Cornell University Employee Reviews

Showing all 317 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dismal Working Experience
MARKETING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYFebruary 1, 2019
While working for the greater Cornell University is loved by many, my time at Cornell University Press was not enjoyable. Little to no opportunity for advancement or growth, my boss told me I "wasn't paid enough to be unhappy" and if part of my requests for advancement had included a desire for a raise he "would have had to let me go, as a raise was never an option" for me, despite a glowing job performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJanuary 21, 2019
Cornell is a good place to work with decent pay and health benefits. If you're single the health benefits are cheap. There isn't much room for advancement but it's a fair place to work.
Pros
Free lunches for dining workers
Cons
Dental and vision insurance both suck.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and middle of nowhere
Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJanuary 25, 2019
Did not feel like a top tier research university. Everyone kept to themselves and would not want to collaborate and work, mainly because I felt everyone was overworked in their role. Ithaca is in the middle of nowhere and transportation into and out of Ithaca were limited. The work place culture was stressful and doing research was hard due to it. Also, the campus looks beautiful, but its hard to explore by foot as it is literally built on a hill. Also, for a top research university, there were very few dining options and the ones that were available were very expensive as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cornell is an excellent place to work
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYAugust 12, 2018
I worked at Cornell for about 4 years and I would overall recommend working there. Cornell is one of the biggest and most sought-after employers in upstate NY. Furthermore, Ithaca is a wonderful place to raise a family. Cornell is a very progressive school that is unique amongst Ivy League schools. I really enjoyed my time at Cornell.
Pros
Excellent benefits, progressive people, Ithaca.
Cons
Upstate NY can have brutal winters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Society for Women in Engineering- Liaison (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYMay 28, 2018
Rate this company*required
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The following error occurred:
Your Review doesn't quite meet our quality guidelines. Please adjust and resubmit.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Academic Experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJanuary 30, 2019
Cornell University offered a challenging and academically enlightening experience. My ability to receive exposure to varying degrees of educational opportunities was unparalleled.
Pros
Abundant Opportunities
Cons
Competitive Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent campus culture
Director ICCD (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYAugust 16, 2018
Insights from diverse community college presidents throughout north america.

Learned how to integrate rural and urban experiences and visions into a learning culture

Exposure to different presidents and their impact on unique cultures

Partnering with diverse personalities and priorities in creating successful learning environements for both students and employees.

How to stay on course with a vision while being flexible about the path.

The role community colleges play in beomg a vital part of their community
Pros
Recognizable unique sought after college
Cons
Distant from local community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Maintenance/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYApril 27, 2018
One of the best work environments i've ever had the privilege to work at. Great co-workers and management. Opportunity for advancement is based on performance. Also good people in the university and surrounding town. Some people are a little prejudice but does not project the whole.
Pros
Work environment, and full time benefits
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Medical Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYMay 15, 2018
Great learning environment. Management supported career educational advancement. Work culture was nice within the department. The workload was manageable.
Pros
great work culture
Cons
parking was always and issue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJuly 16, 2018
Cornell is a great institute to work for. They have great competitive pay, benefits are unsurpassed by other companies in the area, and they encourage staff to promote from within.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a school culture
SO2 Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJanuary 11, 2019
It is a decent place.
All kinds/types of avenues to explore.
Has it's good and bad.
Management is not terrible.
Plenty of growth opportunities but they don't help you.
It's worth a place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, little job security
Temporary Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYFebruary 12, 2019
As a temporary service technician on a breeding program that is grant-based the job security aspect is not there but the work environment is supportive and decently well communicative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cornell Culture
Johnson Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 8, 2018
Cornell is a great company to work for with amazing benefits. My coworkers are great people and we have a very close knit group where we work well together.
Pros
benefits and co workers are great
Cons
you are expected to work even out side of the business day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate students are pushed to work hard and develop mental health issues
Graduate Student (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJanuary 13, 2019
Graduate students here can receive hefty stipends, waived tuition, fairly good healthcare, and access to a plethora of university resources. However, graduate students are often pushed by their advisers to work 50-60 hours/week, often have ~1 week/year for vacation, and work ~10-12 hours/day. This work/life imbalance and lack of administrative support often results in serious mental health issues among the graduate students and leads to students feeling isolated, unsupported, and under valued.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced & demanding, can be very rewarding
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJune 25, 2018
Huge institution, with varied cultures across campus, largest employer in the county, giving them opportunity to employ at will. Not a bad place to work.
Pros
Interesting
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Acceptable Place to Work
Accounts Representative III (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYNovember 15, 2018
Cornell University is a very pleasant place to work with many benefits for the employees. The atmosphere at Cornell is that of a typical university setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job Location
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 5, 2018
Was here as a part time researcher and received excellent pay and benefits. Also had the opportunity to work in a world class facility around world class scientists.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Half my job was outside interacting with the livestock we had to take care of at the university.
Supervisor of Animal Care (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 1, 2018
Feeding and watering as well as health checking all the outside animals, including horses, sheep, and goats.
Learned how to better manage people and use critical thinking skills to help make sound decisions.
Most problematic part of the job was dealing with employees who were consumed with personal issues.
I enjoyed working outside and working with working with Large Farm animals.
Pros
Christmas bonus check and employee matching retirement fund.
Cons
Long commute to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working conditions, poor regard from very top management
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 1, 2018
Direct management and department are supportive and respectful. Work was fulfilling and engaging. Classes taught by world-class professors. Excellent ice cream. University must recognize working graduate students as employees for true parity and fair working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collaboration throughout the campus
Senior Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, New YorkSeptember 3, 2018
I happened to be at Cornell for a brief visit in 2005 at the end of a stressful project in the Middle East and I got involved in a discussion about setting up a course in energy. The end result was that I was asked to setup and teach a graduate course in energy economics and energy engineering.

With a few exceptions, I had always worked in the energy industry - fossil fuel and renewables - and so I was able to switch to teaching.
I discovered how hard and time-consuming teaching can be! The Cornell faculty were very supportive and very quickly I had a course of 80 students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cornell University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 317 reviews
5188
485
324
213
17

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

Cornell University Reviews by Location