Cornerstone Montgomery Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 30 reviews
Ratings breakdown
514
47
35
20
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 30 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good experience.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJuly 3, 2018
Even on a part time basis, I would not recommend Cornerstone Montgomery for the following reasons
Pay is low, management is not truthful. The management staff is not responsive to reported problems I worked 4 weeks and never got set up in several systems (payroll and gas card systems).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Relaxed Work Environment
Rehabilitation Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJune 18, 2018
By far the best place I've worked. Management works with and listens to staff as they assist individuals in living healthier lives and maintaining steady jobs.
Pros
Layed-back work environment
Cons
At times stressful due to clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team, Poor Immediate Supervisor
REHABILITATION COUNSELOR (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDMay 10, 2018
There is no typical day at work; every day there is something new to do, so flexibility and time management is a must. The team itself is the best team dynamic that I have been a part of and everyone has your back. The immediate supervisor in my team had issues with interacting in a productive manner with the team. The most enjoyable part of the job, besides interacting with teammates, is interactions with the clients. It is essential in this job to interact with clients, so personal skills and active listening ability is a must.
Pros
Team mates, multiple things to do, can use personal vehicle
Cons
Immediate managment, hard to schedule a day's work in advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, needed service provider
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDMay 6, 2018
Cornerstone is a fantastic place to work, the clients are generally kind, the coworkers are collaborative and the management is dynamic and supportive. Great first job out of college and amazing experience. Varied work day which keeps you on your toes, the work is very rewarding and they try to keep the culture uplifting.

Unfortunately, as is the case in many social service jobs, the salary struggles to meet demands for the high cost-of-living in the area.
Pros
collaborative teams, excellent support, amazing benefits, positive coworkers, great clients
Cons
low salary, low advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need to pay more
Support Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDApril 24, 2018
just needs more money and a set way of doing things. hardest part is working to find jobs and getting the client to maintain them. Parents also are enabling the teens you are trying to help.
Pros
Flex Schedule
Cons
depressing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty nice, but no longer keeping up payrates
Site Administrator (Current Employee) –  Montgomery County, MDMarch 31, 2018
It's better to be on the administrative side of this company for the pay you get. A bit unfair. They haven't been able to give raises for about 2.5 years, none in the future either. They have now done salary caps.

Counselors are underpaid, and pay is no longer competitive.
Site Admins have double the work, only about 1k increase with a cap of 35000.
Most site admins currently don't want to become Supervisors since their pay is low compared to hours worked. 40k a year for about 55 hours a week, 24/7 on call.

The management is great! Very nice place to work, I hope they get more funding, but they are losing people to their state programs where case workers get more pay for less work.
Pros
Great PTO and Benefits
Cons
Low pay, and high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
idealogues
Counslor (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDFebruary 19, 2018
Very poor management.

We were forced to lie on our paperwork to report that we were making visits to get paid by Medicare and Medicaid. When the CEO got wind of this, myself and 30 some other people were fired while the director whom mandated this is still very much employed.
Pros
Resume booster
Cons
Being made to lie to medicare and medicade
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Health Homes Administrative Assistant/ Billing (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, MDFebruary 13, 2018
Cornerstone Montgomery Inc, has a great team of helpful people who assist you to excel in your job. I have learned many skills to succeed in the administration field. The management is great and I feel 100 percent secure being on their team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very secure and supportive atmosphere
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDDecember 30, 2017
Excellent place to work and grow in the area of mental health counseling and training. There are very skilled staff members to learn from and this position offers supervision hours to those needing licensure
Pros
excellent trainging opportunities, skilled staff
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Enviornement
Medical Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDNovember 2, 2017
Consisted of very fast paced, and things were constantly changing. Processes and policies are constantly being developed and changed. Culture is nice, hardest part of the job was getting everything done in a timely manner when things are constantly being given to you.
Pros
free lunches, good management
Cons
Low Pay, no guaranteed raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Facilities Technician (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDOctober 18, 2017
Cornerstone Montgomery is a non-profit organization that caters to physically and mentally impaired adults. What I like most about Cornerstone is that they assist these adults in becoming acclimated to working in society and in being a productive citizen. They also give them the tools to learn how to manage themselves in society.
Pros
Family Atmosphere
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot here
Internship (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDSeptember 21, 2017
I did not work here, it was an internship that i got when i was finishing up my social work degree. I did like working with the staff. They were all very nice to me and the clients were great. I was just part-time, two full days and one half day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work while In School
Rehabilitation Counselor at Adrienne House RRP (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDSeptember 8, 2017
Cornerstone Montgomery is a good agency that promotes staff wellness and offers ample training opportunities on a variety of clinical topics. However, the pay is not livable unless you are management thus there is a high staff turnover. The benefits are okay; there has been a downgrade in regards to type of insurance plan and the cost. In spite of this, it is still a good place to work and gain experience, especially if you are in school. Many of the staff are good and talented people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Supported Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDSeptember 5, 2017
Work revolves around assisting clients with their specific areas of interest.
The Vocational department specifically works with clients interested in returning to work.
The Supported Employment Specialists work to place clients in positions that are of interest to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment
Supported Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MD, Rockville MD, Silver Spring MDAugust 21, 2017
This company is one of the most challenging places I've ever encountered as an employee. The favoritism is blatant. Nothing is learned or obtained with clarity in terms of trainings, supervisions, and overall company polices. Management is horrible unless an employee is generating money, for a nonprofit community based organization. The salary is for one who has no bills and responsibilities.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
everything except the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to grow!
Rehabilitation Counselor (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MD 20850August 14, 2017
Great training and overall great place to grow in this field. The job focus on self care since this line of work can get stressful. Being able to adjust to constant changes is very important as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open doors
Co-Facilitator for COD Group (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJuly 4, 2017
There is not typical day here; however, each employee, regardless of the department works to provide stellar client care. There is room for advancement and huge opportunity to learn and excel.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enty level job opportunity. Great hours for graduate students.
Rehabilitation Counselor (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJune 13, 2017
Great company headed by a professional CEO. Good opportunity for recent college graduates or graduate students currently in school. Clients are often multi diagnosed. Crisis intervention skills are needed. Supervision was professionally granted and supervisor was highly skilled. Clients were a pleasure to serve.
Pros
Professional management and supervision
Cons
Pay rates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat and poor pay
Rehabilitation Counselor (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDMay 10, 2017
Over worked and underpaid per usual. Supervisors are not helpful. Compensation is poor. Caseloads are demanding. Paperwork is extensive. Dangerous population of criminally insane. safety not taken seriously.
Pros
gas compensation
Cons
cut throat
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like this job
Medical Admin Associate (FT) (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDApril 12, 2017
I enjoy working for the company and the working with the staff.

Great benefits and the training is also a plus. The clients are easy to work with.

I enjoy my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cornerstone Montgomery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.9InHerSight Score

3.6Personal Development

4.2Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Cornerstone Montgomery Reviews by Location