Cornell University Employee Reviews

Showing all 305 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative, rewarding, colloquial
Community Center Programs (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 19, 2018
Best part of the job is seeing your program come to life right before your eyes, and seeing how much others in the community value your hard work. It's usually fun and slow-paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short time period.
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 17, 2018
Enjoyed the opportunity to work for the university, but did not find the job fulfilling. The schedule of the Phd. program for which I worked was to lackadaisical for my liking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment
Student Internship (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 15, 2018
I loved it ! The students, staff, and professors all make the Cornell experience worthwhile. You'll collaborate with a bunch of different people and learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mix of lab work and field work
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 15, 2018
A lot of time spent looking through a microscope, but hours and days worked are very flexible. Field work was fun, but there were very long car rides.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cornell Culture
Johnson Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 8, 2018
Cornell is a great company to work for with amazing benefits. My coworkers are great people and we have a very close knit group where we work well together.
Pros
benefits and co workers are great
Cons
you are expected to work even out side of the business day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful University, Wonderful Employer
Graduate Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 8, 2018
I love working at Cornell, both as a student and as a graduate research assistant. The faculty are among the best in the world. I can learn things here I cannot learn anywhere else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job Location
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 5, 2018
Was here as a part time researcher and received excellent pay and benefits. Also had the opportunity to work in a world class facility around world class scientists.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great workplace despite the fixed-term contract
Scientific Programmer (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 5, 2018
Much professional fun. Great staff. Difficult traffic in Ithaca and on campus. Good campus restaurants. Very rural environment here in and around Ithaca.
Pros
Great professional and financial environments
Cons
Strict role definition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to interact with sports
Intramural Sports Supervisor and Referee (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 3, 2018
The group is like a family. We got through thick and thin together. And we did it together as we the students ran the show with only some guidance from our supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Half my job was outside interacting with the livestock we had to take care of at the university.
Supervisor of Animal Care (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 1, 2018
Feeding and watering as well as health checking all the outside animals, including horses, sheep, and goats.
Learned how to better manage people and use critical thinking skills to help make sound decisions.
Most problematic part of the job was dealing with employees who were consumed with personal issues.
I enjoyed working outside and working with working with Large Farm animals.
Pros
Christmas bonus check and employee matching retirement fund.
Cons
Long commute to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Tutor (Former Employee) –  DelawareSeptember 16, 2018
The place is very good. My supervisor is very nice. I learned a lot of things during the internship. I would recommend it to anybody else. It is really great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Finance Specialist III - Finance Lead (Current Employee) –  Ithaca, NYSeptember 7, 2018
Great place to work. Provides great environment and opportunities for employees. The management is great and the training allows you to learn new things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collaboration throughout the campus
Senior Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, New YorkSeptember 3, 2018
I happened to be at Cornell for a brief visit in 2005 at the end of a stressful project in the Middle East and I got involved in a discussion about setting up a course in energy. The end result was that I was asked to setup and teach a graduate course in energy economics and energy engineering.

With a few exceptions, I had always worked in the energy industry - fossil fuel and renewables - and so I was able to switch to teaching.
I discovered how hard and time-consuming teaching can be! The Cornell faculty were very supportive and very quickly I had a course of 80 students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and productive learning environment
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYAugust 27, 2018
The mix of people and the all-encompassing academic environment are what make Cornell stand out among comparable institutions. Especially in small departments, the close relationships between faculty and students combined with the great access to resources can result in novel and meaningful projects, even at the undergraduate level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent campus culture
Director ICCD (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYAugust 16, 2018
Insights from diverse community college presidents throughout north america.

Learned how to integrate rural and urban experiences and visions into a learning culture

Exposure to different presidents and their impact on unique cultures

Partnering with diverse personalities and priorities in creating successful learning environements for both students and employees.

How to stay on course with a vision while being flexible about the path.

The role community colleges play in beomg a vital part of their community
Pros
Recognizable unique sought after college
Cons
Distant from local community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cornell is an excellent place to work
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYAugust 12, 2018
I worked at Cornell for about 4 years and I would overall recommend working there. Cornell is one of the biggest and most sought-after employers in upstate NY. Furthermore, Ithaca is a wonderful place to raise a family. Cornell is a very progressive school that is unique amongst Ivy League schools. I really enjoyed my time at Cornell.
Pros
Excellent benefits, progressive people, Ithaca.
Cons
Upstate NY can have brutal winters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working conditions, poor regard from very top management
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 1, 2018
Direct management and department are supportive and respectful. Work was fulfilling and engaging. Classes taught by world-class professors. Excellent ice cream. University must recognize working graduate students as employees for true parity and fair working conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, variety of opportunities
Student Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJuly 23, 2018
As Cornell is a great school, the atmosphere has a team camaraderie characteristics no matter the role or division you work in. People are excited, the jobs are walkable, it's a great place to be
Pros
beautiful scenery, team feeling, great people
Cons
lost of turn over with students graduating
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beautiful campus
Manager of Technologies Help Desk (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJuly 18, 2018
It has been years since I have worked there. I can not begin to speak to what it might be like to work there now. I do know the campus is beautiful and has a vibrant community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & relaxing job
Senior charter driver (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYJuly 17, 2018
I was in the transportation Dept taking visitors to different places on campus I also did sport teams taking them too and from practices, we also did wedding parties , always something to do.
Pros
Fun job
Cons
Not enough money to be made
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cornell University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 305 reviews
5183
483
322
211
16

See reviews about

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.5Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Cornell University Reviews by Location