County Market Employee Reviews

Showing all 479 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILJanuary 21, 2019
Productive, always something to do.. fast paced. Very customer friendly, great management and employees. Would definitely recommend working here!! It was my first job and a very good impression.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Canton, MOJanuary 11, 2019
Was a great starting cashier job. Helps build customer service skills. Lets one understand that working with public may not be for them. Friendly atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Butcher (Former Employee) –  Rushville, ILJanuary 4, 2019
Wrapped, weighed, labeled, and priced cuts of meat
Trimmed, boned, tied, and ground meat
Supervised and trained new and old employees
Slaughtered and inspected animals upon arrival
Cured, smoked, tenderized, and preserved meat
Negotiated with representatives from various supply companies
Collected money and sold product to customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun environment to work in
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Byron, ILDecember 29, 2018
This job was very fun to work. The people that I worked with made working there Fun and enjoyable. It was a very fun and relaxed environment to work in.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Only got a 15 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, ILDecember 29, 2018
I have enjoyed working at County Market itt has been a good job that had reasonable hours. It was a friemdly environment provoding a quality product to customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low scores all around
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Pontiac, ILDecember 26, 2018
If you know what you're doing, and you perform better than your co-workers, the drama will begin. People with idiocracy will be valued, and rewarded with the hours. People with excellent skills will be taken advantage of, and rewarded with less hours.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part -time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gibson City, ILDecember 20, 2018
The people I worked with at my location were great fun to work with, very helpful. They were pretty flexible with hours. There maybe room to grow in the company.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
only part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment. Helpful atmosphere.
Deli and Bakery team member (Former Employee) –  Robinson, ILDecember 20, 2018
Eady to work here. Friendly coworkers and management. Getting paid weekly is also a plus.flexible schedules and direct deposi make thing easier. I would recommend working here.
Pros
Friendly staff.
Cons
They are struggling to compete.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ILDecember 18, 2018
Working with others and the public doing a job helping others getting there done I would like to do other department I loved making salad learning to make pizza and trays and making lunch
Pros
Breakroom
Cons
Good helpers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay to low for hours requred to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Canton, MODecember 16, 2018
Insurance cost to high. Average pay per hour to low for Salary associates. Friendly management and customers. My manager cares about me. But I work to many hours above my salary requirements and pay. No bonus, no added benefits for associates that work the most.
Pros
Freindy fun place to work. Family atmosphere
Cons
Pay to low. No or low benefits. Insurance too high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, learned a lot
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vandalia, MODecember 11, 2018
County Market was my first job and I really enjoyed working with my coworkers and working with the public. Loved meeting new people and being a part of a team.
Pros
Working with the public
Cons
Pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Canton, MODecember 10, 2018
It was a very boring job. The management was bad and they didn't know how to do a schedule as good as they should have. I liked the people I worked with most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash Handling , greet customers daily
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LADecember 7, 2018
Always had to wear a smile and greet and / or make conversation with customers. Make sure they feel appreciated to come back and shop again. Always say thank you and have a nice day
Pros
Great job to start off as a teenager
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County Market
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILDecember 7, 2018
Was a good first job that taught me the main ropes of the real world. I also got to meet and work with a a lot of fun people as well. All around it is a perfect partime job.
Pros
easy
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  Hudson, WIDecember 6, 2018
County market is a good place to work as with any job we’re gonna be pros and cons but overall this is a good place to work if you like working with the public then you’ll love this job if you don’t like talking to people probably not job for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for a first time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lewistown, ILNovember 28, 2018
they hire a lot of people who are still in high school or who just freshly graduated as a place for a first time job. a small local grocery store company,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli cook not great for students
Deli Cook (Former Employee) –  Monmouth, ILNovember 27, 2018
I was belittled and constantly told about what a certain other night cook would not do, so I would be told to do it, even when it was something I regularly did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was due to managements oversight, fun, easy going, atmosfer
Assistant Manager/Sales Associate/ Dairy (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTNovember 17, 2018
A Lot was good about County market. Yes it was Union, so somewhat higher pay, but also County Market had great benefits. Lot was due to the fact management looked for people that were willing to help others. Cross training was abundant, up and down the ladder too, so covering or switching shifts to meet store needs or individuals was easy. Still would be there for 20 years or more if not closed...lol
Pros
Pay, Benefits, people, overtime (if not salaried), full + hours, fixed or flexible hours
Cons
Union was junk, I pationed them myself and so did others. Working without contact
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my favorite job because it was so much fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Palmyra, MONovember 15, 2018
Maintained store areas in a neat and clean fashion for a professional appeal. Answered customer quests, provided store information and escorted to desired store  areas. Assessed customer needs and responded to questions. Cleaned and straightened work area. Issued receipts for purchases and gifts. Bagged merchandise by following standard procedures. Weighed food to determine correct pricing. Operated cash register with proficiency. Provided professional and courteous service at all times. Worked overtime shifts during busy periods. Resolved customer problems by investigating issues, answering questions and building  rapport.
Pros
Decent breaks, busy
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, PANovember 10, 2018
Very low staff, especially on cashiers. Rarely more than two cashiers working at once, so it is very stressful when it gets busy and you are the only cashier there. But, he front desk ladies always help you out in need and are lovely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at County Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 479 reviews
5119
4141
3131
251
137

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture