Core-Mark International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 713 reviews matching the search See all 758 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 15, 2018
if it was a regular eight hour job it would be durable. its definitely for if you're straight out of high school. Maybe also depending on the area you're assigned to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 13, 2018
Bad culture. Management Team are very dissappointing. No respect for associates! Manager cussing and lying in front of associates. Bad moral within warehouse and office!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandiser
Merchandiser/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Fife, WANovember 10, 2018
Merchandisers get no recognition but usually does a lot of hard work. Core-mark is cheap and does not pay employees well. I worked there for 6 years and barely made 12 bucks an hour. When the minimum wage went up they did not compensate the employees who been there for years and let them get paid 25 cents more than a new hire.
Pros
Work independantly
Cons
Raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture and Values
Corporate Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 10, 2018
Core-Mark has great core values and a management team that cares about having a work life balance. Flexible schedule for long commutes and good compensation and benefits. Continuing education is valued and encouraged for all team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Find somewhere else!!!
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Glenwillow, OHNovember 5, 2018
At first it was cool and i didn't mind the physical work but after working their for a year it was going downhill!! I don't even know where to begin!!
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Too many to name!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax and less stressful
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Clackamas, ORNovember 3, 2018
I have been working here for 3 months and i tell that core-mark is a great place to get experience and skills. People are very nice but the management is not great enough. I think they should pay more by the type of work we do.
Pros
15 minutes break. Free coffee.
Cons
Low low. Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entrepreneurial, Growth Oriented, overwhelming opportunities!
General Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 2, 2018
Each Division is run as its own company, receiving guidance and support from the overall head office to achieve the self made plans of each. They live their values of Family, Integrity, Pioneering, Commitment and Customer Centricity, and look to their people to provide the solutions that work best for caring for their people and their customers with little in the way of centralized direction. If you're a thought leader at whatever level of your career, you can definitely progress quickly in this company!
Pros
Little to no politics, different day each day
Cons
hard to stay focused on overall strategy while realizing daily opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard fast paced enviroment
Full case order selector (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 30, 2018
Hard job as a full case selector. Long summer shifts and short winter nights. If you are a hard worker and suck up you will get treated better and get certain advantages than most. In other words favoritism. For the most part the warehouse jobs are production based ie: accuracy and speed. As an order selector the type of order you are working on can help or hurt your production. Management is clueless and doesn't listen to employees or care about them. Hands off is their view on how to run the warehouse rather than hands on. Paychecks are all over the place and are never the same. One week you can get a really good check, then the next you will have a really small check.
Pros
4 day work weeks. Sometimes 3 days together. Benefits. 401k.
Cons
Work on holidays. Volume goes down alot during the winter. Favoritism everywhere. Poor pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethical Issues
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 27, 2018
Very cut throat, managers with no ethics other than to protect their own jobs. No loyalty among co workers. Managerial issues include favoritism and self-advancing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute joke dont waste your time
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 24, 2018
1st and foremost, if you want to unload trucks with the absolute most dangerous, insufficient and ancient method, which is by HAND TRUCK DOWN A RAMP, then this is the place for you!!! If you want to be 5% truck driver and 95% delivery boy then this is the job for you ! If you want the most horribly loaded trailers (loaded by the minimum wage wArehouse employees
) And have items from your current stop show up 3 or 4 stops later, and have to double and triple handle pieces, then this is the job for you! Wanna potentially run into and break glass or run into an innocent person while you run down the ramp with 500 lbs of product on your dolly? Then this is the job for you! ... Wanna work for a company that will SUSPEND YOU IF YOU ARE ROBBED AT GUNPOINT FOR YOUR CIGARETTES RATHER THAN GIVE A DANG ABOUT WHETHER YOU'RE SAFE OR NOT? then this is the company for you ! Go ahead apply they're waiting to hire you
Pros
The day you quit you will be happy
Cons
The fact that the company exists
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Job
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLOctober 23, 2018
had to drive all over the state and work long hours. Direct manager was not a good leader and I was never recognized for hard work or long hours. Do not recomend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend this place to anyone
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 22, 2018
Management is very poor they all have their favorites they don't train you properly just put you on the floor on your own and expect you to know where everything goes, this is a place for lazy people because they get treated better than those who really do.
Pros
good medical
Cons
not much of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good company
Customer Service Representative Lead (Former Employee) –  Forrest City, AROctober 17, 2018
It was nice company to work for enjoyed the time there. I learned alot meet alot of people got to know the customers and visit the business. Traveled to different cities with company and reset some of the customers stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place but under paid
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAOctober 17, 2018
The job itself is ok its just certain people who work there that makes it stressful. There are some pros and cons to it ut over all its a good place to start your warehouse experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job, Poor pay
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 16, 2018
The job itself isn't necessarily hard, you pick your own hours, use your own vehicle, and work at your own pace. The worst part about the job is that they don't pay you nearly as much as other companies do for the same job. You can easily make double doing the same thing with companies like Frito-Lay and Pepsi Co.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comunication/management need improvement
Driver (Current Employee) –  Amsterdam nyOctober 11, 2018
Company needs to look at how they speak to employees and who they put in management. Can these people handle stress with out taking it out on employees or coworkers. Can communication be relayed efficiantly. This company does not show this. It promotes arguments between coworkers instead of team work and willingness to help each other it's a cut throat environment about who can do better than the other man.
From a current employee searching for other work.
Pros
None
Cons
No gives cares about anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, GAOctober 9, 2018
Core-Mark was a national distributor and a very large company. It was run very well and employees were treated very well. I sometimes regret my decision to leave Core-Mark and attend college.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Line picker (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 6, 2018
I really enjoyed working for core mark international because you would always get a lot of overtime paid training co workers were excellent supverisor too and they made you feel like family
Pros
Vendo machines
Cons
Hour lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
core mark
Dry Room Operator (Current Employee) –  Forrest City, AROctober 6, 2018
unorganized work environment, always changing how we run orders to satisfy customers, when in reality they always try to fix the problems from the end of the process instead of the beginning process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get out what you put in
Front Office (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNOctober 5, 2018
I have been with Core-Mark for 3 1/2 years now. I started in the warehouse and have since moved to the front office. That transition consisted of many hours of hard work and dedication. I took advantage of the companies Tuition Reimbursement program and received $7,000 towards my continued education. I can personally vouch that Core-Mark likes to promote from within; IF YOU WANT TO BE HERE, THEY WANT TO KEEP YOU HERE.

The Minneapolis division has great leadership and has created a great environment for the employees to work in. I have been lucky enough to always have a great Manager to help guide me and mold me into a better employee/person. These are the type of people that hand out their personal cell phone numbers so you can contact them over the weekend if needed. They truly care about their employees.

I thoroughly enjoy all the contests and events we do as a company. Fantasy Football, Chili Cook-off, Biggest Loser, Safety Poker, Employee Appreciation Meal, and many more. Not everyone participates in all the competitions, but as the title says, YOU GET OUT WHAT YOU PUT IN.

I’M ALL IN!!
Pros
The Benefits / My Co-Workers / Exceptional Management / Flexibility
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Core-Mark International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 759 reviews
5141
4157
3205
2103
1153

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.1Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight