Cortland Place Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and unsafe
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, RIDecember 29, 2018
Very understaffed and stressful. Did not have basic supplies like gauze pads and saline for wound care, nasal cannula for oxygen, or soap to wash our hands. Never enough time to give the residents what they needed. Constantly asked to pick up shifts. The intake coordinator was not a nurse and would admit patients that we didn't have the resources to care for.
Pros
None
Cons
Management, safety, staffing, supplies
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nightmare slave job
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenville,Rhode islandNovember 19, 2018
I wouldn't recommend this place. Never enough staff. Only in it for the money. Patients are neglected. Nurses sleep on third shift. Please dont leave your loved one there. They don't answer call lights. Don't pay good. Cut throat. Expect cnas to do everything while nurses don't help u. Want u in 3 places at once. No exaggeration
Pros
none
Cons
u name it
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy small office
Accounts Payable Manager (Current Employee) –  Greenville, RISeptember 15, 2018
* Heavy data entry into QuickBooks and Excel, paying invoices.
* Learning the management of health care.
* Friendly atmosphere.
* The work load is the hardest part of the job.
* The residents are the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Comfortable surroundings.
Cons
Short on work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No regard for employees
Carpenter / Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RISeptember 14, 2018
As much as i enjoyed the projects i did at Cortland place, it was very poorly managed. The left hand did not know what the right hand was doing. Expectations of those in maintenance department were unreasonable and continually changing.
Pros
learned some new skills
Cons
very low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a happy place
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RISeptember 6, 2018
Stressful workplace which causes employees to take it out on others. Short staffed. Too much work for one person. Never seen so many people come and go in a workplace
Cons
No time for break, they still detuct from your hours if you dont take one
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work. Staff a management was very friendly
MDS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Greenvile, R.I.August 1, 2018
I enjoyed working at Cortland Place and would probably still be there if I had not relocated. The management was friendly and helpful. The staff was also friendly and easy to work with to complete my job.
Pros
Friendly place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized with no training on the first day
Cook (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIJuly 14, 2018
I knew after my first shift as a cook there that it wasn't the place for me. I wasn't trained and they really didn't even have all the basic herbs I would use to make a great meal. I think the food budget isn't great based on the products they order.
Pros
Nice waitstaff
Cons
No windows in the kitchen and poor layout
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIJuly 2, 2018
Fast paced work day. Now hard work but enough to keep you busy while you are there. A lot of moving around. Working in a kitchen. Noisy and hot at times.
Pros
Not too tough, fast paced, nice people.
Cons
No lunch breaks, moving up and down floors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s good to work there
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RIFebruary 8, 2018
Be on time don’t come late make sure your not sick and just be respectful to the workers there and to the residents there. Make sure your fast and don’t be on the phone
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
RN (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIJanuary 24, 2018
Too stressful. Short staffed. Poor management. Benefits are way too expensive and lousey. They lie. Very unorganized. Had some great nurses who left. I saw them fire someone who was a great CNA for no reason.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
NURSING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIDecember 6, 2017
Cortland Place Health Center is a great place to work. There is a cooperative effort. During my time at Cortland Place Health Center, we work as a team to meet he needs of consumers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time gig
ACTIVITY ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, RIAugust 29, 2017
It was a part time position that gave me the experience but unfortunately I was not being paid enough. Majority of the CNAs did not do their job and paid too much attention on their phones rather than on the residents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away from this place!!!
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rhode IslandJuly 27, 2016
This place is not a good place to work!!! Awful environment!! Unsafe work conditions!!
Don't apply to this awful place!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away !!
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIJuly 14, 2016
Horrible owners and management, only in it for the money not patient care. Terribly understaffed and unsafe working environment.
Pros
Nice looking outside.
Cons
Poor staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIJuly 10, 2016
Unsafe environment. They allow staff to work alone. My friend works there and she does nothing but tell me how awful it is.
Pros
None
Cons
List to long
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN staff nurse
Registered Nurse, Staff (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIJune 21, 2016
This company is awful to work for, management doesn't care about staff at all, or the RESIDENTS! Family owned so they only care about $$. They allowed amazing staff to leave, and kept incompetent staff. I wouldn't allow my worse enemy to apply there. Stay far away!
Pros
Awesome nurses
Cons
Let the good staff leave, management, NO supplies to do your job as a nurse!
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job. Needed more training which was not available.
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIJune 20, 2016
I worked for approximately 5 months in the kitchen area. It was not a learning experience for me to ask more questions and adhere to a schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Waitstaff (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RIAugust 5, 2015
Cortland Place has a great team of staff. Everybody works as a team to get the job done. The job is very fast paced and requires extreme focus while maintaining a polite and respectful attitude towards the residents at all times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not happy
LPN (Former Employee) –  Greenville, RIFebruary 2, 2015
I am not nursing home material. We were always short staffed and forced to work double shifts because people didn't show up. The management didn't care about the staff or the patients quality of care. Some of the staff was on drugs and it was an overall bad environment.
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cortland
Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, RIJune 4, 2014
I enjoyed my job from the beginning. I was able to have direct contact with residents and families. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cortland Place. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 25 reviews
53
46
32
23
111

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.3Compensation/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.1Management
2.1Culture

Cortland Place Reviews by Location