Cortland Employee Reviews

Showing all 125 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed learning new things. Maintenance
Groundskeeper/Porter (Former Employee) –  TexasMay 24, 2019
I was groundskeeper, maintenance. Work was easy for the most part.compensation is around 13 an hour. Fast paced work. Like meeting with the tenants the most. Helping them.
Pros
The hours, free snacks, workers, parties.
Cons
Doing maintenance work while being paid groundskeepers wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
ASST. PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 20, 2019
Cortland is a fantastic place to work day to day. They are a great company with strong values and try as much as they can to maintain and stay true to their core values. However, with recent changes to personnel, the company's future is currently shaky
Pros
great benefits
Cons
upper management doesn't know what it's doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and well paid for the job
Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 12, 2019
It’s nice to work for a company that sets you up for success without micromanaging you to death. Cortland is so proactive in their hiring process that they make the best hiring decisions upfront so there is less turnover. During new projects they understand the support that is needed and work to ensure you are properly staffed with the right tools. The culture is amazing and they really go the distance to provide a work/life balance all while creating a fun and friendly work environment. Most everyone at the CSC has worked on site and understands how challenging it can be to work where people live. They encourage, inspire and back their their employees up. Their commitment to excellence directly relates to your success as an employee and they understand this is how properties achieve their goals. Cortland Partners are all about the people;, residents ,employees and ownership and that is why they are among the best Management companies in the country.
Pros
Great pay, benefits, support, hiring great talent
Cons
Hiring process is a little long but proactively for the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Cortland
April 22, 2019

Hello, Cortlandian! We’re beyond thrilled to hear that your associate experience has exceeded your expectations, and we’re so glad you’re a part of the Cortland family. You’re right – there are challenging moments, but as you mentioned, your peers and management are there to support you every step of the way. We’re all working together to revolutionize the multifamily industry, and we couldn’t do it without motivated, high-performing associates like you. Keep up the great work! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
ASSISTANT COMMUNITY DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAApril 8, 2019
Overall it is a great company to work for. They provide you with all the training you need so you can be successful in your career. Everyone is very helpful and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Cortland
April 12, 2019

Hi, there! We love hearing that your associate experience was nothing less than our Cortland best. You really hit the nail on the head – we are truly invested in our associates’ professional and personal development. We hope your experience at Cortland has served as a launch pad for your continued growth, and we wish you all the best with your future endeavors. Remember, once a Cortlandian, always a Cortlandian! - Ashley Gordo, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company seems heartless
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 24, 2019
After I received the job to manage a property in Florida I relocated from Tennessee. I was told that training would consist of 2 weeks of training from 2 managers within the company. Training was not really training it consisted of me sitting around watching the managers work which is great but I'm not that type of learner. I am more of a hands-on type of person. This translated to them that I was not interested in the position because I just sat there. (I'm still not really sure what else they wanted). After a week of training I was told that the property that they originally hired me for was 95% Spanish speaking and I'm not bilingual so they switched my property to a property that was over 30 miles away. If you live in Central Florida you know that 30 miles can turn into a 2-hour commute easily on I4. Because of this I had to essentially relocate again, so I had to beg my rental company to accommodate my move to a different house in their portfolio closer to the property that I was reassigned to. After getting to my assigned property and training (sitting) with the current manager for 1 day I was told that "this isn't going to work out because we don't feel like you are a good fit for this company." How can you tell within 2 weeks if someone is a good fit for the company and I wasn't even given a chance to actually WORK for the company? I was left high and dry after relocating for this company with my 5-year-old son. I was left unemployed for the first time in my adult life with a 5-year-old. The guy that let me go said 'oh you'll find something else. Overall heartless, shady  more... behavior from the Regional Manager or whatever his title was. I would never work for, recommend, or even live on a Cortland Property after my experience.

Something else that the Manager said that stuck with me...he said here at Cortland we hire quickly and we fire even quicker. To me this translates to you have to be perfect in order to work there or to have job security, and this didn't sit well with me. I guess if you need a job you need a job but do proceed with caution, and have a back up plan.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Official response from Cortland
April 5, 2019

Hello, there. While we wish that your experience with us had been better, we’d like to take the opportunity to set the record straight. Being a Community Manager for a Cortland community is no small task – you are responsible for the happiness, safety, and experience for hundreds of residents. As such, we have suitably high training standards in place for that position. The training we provide involves shadowing current Community Managers, and while this training might not have been as hands-on as you may have liked, it is still more involved than just sitting around as you claimed to do. Both Community Managers who trained you observed you not paying attention or taking notes on what you were supposed to learn. We understand your frustration at not being able to leap into the role immediately – and hope that you understand that we sought to teach you the responsibilities and tasks of your new position to better set you up for success. If you’d like to discuss the matter further, we encourage you to reach out to talentresources@cortland.com. – Jonathan Denton, Director of Operations

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and at times fun
Property Manager Tax Credit/PBRA (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 22, 2019
My overall experience with this company was fun at times. Opportunity for advancement throughout the company. Lack luster of leadership in some areas in some management positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
April 5, 2019

Hi, there! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re thrilled to hear that your time with us blew you away! We also understand that having strong leadership can make all the difference – which is why we’re revamping our Leader’s Boot Camp training to ensure that all of our leaders lead their teams to success. – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, management needs help to keep teammates on-board
Leasing Partner, Wellness Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Raleigh-Durham, NCMarch 14, 2019
When first beginning with this company, you feel valued and appreciated. Management style is very important in motivating employees. Leasing partners are receptionists and problem solvers for management as well. More compensation and recognition of importance of leasing consultants is much needed.
The most enjoyable part of this job is witnessing new residents and prospects see and feel the benefits of this company and community, as extremely resident-focused.
Pros
Commission possibilities
Cons
Long hours, heavy work load, very hard to earn commission without team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Cortland
April 5, 2019

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re glad that your Cortland journey started out great – and we wish that had continued. Teamwork and management play large roles in creating a great associate experience, which is why we’re rolling out Leader’s Boot Camp. This will provide managers with the tools, resources, and knowledge to effectively lead their teams to success. We know that being the face of Cortland onsite is no small task – you’re responsible for all of the residents living in your community. However, everyone working onsite, management, and leadership are just as invested in your residents as you are. We wish you luck on your future endeavors! – Sarah Connolly, Director of Operations

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless you know someone you are stuck
Resident Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, GAMarch 12, 2019
They only promote based on popularity and not merit. Unless you already some someone that works here and they are higher up you will not move up! now if you worked for AIMCO you are set! every manager came from there and they all know each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Cortland
April 5, 2019

Hey, there. We were saddened to hear that your associate experience didn’t meet your expectations. Since you took the time to outline your pain points, we’d like to take the opportunity to respond. The claim that we promote based on popularity is simply untrue. Associates are promoted based on their hard work, dedication, and ability to grow as well as several other factors – none of which are based on popularity or favoritism. At Cortland, it’s truly not about who you know but rather about dedication to residents, sustained delivery of excellence, and a drive to improve oneself through continuous personal and professional development. #HaveTheCourageToBeBetter – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is key.
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Canal Winchester, OHFebruary 12, 2019
I am not allergic to hard work and I definitely worked hard for Cortland. Initially, I felt appreciated and valued. Our team worked hard, but we also worked well together. The Property Manager was too classy for the Cortland organization and her standards were a little too high. When she left, her replacement was, at best, sub-standard and the team went down with the leadership and the residents noticed. The quality of service and product did not match the drastic rise in cost. There were units that were rented even though the PM had been notified of mold. Instead of fixing the problem, the units were cleaned, painted, and an Airwick air freshener installed so that it would appear to be suitable for occupancy when, in fact, it wasn't. Speaking out about these kinds of issues wasn't recommended nor desired.
Pros
Commission scale
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Official response from Cortland
February 18, 2019

Hi, there! We appreciate all of your hard work – and we’re sure your residents do too. Having a team that not only works hard but also works well together is one of the ways we provide an exceptional living experience for our residents. Overseeing a community is no easy task, and stepping into the role of Community Manager can come with an adjustment period. That said, we offer leadership and resident experience training to ensure that onsite associates create an unparalleled resident experience. We also urge associates to take advantage our open-door communication policy, which means they can share their thoughts with their manager, Area Operations Manager, or Director of Operations. Our onsite associates are on the front lines – and speaking up is the first step to making sure our residents are loving their Cortland home. – Niki Kingry, Director of Operations

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company , needs to focus on hiring better
Leasing Consultant/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZFebruary 11, 2019
great company in all . they just need to focus on hiring people who actually match and fit their company motto. Visited other Cortland properties that actually had great employees . Arrowhead Summit needs work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 18, 2019

Hello! We have an extensive hiring process in place to ensure that the associates we hire embody our values and will continue to foster our culture. Our Talent Acquisition team works closely with candidates and hiring managers to find the best fit possible for each role. We don’t hire just anyone – we hire Cortlandians. We appreciate your feedback and wish you luck in your future endeavors! – Jeff Gardiner, Director of Operations

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  ArizonaFebruary 8, 2019
This company doesnt care about its employees, especially the ones who are lower on the chain. Be prepared to be treated like peasant here! Never in my life have I worked for a company this bad.
Cons
Low pay, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 18, 2019

Hey, there. We wish your Cortland experience had lived up to your expectations, and we’d like to take the opportunity to set the record straight. We value all of our associates – from CEO to Service Tech –because each of us work shoulder-to-shoulder to provide an unparalleled living experience for our residents. Because we value our open-door communication policy, we encourage you to share your thoughts on how we can improve in an appropriate medium. – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn’t love Cortland more!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 5, 2019
Cortland is truly fantastic! There is always room to grow and you are paid for performance! Cortland has a family feel, especially in Ohio. There is an abundance of support locally, and from the corporate level. I am so glad I found Cortland, and do not plan to leave.
Pros
Family feel, compensation, positive work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello, Cortlandian! We are thrilled to hear that your experience has exceeded your expectations. It is associates like you who amplify our culture and continue to make Cortland an awesome place to work. Thank you for being an ambassador for Cortland and embodying our core values. We’re so glad to have you as part of the Cortland family! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jv
SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAJanuary 28, 2019
This is a good company for work. I worked with this company and always feel good, this company growing and there is diversity. In this company get training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a glowing review. We’re glad that we were able to make your associate experience a great one, and remember – once a Cortlandian, always a Cortlandian. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work enviornment
Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX and San Antonio, TXJanuary 15, 2019
Cortland was a much smaller company when I started than when I left. The growth was at a speed that I believe Cortland couldn't sustain. The company hired quickly to support the anticipated growth. The growth was never realized and they ended up having too many employees which they had to downsize to stay solvent.
Pros
Good Working hours and locations
Cons
Terrible Senior Managers with no experience for their positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there! You’re right – we have grown remarkably since our inception. Recently, that growth has slowed, but we have not. We are making a name for ourselves, and we restructured Cortland Build to support our growth and development in a different direction, which can come with some downsizing. But now that we have better positioned ourselves, we are ready to continue making Cortland a household name! – Steve Mauro, VP of Construction Operations

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Porter/Groundskeeper/Make Ready Technician (Current Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJanuary 13, 2019
Good workplace. Management and other co-workers are friendly. Benefits offered at time of employment. Offer vacation time after a year. Lunch is 1 hour.
Pros
lunch is 1hr. Benefits offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello, fellow Cortlandian! We’re so glad to hear that you feel like a part of the Cortland family and that you have a great team who supports you. Our best-in-class benefits are just one of the ways we take care of our associates and show our gratitude for their continued hard work and dedication. Thank you for being a Cortland Ambassador, and keep up the amazing work! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like quick sand
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ohio City, OHJanuary 6, 2019
Before you know it you'll be swallowed alive along with this sinking ship. Promotions are part of a clique or friendship. Others are fired or pushed to quit with lillte reason. The renovations are shabby causing residents to be angry on a daily basis with staff. A unit is never ready for the move in date causing the new resident to be highly upset. It's a stressful situation daily. Not in line with fair housing laws
Pros
The residents
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! Since you took the time to share your thoughts, we’d like to take a moment to respond to your pain points. Regarding promotions, we can assure you that favoritism doesn’t play a factor in the decision to promote. That decision is made based on an associate’s demonstrated ability to succeed and thrive in their growing role. Furthermore, we understand that the renovation process can seem a little chaotic, and we promise that all materials used in the process were created in house, giving us unparalleled quality control. The satisfaction of our residents is important to us, which is why we work to create superior living spaces designed to inspire them to live a better life focused on what matters most to them. –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad
North Carolina (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaDecember 14, 2018
Management terrible and clueless. Lies to get people to do things then dont compensate as promised. Management only cares about themselves and their bonus checks.
Pros
Discount on rent
Cons
Misleading
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there! We were upset to hear that your Cortland experience didn’t blow you away. It sounds like there were some areas where we could improve, and we encourage you to share your thoughts in an appropriate medium so that we can address the issue. #ListenWithYourHeartInYourMind – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managment
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 9, 2018
Would not recommend anyone work here. Upper management is shady at best. Employees are not treated fairly across the board. Upper management likes to play favorites regardless of how well your work is
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! We’re upset to hear that you were dissatisfied with your Cortland experience. We work to treat every associate fairly regardless of position and avoid playing favorites. We also wish you’d taken advantage of our open-door communication policy – any thoughts you had regarding management should be shared so we can continuously improve. We wish you luck with your future endeavors. –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism
Leading consultant (Former Employee) –  FloridaNovember 18, 2018
I thought the pay was ok for the job until I left and saw how much other companies paid.

It is a company that promotes based on favoritism rather than your work.
Pros
Location
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello! We’d like the opportunity to say that the claim that we promote based on favoritism is untrue. We promote based on hard work, dedication, and the ability to grow in your role; favoritism does not factor into the decision. We wish your associate experience had lived up to your expectations – and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to be stabbed in the back by your incompetent coworkers.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 1, 2018
The "dynamic tension" between departments makes it impossible to achieve project objectives as you are constantly trying to appease the property manager and service manager who complain and add scope to your project without adding additional time for the added scope to be completed. The "work life balance" is non-existent as you are expected to work 12-14 hours a day, 7 days per week, I averaged 1-2 days off per month. Most of the construction team had no construction experience and were expected to learn on the job without a training program (the training program was about to be rolled out the whole time I worked there). The subs are not qualified to do the work in their scope, they move contractors that do not perform up to quality standards to other regions to be another PM's problem. The materials used in the renovations are sub-standard and you are expected to make them luxury level finishes. When the Chief Investment Officer flies in every month it would be helpful if they actually listened to the employees on site instead of the upper management, and when they say there are unlimited resources available to help the project succeed it would be nice if that were the reality.
Pros
Benefits, they spend millions of dollars a year on parties.
Cons
long hours, the CEO makes sexist comments which are funny but inappropriate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there. We’re happy that you think our benefits are as great as we do. Offering industry-leading benefits is just one of the ways that we take care of our associates. We realize that it can be difficult to juggle all of the stakeholders’ needs during a project – but you’ve always got a team to support you and your project goals. The time commitment can seem intense, especially as deadlines approach, but the end result is always worth the effort put in. While some on-the-job learning is expected, we pride ourselves on offering training to associates at every level to prepare them for their role and set them up for success. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam – Steve Mauro, VP of Construction Operations

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cortland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 125 reviews
531
435
326
214
119

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight