Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Found 5,493 reviews matching the search See all 7,534 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not a great place
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Danvers, MAOctober 21, 2018
Most Members are babied, entitled, ignorant and rude. Hours are terrible, breaks and lunches are skipped , understaffed every day. Benefits are decent and pay is ok if you’ve been there for a long time or get promoted. For the job and wear and tear on your body , salaries should be higher and hours should be less or should be properly staffed. Management has no vision for great ideas and tire shop supervisors have white uniform shirts. Makes no sense at all. I could go on and on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet fun work place.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 20, 2018
I love that job hope to get back in . Flexible room for growth . I started at the bottom & slowly worked my way to the top being a supervisor! Awesome atmosphere, Great benifits awesome pay wages .
Pros
Everything
Cons
None I loved it there !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAOctober 20, 2018
Working at the rotisserie chicken area is pretty hard to be honest, get ready for labor. Management was pretty cool, co-workers are friendly but it still has a little bit of favoritism going on in there.
Pros
Food is always cheap here and free Costco membership.
Cons
Food isn't discounted for us, no discounts on items.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool
Night Stocker/ Major Sales (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAOctober 20, 2018
good place to work great company to work forabout ▼
Location costumer services, sales, credit cards, assisting cashiers etc, with work evey day with goals, and we need to have in 50% in sales,

I learn how to deal with people.

I great to know the culture.

the hard part is, when you can't help the costumer, because the rules of Costco.

the most enjoy of my job is when you see the people happy, with their shopping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place, a place where you can grow as an employee
Front End Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAOctober 19, 2018
it was a great experience working for costco, there is always something new to learn and always opportunities to grow in you career its a fast place environment yo, managers are very helpful and some customers too.
Pros
free lunches on holidays
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and fast paced.
Receiving/Merchandising (Current Employee) –  Mettawa, ILOctober 19, 2018
Working at Costco Wholesale is a very engaging, comfortable and friendly place to go work at. Every day is a new experience with plenty of obstacles to overcome and solve especially when working during the morning before the warehouse opens to the public.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Medford, OROctober 19, 2018
Fast paced but a fun competitive environment to work in. Management is great they really help you with schedule flexibilities and always opportunities for career growth.
Pros
free membership
Cons
physically demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 19, 2018
Do your 8 hours and leave. a typical 9-5 job. Pretty standard. No really room for advancement. Employees are just trying to do the minimum and go home to their families.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt ever go back
Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAOctober 19, 2018
I worked for Costco for 10 years and watched it slowly decline. It has become a money hungry machine that has no regard for its employees lives or well being. the one thing im great full for is it got so bad that it made going back to school a easy decision.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Stressful, Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
costumer services
Costumer Service (Current Employee) –  Miami Lakes, FLOctober 18, 2018
costumer services, sales, credit cards, assisting cashiers etc, with work evey day with goals, and we need to have in 50% in sales,

I learn how to deal with people.

I great to know the culture.

the hard part is, when you can't help the costumer, because the rules of Costco.

the most enjoy of my job is when you see the people happy, with their shopping.
Pros
no lunch
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Tire Shop Lead (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIOctober 18, 2018
Great place to work at the people are very nice it feels like a family the managers are always there to help you in any way if you can get in Costco I highly recommend it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Stocker (Former Employee) –  East Wenatchee, WAOctober 18, 2018
Hard to say much as I was a part time working. The management would not allow you to get 40 hours a week if you were part time to avoid having to pay for your benefits.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Not enough hours due to management policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Front End - Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Farragut, TNOctober 18, 2018
Overall, it was a great place to work. I worked there part time until another full time job opened up for me. I got along well with the management, and I enjoyed interacting with the members. However, the fastest way to advance in the company is by moving from store to store. This was not something that I was willing to do. I'm also not the biggest fan of working retail hours, but that's just me, not a reflection of the job itself. I left on good terms and have recommended others to apply there.
Pros
Free Membership, Great Work Environment
Cons
Retail Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low hours
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 17, 2018
Low hours
Learned basic merchandiser traits
hardest part of the job is lack of time and extremely fast paced
most enjoyable part of the job is co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paste
Service Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kalispell, MTOctober 17, 2018
Great place to work. Coworkers are excellent. Management is good as well. They have many benefits and also help with school funds. Very professional managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the Benefits are Amazing
Bakery Supervisor (Former Employee) –  ColoradoOctober 17, 2018
the Benefits for this job were the best part and I miss them all the time. Working in the bakery was crazy during the holidays but it made time go by fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 17, 2018
Fast paced, good people, everyone is either seasonal or has been there forever. Competitive pay. There is not a lot of time to stand around and you must always be doing something because there is always something to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, but it's still retail.
Cashier & Cashier's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Apex, NCOctober 17, 2018
From an outsiders perspective, Costco is a fantastic company to work for. Unfortunately, no matter how good the benefits are, working for Costco is still working in retail. If you get a great manager, working there is fine. If you get a manager who's not so great, you'll want to get out of there fast. Working for Costco is not for sensitive or timid people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good location
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hoover, ALOctober 17, 2018
Good location site and random free lunches but benefits and managers are not good and unprofessional. Meet new people who are helpful and nice. no job security
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Merchandiser (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAOctober 16, 2018
a typical day at work will be fast paced and need to get your work done quick. i learned about Costco is to be organized and to be fasted paced. Management was great but had a mad side all the time. The hardest about the job is to get everything done in a limited time, The most enjoyable part was to get to go home.
Pros
had a tv up stairs
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,535 reviews
53.6K
42.4K
31.1K
2249
1188

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight