Cortland Culture reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 131 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
SENIOR SERVICE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 3, 2019
I enjoyed working for cortland in the beginning. I thought it would be the place I would retire from until the changes came along . I learned a lot from the classes they would have for us and learned a lot more about customer satisfaction . Cortland is all about them. No work life balance and short staffed all the time
Pros
Company culture, core values.
Cons
No ot, no appreciation for maintenance . No work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work culture
Investment Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Greenwich, CTJuly 1, 2019
I was an intern for Cortland while finishing up my Master's degree and enjoyed every minute of the opportunity.
I was working on the investment team and they really push us to become the best version of ourselves. Everyone was helpful and took time out of their day to help me and teach me the ropes. Daily interaction with the higher ups of the company and they make you feel valued and appreciated.
Pros
Always striving for excellence
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and well paid for the job
Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 12, 2019
It’s nice to work for a company that sets you up for success without micromanaging you to death. Cortland is so proactive in their hiring process that they make the best hiring decisions upfront so there is less turnover. During new projects they understand the support that is needed and work to ensure you are properly staffed with the right tools. The culture is amazing and they really go the distance to provide a work/life balance all while creating a fun and friendly work environment. Most everyone at the CSC has worked on site and understands how challenging it can be to work where people live. They encourage, inspire and back their their employees up. Their commitment to excellence directly relates to your success as an employee and they understand this is how properties achieve their goals. Cortland Partners are all about the people;, residents ,employees and ownership and that is why they are among the best Management companies in the country.
Pros
Great pay, benefits, support, hiring great talent
Cons
Hiring process is a little long but proactively for the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Official response from Cortland
April 22, 2019

Hello, Cortlandian! We’re beyond thrilled to hear that your associate experience has exceeded your expectations, and we’re so glad you’re a part of the Cortland family. You’re right – there are challenging moments, but as you mentioned, your peers and management are there to support you every step of the way. We’re all working together to revolutionize the multifamily industry, and we couldn’t do it without motivated, high-performing associates like you. Keep up the great work! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
ASSISTANT COMMUNITY DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAApril 8, 2019
Overall it is a great company to work for. They provide you with all the training you need so you can be successful in your career. Everyone is very helpful and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Official response from Cortland
April 12, 2019

Hi, there! We love hearing that your associate experience was nothing less than our Cortland best. You really hit the nail on the head – we are truly invested in our associates’ professional and personal development. We hope your experience at Cortland has served as a launch pad for your continued growth, and we wish you all the best with your future endeavors. Remember, once a Cortlandian, always a Cortlandian! - Ashley Gordo, VP of Talent Acquisition

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Pains
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  NCOctober 24, 2018
Cortland prides itself on innovation, resident satisfaction, and being "the biggest and the baddest" of the multifamily industry, which is great! However, the other side of the coin includes phrases being thrown around like "drink the kool-aid" (literally a cult reference) and "just buy-in" which lead to a culture of burn out and little work/life balance. They are expanding quickly and provide properties with plenty of marketing collateral, but tend to leave them short staffed which leads to a stressful workday/week. Then some leaders have the audacity to attribute long working hours to poor time management versus understaffing. They DO listen to concerns of employees, but you'll have to kick and scream for a while to get corporate's attention.
Pros
Resident experience, innovative, marketing
Cons
Understaffing and poor work/life balance that leads to burn out
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there! We do pride ourselves on driving innovation while creating an unparalleled resident experience – and we seek to create a culture of inclusion, family, and fun, not one of burnt-out associates. It’s true that we’re growing rapidly, and hiring associates who embody our culture takes a little time. We’re glad your Director of Operations listens to your concerns, and we want you to know that our Community Support Centers are here for you too. We practice and value our open-door communication policy – meaning associates can raise their concerns to anyone, not just their manager. If you have ideas on ways we could improve, feel free to email me at jonathan.tucker@cortland.com. We look forward to hearing from you! #ListenWithYourHeartAndYourMind –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor enviroment, lack of staff. Intense demands unreasoable expectations
Community Director Senior Living (Former Employee) –  Lewisville TxOctober 16, 2018
Poor culture upper management revoving door. Be prepared for 12 hour days and lack of support from upper management. No work life balance, you are required to work from home and follow up on reviews within 12 hours. You will get emails from upper management till late at night.You have to forward date in systems everyday, even Sundays.
Cons
They will work you to death!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello! We realize that being on the front lines at a community can be tough – overseeing the residents’ happiness and being the face of Cortland is no small undertaking. However, your onsite team and leadership are as invested in the community’s success as you are. Upper management has their boots on the ground to stay in the loop and work hard to make sure everything is running smoothly, which is why emails are sent after traditional work hours – taking care of our residents doesn’t stop when the office closes. Still, having a work-life balance that works for you is invaluable, and we encourage all of our associates to find what works best for them. –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great workplace
Assistant Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta GeorgiaOctober 1, 2018
The company was a very good company to work at are competitive pay and great benefits. They had a good structural management also they did a lot of In-House training and they was very focused on helping residents and the community
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. You’re exactly right – we do offer competitive pay and best-in-class benefits as well as training to keep our associates at the top of their game. Focusing in the resident experience is a top priority for us, and taking care of our associates keeps them happy and motivated to create a one-of-a-kind living experience for our residents. #DoTheRightThingForTheRightReason – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low quality company that pushes that they are “luxury”
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 24, 2018
They provide a bait and switch product. The work culture is political and kissup. CEO asks for last minute reports at closing- no family time. Don’t work here.
Pros
Nice Co-workers
Cons
Corporate management just has no clue about what it takes to get the job done- at least right, high impossible expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love what you do and let it show!
Resident Experience Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 18, 2018
Cortland has such a powerful presence when it comes to resident satisfaction and associate satisfaction. They take pride in finding new, innovative and cuttting-edge ideas to help them strive for more.
Pros
Amazing Culture
Cons
Reactive decision making
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report

Comment – October 3, 2018

Hey there, fellow Cortlandian! We are ecstatic that you are part of the family and embracing our Core Values. Associates like you are what set Cortland apart, creating an unparalleled experience for both our residents and our associates. #CreatingValueForABetterLife

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cortland, the Company
Assisstant Service Tech (Current Employee) –  Denton, TXAugust 11, 2018
I started working for Cortland about a year ago, and I can say that its been the best company that i have work for so far. The culture is growing and the managers give the notion that they care. I've learned a lot about the inner working of running a property because I am so close with my manager.. Hardest part of the job sometimes is working with so many different people and delivering the best customer service. Older people are hard to work with sometimes.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report

Comment – August 19, 2018

Hello, we really appreciate your feedback! We are so glad to hear that your experience at Cortland has exceeded your expectations. We cannot wait to see where your Cortland Journey takes you next! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productiveenviroment
Assistant Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Irving, TX 75039August 8, 2018
A typical day at Cortland Partners is very exciting from meeting new sub contractors/ vendors to completing the task for the day. The culture is what drove me to them, and the management time are knowledgeable and fair when it comes to there co-workers
Pros
The benefits, Pto, salary
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report

Comment – August 19, 2018

Hello, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We are so glad you are a part of our Cortland Family #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing, Competitive, Fun, Thriving
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 6, 2018
Cortland Partners was good to me. I had some of the best managers during my time as a leasing consultant with the company. I had to leave due to family matters, but I know I am always welcomed back! Great company to work for, they believe in standing out!
Pros
Fun and Competitive
Cons
Constant Changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report

Comment – August 19, 2018

We appreciate your positive review about your experience with us! If things change for you, we would love to have you back in the Cortland Family. Good luck on your next adventure! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on who your supervisors are is what makes cortland a great company to work for
Groundskeeper (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 18, 2018
Working for Cortland has been fun so far, however management sometimes just doesn't know hoe to help people grow and get promoted. You have to either come in with experience or buddy up with someone for a long time in order to be even considered for a raise. One guy even transfered and then they put him in a completely different position , and this is after he got a promotion for a specific job. Sounds manipulative to be quite honest.
Pros
Healthcare, compensation is competitive
Cons
Some individuals in talent resources and human resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report

Comment – October 3, 2018

Hi there, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We are glad that you having fun already and enjoy our Culture and Benefits, but see some opportunity for improvement. Remember we have an open door policy, don't hesitate to share your feedback with your Manager or Area Operations Manager. We would love to hear your ideas on ways we could improve. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile and Unwelcome
Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 11, 2018
The job culture here is absolutely horrible. Management can't tell what one hand is doing from another and puts the blame from their faults on their employees. Even going so far as to make up stories, then they run to cooperate with their stories in which they believe. Severely under staffed since Cortland took over our property back in September and getting supplies is a struggle. If you value peace of mind and do not want to deal with a unprofessional, high school type environment, then simply do not waste your time with this company. They say you only get one chance to make a good first impression and unfortunately they have made a very bad one, both on staff and in their own community. The fact they have already gone through 3 construction crews and 5 members from operations in less than 9 months says it all. Not to mention, occupancy is in free fall.
Pros
comission and benefits
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed
ASSISTANT COMMUNITY MANAGER (Current Employee) –  TexasMay 22, 2018
Hi,
Company does not support staff. I have worked for this company twice and nothing has changed. Maybe a different region, but this region has a lot of ongoing problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the BEST!
Assistant Community Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 16, 2018
I left Cortland Partners twice. They gave me my first shot in property management. I'm forever grateful! They are one of the best. Great company. Go Cortland!
Pros
Salary, Company Culture, Over All GREAT company!
Cons
Overall.... I don't have anything bad to say about Cortlanda!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture
City Manager (Former Employee) –  Lewisville, TXJanuary 4, 2018
Renovation project was difficult to work with construction.
I learned that the construction team is not very truthful.
Too much turnover.
Culture is spot on. Needs better execution.
Hardest part of job is not having the autonomy to utilize skills.
Most enjoyable is working with senior citizens.
Pros
Good business knowledge
Cons
Turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture, fast growing/paced.
Regional Landscape Manager, TX (Former Employee) –  TX/LA/CO/NV/AZDecember 22, 2017
Initially excited by rapid growth, opportunity for advancement/development. My responsibilities grew by three fold, with minimum assistance or support.

Phenomenal CEO. Overall great people to work with.
Pros
Great Company Culture
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad gig.
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GADecember 11, 2017
I enjoy the flexibility and competitive pay/ commission. Working at Cortland Partners will nurture your people skills which is a great skill to have if you're into sales, team building, or even looking to go as far as becoming a sales trainer. There are so many different personalities you would have to deal with as a leasing consultant, and so many residents needs. If you enjoy helping and serving people than this can be the job for you. The bonus is the competitive pay. Commission will always beat out an hourly offer for me.
Pros
Commission.
Cons
Work environment constantly changes, and you will have to adjust to new management often.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
COMMUNITY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 25, 2017
A great company to work for. Competitive salary and benefits. excellent training and environment. Leader in customer service and property management. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cortland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 131 reviews
532
437
326
214
122

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight