Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon Employee Reviews

Found 306 reviews matching the search See all 376 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Receptionist (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Montrose, COApril 19, 2019
If I didn't end up having to go back to school I totally would have kept my job. I loved the atmosphere and all the fellow employees. Wish I could go back to the good days sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Styling at a franchise
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Kirksville, MOApril 13, 2019
Cost Cutters is a franchise. Management pushed self development and education. Lack of business caused friction between stylists. Computer system for record keeping was great. Many different product lines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend- Unfair and Disrespectful
Full Time Stylist (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COApril 11, 2019
I was a new student out of school- 18 years old at the time- and I was expected to know almost everything. My manager had a short fuse and one day yelled at me due to a miscommunication. I then was working 12 hours a week (hired as full time) and had to help other stores to get back a few hours. I felt unwanted, distressed, lied to, and used. I had the worst anxiety and would often cry every day after work. Not only poor management, but the workplaces are not clean or maintained. Also after I quit they failed to inform me on my W2 and I had to call to get any information about it. I would not work here.
Pros
Slow paced so you get paid hourly to do nothing
Cons
Unclean, unfriendly, cheated systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its janky
Hair Stylist (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 6, 2019
This company was bought out and have completely changed there is no real long term solution to why the managers can treat they staff like nothing and its almost impossible to ever hit commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to start your first job as a cosmetologist. The employees were very rude and mean. Overall not the best place.
Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Logan, WVApril 4, 2019
This place was not the best place to have your first job, and most of the employees were mean and rude. I personally would never go back there to work again. I had the worst experience I could ever possibly have with them. Nobody really knows how bad it is until they work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job at cost cutters is quite simple, I clean shelves, sweep up hair, and take care of customers at the front desk.
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Hanson, KYMarch 29, 2019
I love my job, I just plan to work a second job, the work here is enjoyable I don’t really have anything bad to say about the job. The pay is good and my schedule is flexible
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to be creative
Part time HairStylist (Former Employee) –  Hales Corners, WIMarch 22, 2019
I enjoyed my time at Cost Cutters (Regis). It was a great place to start my cosmetology career. The Apprentice program was well ran and I felt the training was done just right to get the best out of the Stylist on the cutting floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cost Cutters Salon Manager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNMarch 21, 2019
a fast paced fun place to work, they strive on training with new styles and colors clients are treated very well and there is always an up beat atmosphere
Pros
discounted service
Cons
few breaks no healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start career. Alot of experience is given here.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Spirit Lake, IAMarch 13, 2019
I enjoyed working at Cost Cutters. It is always busy so u get great experience. They also encourage training twice a year as well as getting all your con-ed hours met for renewing license.
Pros
Experience
Cons
A lot of turn over so sometimes a lot of hrs away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh.
Stylist/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILFebruary 17, 2019
All corporate salons are there to be in industry job and don;t promote growth in your personal career. You are part of the hivemind and nothing more than a pair of hands for their greed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Muhlenberg County, KYFebruary 17, 2019
They work with you depending on your schedule. Fun work environment. Enjoy meeting new people. They give color classes as well as product classes FREE to employees.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Healthcare vacation time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Manager (Current Employee) –  Sioux City, IAFebruary 16, 2019
Cost Cutters is an amazing workplace, great company with great opportunity to grow. I would refer this company to any cosmetologist, they offer great training as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COFebruary 8, 2019
Love working there fortunately I was there until I got my cosmetology license I didn't get license so they let me go. It was a great environment to work at
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family salon
Cosmetologist/Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COFebruary 6, 2019
This salon was very busy and fast paced. It was very common to have a customer wait time of 2-4 hours. I learned great
speaking skills as well as new hair skills. The management was attentive to every employee and customer need. The hardest part of this job was having to work out of town, but the experience of working in different salons kept things exciting.
Pros
Always keeping busy
Cons
Having clients come in with head lice. It happened at least once a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working in the publisc
Cosmetologist (Current Employee) –  Scottsbluff, NEJanuary 29, 2019
Meeting new clients is the best part. Ive been a cosmetologist for over 25 years working part time there is perfect for my schedule .Manager really works well with your schedule. Hardest part of job is slowtimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for career
Hairstylist/Manager (Current Employee) –  Janesville wiJanuary 19, 2019
Some say it's a good place to start, I've been with Cost Cutters for 28 years and have had a successful career. And have made a great living. The training is amazing and the potential for advancement is there for those that want it. The sky is the limit with Cost Cutters !!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only great for building a portfolio
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Hastings, NEJanuary 10, 2019
* if they don't want to fire you they suggest relocating you.
* they promise advancement just to build they're numbers
*Management refuses to do just as much as they're coworkers
Pros
Great place to build your clientele if fresh out of beauty school
Cons
Constantly moving, no pay raise, unfulfilled promises or advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Manalapan, NJDecember 20, 2018
loved working there, have my own department.Love that i had the freedom to do things i wanted to do in my department. worked well with the staff, everyone helped each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job just wanted something different
Hair Stylist/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIDecember 10, 2018
I really loved working for the company. I honestly just didn't enjoy cutting hair. I had a great time while I was there. Had a lot of great clients and learned a lot from the other stylists
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hairdresser that needed a job
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Spearfish, SDNovember 25, 2018
ok place to work, my manager was rather crude, her language was very unbecoming in a work place. Good supplies, parking was skimpy.

Would recommend people to go there as there is a new manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cost Cutters Family Hair Salon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 376 reviews
5104
4103
393
239
137

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture