Cortland Employee Reviews

Showing all 119 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, management needs help to keep teammates on-board
Leasing Partner, Wellness Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Raleigh-Durham, NCMarch 14, 2019
When first beginning with this company, you feel valued and appreciated. Management style is very important in motivating employees. Leasing partners are receptionists and problem solvers for management as well. More compensation and recognition of importance of leasing consultants is much needed.
The most enjoyable part of this job is witnessing new residents and prospects see and feel the benefits of this company and community, as extremely resident-focused.
Pros
Commission possibilities
Cons
Long hours, heavy work load, very hard to earn commission without team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless you know someone you are stuck
Resident Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, GAMarch 12, 2019
They only promote based on popularity and not merit. Unless you already some someone that works here and they are higher up you will not move up! now if you worked for AIMCO you are set! every manager came from there and they all know each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is key.
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Canal Winchester, OHFebruary 12, 2019
I am not allergic to hard work and I definitely worked hard for Cortland. Initially, I felt appreciated and valued. Our team worked hard, but we also worked well together. The Property Manager was too classy for the Cortland organization and her standards were a little too high. When she left, her replacement was, at best, sub-standard and the team went down with the leadership and the residents noticed. The quality of service and product did not match the drastic rise in cost. There were units that were rented even though the PM had been notified of mold. Instead of fixing the problem, the units were cleaned, painted, and an Airwick air freshener installed so that it would appear to be suitable for occupancy when, in fact, it wasn't. Speaking out about these kinds of issues wasn't recommended nor desired.
Pros
Commission scale
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 18, 2019

Hi, there! We appreciate all of your hard work – and we’re sure your residents do too. Having a team that not only works hard but also works well together is one of the ways we provide an exceptional living experience for our residents. Overseeing a community is no easy task, and stepping into the role of Community Manager can come with an adjustment period. That said, we offer leadership and resident experience training to ensure that onsite associates create an unparalleled resident experience. We also urge associates to take advantage our open-door communication policy, which means they can share their thoughts with their manager, Area Operations Manager, or Director of Operations. Our onsite associates are on the front lines – and speaking up is the first step to making sure our residents are loving their Cortland home. – Niki Kingry, Director of Operations

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company , needs to focus on hiring better
Leasing Consultant/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZFebruary 11, 2019
great company in all . they just need to focus on hiring people who actually match and fit their company motto. Visited other Cortland properties that actually had great employees . Arrowhead Summit needs work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 18, 2019

Hello! We have an extensive hiring process in place to ensure that the associates we hire embody our values and will continue to foster our culture. Our Talent Acquisition team works closely with candidates and hiring managers to find the best fit possible for each role. We don’t hire just anyone – we hire Cortlandians. We appreciate your feedback and wish you luck in your future endeavors! – Jeff Gardiner, Director of Operations

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  ArizonaFebruary 8, 2019
This company doesnt care about its employees, especially the ones who are lower on the chain. Be prepared to be treated like peasant here! Never in my life have I worked for a company this bad.
Cons
Low pay, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 18, 2019

Hey, there. We wish your Cortland experience had lived up to your expectations, and we’d like to take the opportunity to set the record straight. We value all of our associates – from CEO to Service Tech –because each of us work shoulder-to-shoulder to provide an unparalleled living experience for our residents. Because we value our open-door communication policy, we encourage you to share your thoughts on how we can improve in an appropriate medium. – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn’t love Cortland more!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 5, 2019
Cortland is truly fantastic! There is always room to grow and you are paid for performance! Cortland has a family feel, especially in Ohio. There is an abundance of support locally, and from the corporate level. I am so glad I found Cortland, and do not plan to leave.
Pros
Family feel, compensation, positive work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello, Cortlandian! We are thrilled to hear that your experience has exceeded your expectations. It is associates like you who amplify our culture and continue to make Cortland an awesome place to work. Thank you for being an ambassador for Cortland and embodying our core values. We’re so glad to have you as part of the Cortland family! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jv
SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAJanuary 28, 2019
This is a good company for work. I worked with this company and always feel good, this company growing and there is diversity. In this company get training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a glowing review. We’re glad that we were able to make your associate experience a great one, and remember – once a Cortlandian, always a Cortlandian. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work enviornment
Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX and San Antonio, TXJanuary 15, 2019
Cortland was a much smaller company when I started than when I left. The growth was at a speed that I believe Cortland couldn't sustain. The company hired quickly to support the anticipated growth. The growth was never realized and they ended up having too many employees which they had to downsize to stay solvent.
Pros
Good Working hours and locations
Cons
Terrible Senior Managers with no experience for their positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there! You’re right – we have grown remarkably since our inception. Recently, that growth has slowed, but we have not. We are making a name for ourselves, and we restructured Cortland Build to support our growth and development in a different direction, which can come with some downsizing. But now that we have better positioned ourselves, we are ready to continue making Cortland a household name! – Steve Mauro, VP of Construction Operations

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Porter/Groundskeeper/Make Ready Technician (Current Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJanuary 13, 2019
Good workplace. Management and other co-workers are friendly. Benefits offered at time of employment. Offer vacation time after a year. Lunch is 1 hour.
Pros
lunch is 1hr. Benefits offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello, fellow Cortlandian! We’re so glad to hear that you feel like a part of the Cortland family and that you have a great team who supports you. Our best-in-class benefits are just one of the ways we take care of our associates and show our gratitude for their continued hard work and dedication. Thank you for being a Cortland Ambassador, and keep up the amazing work! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like quick sand
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ohio City, OHJanuary 6, 2019
Before you know it you'll be swallowed alive along with this sinking ship. Promotions are part of a clique or friendship. Others are fired or pushed to quit with lillte reason. The renovations are shabby causing residents to be angry on a daily basis with staff. A unit is never ready for the move in date causing the new resident to be highly upset. It's a stressful situation daily. Not in line with fair housing laws
Pros
The residents
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! Since you took the time to share your thoughts, we’d like to take a moment to respond to your pain points. Regarding promotions, we can assure you that favoritism doesn’t play a factor in the decision to promote. That decision is made based on an associate’s demonstrated ability to succeed and thrive in their growing role. Furthermore, we understand that the renovation process can seem a little chaotic, and we promise that all materials used in the process were created in house, giving us unparalleled quality control. The satisfaction of our residents is important to us, which is why we work to create superior living spaces designed to inspire them to live a better life focused on what matters most to them. –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad
North Carolina (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaDecember 14, 2018
Management terrible and clueless. Lies to get people to do things then dont compensate as promised. Management only cares about themselves and their bonus checks.
Pros
Discount on rent
Cons
Misleading
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there! We were upset to hear that your Cortland experience didn’t blow you away. It sounds like there were some areas where we could improve, and we encourage you to share your thoughts in an appropriate medium so that we can address the issue. #ListenWithYourHeartInYourMind – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managment
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 9, 2018
Would not recommend anyone work here. Upper management is shady at best. Employees are not treated fairly across the board. Upper management likes to play favorites regardless of how well your work is
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! We’re upset to hear that you were dissatisfied with your Cortland experience. We work to treat every associate fairly regardless of position and avoid playing favorites. We also wish you’d taken advantage of our open-door communication policy – any thoughts you had regarding management should be shared so we can continuously improve. We wish you luck with your future endeavors. –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism
Leading consultant (Former Employee) –  FloridaNovember 18, 2018
I thought the pay was ok for the job until I left and saw how much other companies paid.

It is a company that promotes based on favoritism rather than your work.
Pros
Location
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello! We’d like the opportunity to say that the claim that we promote based on favoritism is untrue. We promote based on hard work, dedication, and the ability to grow in your role; favoritism does not factor into the decision. We wish your associate experience had lived up to your expectations – and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to be stabbed in the back by your incompetent coworkers.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 1, 2018
The "dynamic tension" between departments makes it impossible to achieve project objectives as you are constantly trying to appease the property manager and service manager who complain and add scope to your project without adding additional time for the added scope to be completed. The "work life balance" is non-existent as you are expected to work 12-14 hours a day, 7 days per week, I averaged 1-2 days off per month. Most of the construction team had no construction experience and were expected to learn on the job without a training program (the training program was about to be rolled out the whole time I worked there). The subs are not qualified to do the work in their scope, they move contractors that do not perform up to quality standards to other regions to be another PM's problem. The materials used in the renovations are sub-standard and you are expected to make them luxury level finishes. When the Chief Investment Officer flies in every month it would be helpful if they actually listened to the employees on site instead of the upper management, and when they say there are unlimited resources available to help the project succeed it would be nice if that were the reality.
Pros
Benefits, they spend millions of dollars a year on parties.
Cons
long hours, the CEO makes sexist comments which are funny but inappropriate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there. We’re happy that you think our benefits are as great as we do. Offering industry-leading benefits is just one of the ways that we take care of our associates. We realize that it can be difficult to juggle all of the stakeholders’ needs during a project – but you’ve always got a team to support you and your project goals. The time commitment can seem intense, especially as deadlines approach, but the end result is always worth the effort put in. While some on-the-job learning is expected, we pride ourselves on offering training to associates at every level to prepare them for their role and set them up for success. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam – Steve Mauro, VP of Construction Operations

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was "On boarded" during a time of Management turmoil...
Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 29, 2018
Many items and issues discussed with me during hiring process were not projected or advance notice given by personnel completing my hiring process. In fact, the individual that hired me was out the door 30 days after my arrival.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey there, Cortlandian! We’re in the process of restructuring our construction department to better position ourselves for continued exponential growth – and some of the changes you mentioned may not have been announced at the time you were brought on board. However, once we settle into our new role, we’ll be more prepared than ever to take the multifamily industry by storm! #HaveTheCourageToBeBetter – Steve Mauro, VP of Construction Operations

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non
Remodeling Crew (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 28, 2018
They working to slow,no material, job is not 100% warranty. I have to work more my workers need more hours and more job we like to hard, and we need to get really busy.
Pros
I need job
Cons
We ready
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there! We wish your experience with us had lived up to your expectations. We appreciate you always being ready to work, and we wish you luck with your future endeavors! – Steve Mauro, VP of Construction Operations

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high work load, always understaffed.
MAINTENANCE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 25, 2018
You can expect to have management up your backside. They never hire a full team (3 punch techs, 3 maintenance techs, and two grounds keepers). Peak season is from the end of May to the end of September. During this time you can expect to be loaded down with more work than what you know what to do with.

There are end of the month bonuses on the bi-monthly checks.
Pros
Decent pay, consistent hours, almost free benefits, on-call overtime
Cons
Understaffed, overwhelming work load during peak season, management expects flawless work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! We’re thrilled that you love our benefits as much as we do. We know that our associates work hard to take care of our residents, and we work just as hard to take care of our associates. Working onsite and acting as the face of Cortland can be daunting – especially during peak season. It’s true that management does expect flawless work because we believe that if it’s fixed correctly, it only needs to be fixed once. We understand that the work load can seem overwhelming, but you’ve always got a team at your back to support you and help you accomplish your goals. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Pains
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  NCOctober 24, 2018
Cortland prides itself on innovation, resident satisfaction, and being "the biggest and the baddest" of the multifamily industry, which is great! However, the other side of the coin includes phrases being thrown around like "drink the kool-aid" (literally a cult reference) and "just buy-in" which lead to a culture of burn out and little work/life balance. They are expanding quickly and provide properties with plenty of marketing collateral, but tend to leave them short staffed which leads to a stressful workday/week. Then some leaders have the audacity to attribute long working hours to poor time management versus understaffing. They DO listen to concerns of employees, but you'll have to kick and scream for a while to get corporate's attention.
Pros
Resident experience, innovative, marketing
Cons
Understaffing and poor work/life balance that leads to burn out
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there! We do pride ourselves on driving innovation while creating an unparalleled resident experience – and we seek to create a culture of inclusion, family, and fun, not one of burnt-out associates. It’s true that we’re growing rapidly, and hiring associates who embody our culture takes a little time. We’re glad your Director of Operations listens to your concerns, and we want you to know that our Community Support Centers are here for you too. We practice and value our open-door communication policy – meaning associates can raise their concerns to anyone, not just their manager. If you have ideas on ways we could improve, feel free to email me at jonathan.tucker@cortland.com. We look forward to hearing from you! #ListenWithYourHeartAndYourMind –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor enviroment, lack of staff. Intense demands unreasoable expectations
Community Director Senior Living (Former Employee) –  Lewisville TxOctober 16, 2018
Poor culture upper management revoving door. Be prepared for 12 hour days and lack of support from upper management. No work life balance, you are required to work from home and follow up on reviews within 12 hours. You will get emails from upper management till late at night.You have to forward date in systems everyday, even Sundays.
Cons
They will work you to death!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello! We realize that being on the front lines at a community can be tough – overseeing the residents’ happiness and being the face of Cortland is no small undertaking. However, your onsite team and leadership are as invested in the community’s success as you are. Upper management has their boots on the ground to stay in the loop and work hard to make sure everything is running smoothly, which is why emails are sent after traditional work hours – taking care of our residents doesn’t stop when the office closes. Still, having a work-life balance that works for you is invaluable, and we encourage all of our associates to find what works best for them. –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great workplace
Assistant Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta GeorgiaOctober 1, 2018
The company was a very good company to work at are competitive pay and great benefits. They had a good structural management also they did a lot of In-House training and they was very focused on helping residents and the community
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. You’re exactly right – we do offer competitive pay and best-in-class benefits as well as training to keep our associates at the top of their game. Focusing in the resident experience is a top priority for us, and taking care of our associates keeps them happy and motivated to create a one-of-a-kind living experience for our residents. #DoTheRightThingForTheRightReason – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cortland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 119 reviews
528
434
325
214
118

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight