic or even how to fix some mistakes on a call. Human resources always emailed employees of any extra time they can get at work as well as any work events going on. Site manager was constantly working with employees and supervisors and would even take a call with an employee to show them how to best handle a call. The job always taught me that there are different people that do things or understand things a different way and it was a fantastic learning experience. The hardest part of the job was always the porting as it was a long process with very sensitive information that had to be exactly correct or it would not register properly, but taught me that even the small things can make the biggest differences
Pros
long breaks, Paid time off, Flex time, Sick time off, paid holidays, free healthcare opportunities, on site doctor availability
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Redmond, ORJuly 3, 2018
Would not recommend them to anyone. Terrible shift choices, terrible compensation, punitive rather than incentive work environment. Terrible, stressful.
Pros
health and other insurance
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided a good work environment
CAA3 (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 3, 2018
i love consumer cellular best job ever and good benefits good training love the customers easy to learn Tss have no problem with helping you if need to be
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Customer Account Advisor II (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZJuly 1, 2018
human resources is a toss up i had some issues that were never resolved i did not provided with the acknowledgement deserving, I feel like the out side person. I was not treated fairly although this company has decent pay Im not really sur i would refer anyone to work for them. Maybe in a perfect world
Pros
good dounuts
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Redmond, ORJune 28, 2018
Answer incoming calls
Learned the basis of cellular service
regimented work place
hard reaching goals on a regular basis
Management was helpful
Enjoyed having a job
Pros
Helped those that needed a cell phone get one
Cons
Not being able to provide service for everyone due to their remote location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict Metrics and Favoritism
Senior Customer Account Advisor (Former Employee) –  Redmond, ORJune 25, 2018
A great job if you want to completely abandon your personality, and be treated like you're in elementary school. You only get a promotion if the higher-ups feel you love the company culture. Brown-nosing is the name of the game, so you're gonna have to learn to enjoy the smell of s#!t.

Pretty good pay for entry-level positions, though, and benefits. They still do pre-employment urinalysis too, so don't smoke beforehand.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible micromanaging company
CSR (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJune 22, 2018
What a horrible place to work for. When they say they're strict about their attendance policy, THEY MEAN IT! You get 1 minute grace to be late.. ONE MINUTE!! 2 minutes to clock in.... I was let go because I was rear ended, car was totaled and towed. Managed to be only 10 minutes late and they fired me.... They could care less if I walked in there in a hospital gown, if you're late, you're fired.
Pros
When you get you clock out
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job great benefits
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJune 20, 2018
I would tell everyobe this is great job the benefits are great tbe job there fast pace non stressful great job to have and just great job to secure a future with
Pros
great job and benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center for phones
Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  ArizonaJune 8, 2018
you can live off this job they pay you a lot 40 hours guaranteed and you pay you more if you work 35+ hours and free lunch events every other month. I like the energy there.
Pros
40 hours a week you cant leave early or take a sick day if you have the hours for it
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy monotonous work with decent pay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Redmond, ORJune 4, 2018
The jobs are not too strenuous or stressful, the time-off structure is pretty bad but the benefits were paid for and pretty good all things considered. The owners actually seem to care and get involved with the company a lot, even if they are slow to make any changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The metrics that are required are almost impossible to meet.
Customer Account Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZMay 30, 2018
Average class of 40 to 50 new hires. Average of 5-10 survive after 6 months. Learned how to fix cell phone issues over the phone, deal with customer billing are a plus. Metrics are too tight.
Pros
great hours
Cons
under a microscope 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Redmond, ORMay 22, 2018
Always talking to a different person, doing a different job on the account. Always able to learn about different phones and services. Management listens to calls to provide assistance when needed and praise when deserved. Keeping up with stats required can get stressful and creates a competitive workplace. Can be good if used for fun, or bad if the competition gets mean.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stressful, oppressive work experience
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZMay 17, 2018
After coming from a company where the front-line employees opinion meant more than any managers to the higher ups, Consumer Cellular is a dreary place to work. Their systems are slow and seem almost ancient. Google searches give me better assistance in solving customer issues than the company's knowledge base. For the amount of stress that comes with your back to back calls all day the pay is terrible!
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Low pay, No chance to make suggestions for improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A joke
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZApril 23, 2018
I currently work there and the second I find another job I am gone along with many others no compensation for the hard work put in supervisors micro manage attendance policy does not bend pay is low considering all the things that are required of you as an employee it is absolutely not worth the time it takes to fill out the app you don't get paid for sales you're required to make until after you've been there 90 days and last but certainly not least the pay is only 12.27 you're only paid for overtime once you exceed 32 hrs FALSE ADVERTISING!!!
Pros
You go home eventually
Cons
No compensation for anything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZApril 17, 2018
Consumer Cellular had very poor pay. I worked there for 9 years and only got .45 cents an hour raise yearly. Then they cut back everybodys pay by $1.00 an hour and capped it. I left at that point. I had had enough.
Also no room for advancement.
Pros
You do learn the cellphones and how to operate them
Cons
poor pay and raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORApril 11, 2018
I had worked here for a few months. Did not get any PTO or benefits. However, the environment felt like I was in high school all over again. I was talked to about a false rumor just days before I was terminated without given a reason why. Pay isn't great either.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Consumer Cellular. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 248 reviews
572
448
363
228
137

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture