Cornell University Employee Reviews

Showing all 286 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & relaxing job
Senior charter driver (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJuly 17, 2018
I was in the transportation Dept taking visitors to different places on campus I also did sport teams taking them too and from practices, we also did wedding parties , always something to do.
Pros
Fun job
Cons
Not enough money to be made
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJuly 16, 2018
Cornell is a great institute to work for. They have great competitive pay, benefits are unsurpassed by other companies in the area, and they encourage staff to promote from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic environment
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJuly 4, 2018
What you would expect at a university level. Mostly undergrads mixed in with post-doctorates who mentor you. You learn a lot and are given a ton of hands on experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Research Nurse (Former Employee) –  NYJuly 1, 2018
Encourages staff development for all levels of employment.
Good work and time off balance for all employees.
Great opportunities for growth within the organization
Pros
good life /work balance
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to gain experience and merit
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJune 29, 2018
Although I was not with Cornell Catering Company for very long, I would recommend the company to any one looking to participate in event planning, catering or waiting. They offer paid bartender training which is very helpful and useful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced & demanding, can be very rewarding
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJune 25, 2018
Huge institution, with varied cultures across campus, largest employer in the county, giving them opportunity to employ at will. Not a bad place to work.
Pros
Interesting
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great school
SQL Interpreter (Java), Practicum (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJune 22, 2018
Cornell Steel Bridge is an undergraduate project team under the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) that annually competes in the American Institute of Steel Construction Student (AISC) Steel Bridge Competition. Each year, students spend the year designing, analyzing, fabricating, and constructing a bridge.
Team members are able to utilize their classroom knowledge to optimize a bridge with the lightest weight, fastest constructability, and lowest deflection. All members of the team are additionally encouraged to participate in the hands-on experience of bringing the bridge from theory to reality. The Cornell Steel Bridge allows all team members the opportunity to partake in the fabrication and construction process, in which students learn how to cut, drill, and weld members of the bridge together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in my department we have fun
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYof issues along with the union.June 20, 2018
i cant say for all over campus because each unit is different because the age and different individuals, Cornell's employees are mostly older there are some units that have younger crowd but not many. you have an opportunity to grow and learn, they have free clasp classes you can attend on there time. I like it there been there 5 years don't plan on leaving.
Pros
laid back most of the time, as long as you are doing your job
Cons
like any where else people are troublesome but manage takes care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJune 12, 2018
I like work here. It is a lot of fun and hard working. The view of the mountain is beautiful. The school is at the top of the mountain. Of course, it is cold in the winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and extensive learning experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 9, 2018
Lectures on sustainable animal agriculture and hands on experience with the milking processes of sheep and running a commercial farming system. Also learned to work with a new group of peers on group projects to make improvements in farming systems.
Pros
Free Lunches, Free Weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun summer experience
SENIOR COUNSELOR (Former Employee) –  Riverhead, NYMay 31, 2018
A committed, short-term job requiring a lot of patience, it was nonetheless very fun. Great for someone looking to spend the summer in childcare. Pay is small, but you do live at the summer camp. Staff is very fun and welcoming, food is delicious, the cabins are, well, cabins. Overall, a great time.
Pros
Free food, tons of fun and variety
Cons
Long hours, little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Society for Women in Engineering- Liaison (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYMay 28, 2018
Rate this company*required
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The following error occurred:
Your Review doesn't quite meet our quality guidelines. Please adjust and resubmit.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Medical Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYMay 15, 2018
Great learning environment. Management supported career educational advancement. Work culture was nice within the department. The workload was manageable.
Pros
great work culture
Cons
parking was always and issue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice position
International Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cornell Law SchoolMay 4, 2018
In the beginning I had a ruff start, not much training, but software is east to navigate and staff was ready to help. As a temp not enough access to many of the software to work. The culture was relaxed. The staff was a team and helpful.
Pros
Director and other staff friendly and helpful
Cons
Gossip in some areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grad student/instructor
First-Year Writing Seminar Instructor (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYMay 2, 2018
it's misery. seriously, don't do it unless you want to feel completely overwhelmed. students are great, staff is great, and the workload is untenable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Maintenance/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYApril 27, 2018
One of the best work environments i've ever had the privilege to work at. Great co-workers and management. Opportunity for advancement is based on performance. Also good people in the university and surrounding town. Some people are a little prejudice but does not project the whole.
Pros
Work environment, and full time benefits
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at the Shoals
Wildlife Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Isle of shoalsApril 18, 2018
I worked at the Isle of Shoals my junior year. It was a blast. I live on the island the hole time. I studied seabirds an their nesting habits. The professors were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense graduate program
Graduate Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYApril 7, 2018
I was a grad student there so I'm not sure this is as applicable to permanent employees. It is an intense and competitive environment, but student benefits were pretty good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYApril 5, 2018
Cornell is a great university with lots of cutting-edge research activities going on in fast pace. Significantly high number of industrial collaborations for its location.
Cons
Location, too cold in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate school is not for the faint of heart
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYMarch 30, 2018
As a graduate student at Cornell, it's tough to review them as a "company"; there are no real benefits (although the health care is nice), and there's no clock to punch. It's stressful and competitive, but we all know that going into it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cornell University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 286 reviews
5173
476
321
210
16

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.5Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Cornell University Reviews by Location