Cortland Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 126 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
ASST. PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 20, 2019
Cortland is a fantastic place to work day to day. They are a great company with strong values and try as much as they can to maintain and stay true to their core values. However, with recent changes to personnel, the company's future is currently shaky
Pros
great benefits
Cons
upper management doesn't know what it's doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Cortland
May 31, 2019

Hey, there! We’re so happy to hear that you love our core values as much as we do! These values drive the way we operate – and permeate every aspect of our company to drive our success. Our core values are the pillars that uphold our culture and our company. As we continue to grow, we need you to be an ambassador not only for Cortland, but also for our culture – so keep up the great work, Cortlandian! #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations & Facilities

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and well paid for the job
Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 12, 2019
It’s nice to work for a company that sets you up for success without micromanaging you to death. Cortland is so proactive in their hiring process that they make the best hiring decisions upfront so there is less turnover. During new projects they understand the support that is needed and work to ensure you are properly staffed with the right tools. The culture is amazing and they really go the distance to provide a work/life balance all while creating a fun and friendly work environment. Most everyone at the CSC has worked on site and understands how challenging it can be to work where people live. They encourage, inspire and back their their employees up. Their commitment to excellence directly relates to your success as an employee and they understand this is how properties achieve their goals. Cortland Partners are all about the people;, residents ,employees and ownership and that is why they are among the best Management companies in the country.
Pros
Great pay, benefits, support, hiring great talent
Cons
Hiring process is a little long but proactively for the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Official response from Cortland
April 22, 2019

Hello, Cortlandian! We’re beyond thrilled to hear that your associate experience has exceeded your expectations, and we’re so glad you’re a part of the Cortland family. You’re right – there are challenging moments, but as you mentioned, your peers and management are there to support you every step of the way. We’re all working together to revolutionize the multifamily industry, and we couldn’t do it without motivated, high-performing associates like you. Keep up the great work! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, management needs help to keep teammates on-board
Leasing Partner, Wellness Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Raleigh-Durham, NCMarch 14, 2019
When first beginning with this company, you feel valued and appreciated. Management style is very important in motivating employees. Leasing partners are receptionists and problem solvers for management as well. More compensation and recognition of importance of leasing consultants is much needed.
The most enjoyable part of this job is witnessing new residents and prospects see and feel the benefits of this company and community, as extremely resident-focused.
Pros
Commission possibilities
Cons
Long hours, heavy work load, very hard to earn commission without team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Cortland
April 5, 2019

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re glad that your Cortland journey started out great – and we wish that had continued. Teamwork and management play large roles in creating a great associate experience, which is why we’re rolling out Leader’s Boot Camp. This will provide managers with the tools, resources, and knowledge to effectively lead their teams to success. We know that being the face of Cortland onsite is no small task – you’re responsible for all of the residents living in your community. However, everyone working onsite, management, and leadership are just as invested in your residents as you are. We wish you luck on your future endeavors! – Sarah Connolly, Director of Operations

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn’t love Cortland more!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 5, 2019
Cortland is truly fantastic! There is always room to grow and you are paid for performance! Cortland has a family feel, especially in Ohio. There is an abundance of support locally, and from the corporate level. I am so glad I found Cortland, and do not plan to leave.
Pros
Family feel, compensation, positive work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello, Cortlandian! We are thrilled to hear that your experience has exceeded your expectations. It is associates like you who amplify our culture and continue to make Cortland an awesome place to work. Thank you for being an ambassador for Cortland and embodying our core values. We’re so glad to have you as part of the Cortland family! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Porter/Groundskeeper/Make Ready Technician (Current Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJanuary 13, 2019
Good workplace. Management and other co-workers are friendly. Benefits offered at time of employment. Offer vacation time after a year. Lunch is 1 hour.
Pros
lunch is 1hr. Benefits offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hello, fellow Cortlandian! We’re so glad to hear that you feel like a part of the Cortland family and that you have a great team who supports you. Our best-in-class benefits are just one of the ways we take care of our associates and show our gratitude for their continued hard work and dedication. Thank you for being a Cortland Ambassador, and keep up the amazing work! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad
North Carolina (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaDecember 14, 2018
Management terrible and clueless. Lies to get people to do things then dont compensate as promised. Management only cares about themselves and their bonus checks.
Pros
Discount on rent
Cons
Misleading
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there! We were upset to hear that your Cortland experience didn’t blow you away. It sounds like there were some areas where we could improve, and we encourage you to share your thoughts in an appropriate medium so that we can address the issue. #ListenWithYourHeartInYourMind – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to be stabbed in the back by your incompetent coworkers.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 1, 2018
The "dynamic tension" between departments makes it impossible to achieve project objectives as you are constantly trying to appease the property manager and service manager who complain and add scope to your project without adding additional time for the added scope to be completed. The "work life balance" is non-existent as you are expected to work 12-14 hours a day, 7 days per week, I averaged 1-2 days off per month. Most of the construction team had no construction experience and were expected to learn on the job without a training program (the training program was about to be rolled out the whole time I worked there). The subs are not qualified to do the work in their scope, they move contractors that do not perform up to quality standards to other regions to be another PM's problem. The materials used in the renovations are sub-standard and you are expected to make them luxury level finishes. When the Chief Investment Officer flies in every month it would be helpful if they actually listened to the employees on site instead of the upper management, and when they say there are unlimited resources available to help the project succeed it would be nice if that were the reality.
Pros
Benefits, they spend millions of dollars a year on parties.
Cons
long hours, the CEO makes sexist comments which are funny but inappropriate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hi, there. We’re happy that you think our benefits are as great as we do. Offering industry-leading benefits is just one of the ways that we take care of our associates. We realize that it can be difficult to juggle all of the stakeholders’ needs during a project – but you’ve always got a team to support you and your project goals. The time commitment can seem intense, especially as deadlines approach, but the end result is always worth the effort put in. While some on-the-job learning is expected, we pride ourselves on offering training to associates at every level to prepare them for their role and set them up for success. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam – Steve Mauro, VP of Construction Operations

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high work load, always understaffed.
MAINTENANCE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 25, 2018
You can expect to have management up your backside. They never hire a full team (3 punch techs, 3 maintenance techs, and two grounds keepers). Peak season is from the end of May to the end of September. During this time you can expect to be loaded down with more work than what you know what to do with.

There are end of the month bonuses on the bi-monthly checks.
Pros
Decent pay, consistent hours, almost free benefits, on-call overtime
Cons
Understaffed, overwhelming work load during peak season, management expects flawless work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! We’re thrilled that you love our benefits as much as we do. We know that our associates work hard to take care of our residents, and we work just as hard to take care of our associates. Working onsite and acting as the face of Cortland can be daunting – especially during peak season. It’s true that management does expect flawless work because we believe that if it’s fixed correctly, it only needs to be fixed once. We understand that the work load can seem overwhelming, but you’ve always got a team at your back to support you and help you accomplish your goals. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam –Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great workplace
Assistant Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta GeorgiaOctober 1, 2018
The company was a very good company to work at are competitive pay and great benefits. They had a good structural management also they did a lot of In-House training and they was very focused on helping residents and the community
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from Cortland
February 11, 2019

Hey, there! Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. You’re exactly right – we do offer competitive pay and best-in-class benefits as well as training to keep our associates at the top of their game. Focusing in the resident experience is a top priority for us, and taking care of our associates keeps them happy and motivated to create a one-of-a-kind living experience for our residents. #DoTheRightThingForTheRightReason – Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
spot on
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Ocala, FLSeptember 29, 2018
love it here, didn't wanna leave, great place, lots to do, training for days, great company, does not disappoint, travel benefits, im done with this review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company, not so great pay
Valet trash services (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 19, 2018
For the pay and for the fact that it is a part-time position, they need you to stay much longer than normal each day but not enough hours to warrant getting benefits.
Pros
Good company
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COAugust 12, 2018
A large company that is always growing by buying properties. all over the united states.
employment opportunities from georgia to las vegas!
training programs kinda like a big brother program to help newcomers understand company core values
Pros
benefits
Cons
miscommunication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report

Comment – August 19, 2018

Hi there, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We are glad that you enjoy our Culture and Benefits, but see some opportunity for improvement. Remember we have an open door policy and would love to hear your ideas on ways we could improve. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productiveenviroment
Assistant Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Irving, TX 75039August 8, 2018
A typical day at Cortland Partners is very exciting from meeting new sub contractors/ vendors to completing the task for the day. The culture is what drove me to them, and the management time are knowledgeable and fair when it comes to there co-workers
Pros
The benefits, Pto, salary
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report

Comment – August 19, 2018

Hello, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We are so glad you are a part of our Cortland Family #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on who your supervisors are is what makes cortland a great company to work for
Groundskeeper (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 18, 2018
Working for Cortland has been fun so far, however management sometimes just doesn't know hoe to help people grow and get promoted. You have to either come in with experience or buddy up with someone for a long time in order to be even considered for a raise. One guy even transfered and then they put him in a completely different position , and this is after he got a promotion for a specific job. Sounds manipulative to be quite honest.
Pros
Healthcare, compensation is competitive
Cons
Some individuals in talent resources and human resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report

Comment – October 3, 2018

Hi there, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We are glad that you having fun already and enjoy our Culture and Benefits, but see some opportunity for improvement. Remember we have an open door policy, don't hesitate to share your feedback with your Manager or Area Operations Manager. We would love to hear your ideas on ways we could improve. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in progress
annoymous (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 12, 2018
Cortland is a mix of emotions. Has great benefits package. Cortland doesn't find your personal life to be important. Very unorganized management. Promotes anyone with no experience, with onesite and how it runs. You always need to watch your back because you won't have any support when concerns are addressed.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Unorganzied
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile and Unwelcome
Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 11, 2018
The job culture here is absolutely horrible. Management can't tell what one hand is doing from another and puts the blame from their faults on their employees. Even going so far as to make up stories, then they run to cooperate with their stories in which they believe. Severely under staffed since Cortland took over our property back in September and getting supplies is a struggle. If you value peace of mind and do not want to deal with a unprofessional, high school type environment, then simply do not waste your time with this company. They say you only get one chance to make a good first impression and unfortunately they have made a very bad one, both on staff and in their own community. The fact they have already gone through 3 construction crews and 5 members from operations in less than 9 months says it all. Not to mention, occupancy is in free fall.
Pros
comission and benefits
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Domino Effect
Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 21, 2018
I am absolutely appalled at what this company has become. I used to take pride in working for Cortland when team awesome overseen Ohio. After team heroes took over, I slowly watched the Ohio portfolio plummet. Promoting people with no experience. Those that deserved recognition were taken for granted and ignored. If you are anything less than a manager, you ARE replaceable and you will absolutely feel that way. When your concerns are voiced, you then become a target. There is no structure within the Ohio portfolio anymore. Everything is Property specific - meaning when Community Managers shift, everything shifts based on what THEY want. The Community Managers abuse their power because they know they’re protected. This causes toxic environments causing animosity & personal vendettas! How can you create value for a better life when your associates aren’t valued? Also, kiss your personal life and family goodbye as you will work off the clock and extended hours just to stay afloat of their overflowing expectations! It is very well known that the Ohio associate retention is awful. Do something about it. Give praise to those that truly deserve it before you lose more of your long standing good associates. Pay more attention to the opinions of your Resident Experience Managers & leasing staff rather than JUST the Business Managers & Community Managers. Hold your Director of Operations & Area Operations Manager to the same standards as your other associates. (Do the right thing for the right reason. Grow together and play as a team. Listen with your heart and your mind. Have the courage  more... to be better.)  less
Pros
Commission standards, benefits & PTO accumulation
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport

Comment – July 13, 2018

Ouch, that was not a fun review to read. I’m sorry things didn’t work out for you at Cortland and that you feel like some of our latest changes haven’t lived up to your expectations. Our retention , resident satisfaction, and overall business metrics have shown us otherwise – we are seeing an upward trend in Ohio. I would love to personally address your concerns and am available at priscila.mattingly@cortlandpartners.com or you can call our 24/7 hotline at 1.800.461.9330. In the meantime, I am personally assessing the situation in Ohio to ensure that both our residents and associates are getting the same great Cortland experience across the board

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the BEST!
Assistant Community Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 16, 2018
I left Cortland Partners twice. They gave me my first shot in property management. I'm forever grateful! They are one of the best. Great company. Go Cortland!
Pros
Salary, Company Culture, Over All GREAT company!
Cons
Overall.... I don't have anything bad to say about Cortlanda!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper managment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 24, 2018
The Workload is stressful and corporate is quick to point the finger instead of fixing the situation. There is a person in corporate that treats people horribly. If you can handle a heavy workload and stressful enviroment the pay is good and you may get promoted even if you arent ready.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Work load and upper managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with poor Florida upper management
Assistant Project Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 27, 2017
Cortland practices their core values very strongly. They truly care about the employees and their residents. The most enjoyable part of going to work every day, hands down is the people. During the interview process you have to take multiple of tests to ensure you will meet their standards. I strongly stand by this company and hope current roles gets straightened out as the moral has gone down.
Pros
Benefits, great pay
Cons
Upper Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cortland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 126 reviews
531
435
326
214
120

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight