County Materials Corp Employee Reviews

Showing all 49 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
descent work place
Flatbed Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Roberts, WIMarch 15, 2019
easy going work day depending on the weather and job-site conditions. never the same job situation from one day to the next. A good life work balance with your weekends off and pretty flexible on taking time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Roberts, WIMarch 13, 2019
Productive workplace that practices safety everyday! Weekly safety meetings, all the safety equipment and PPE you need to do your job safely everyday!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor intesive job, rewarding work
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Roberts, WIJanuary 28, 2019
Fun active work place, challenging at times but if your a hard worker that doesn't mind getting dirty you'll love it there. Most days are fine but in the summer its super busy and you'll end up working 12+ hour days consistently.
Pros
Always doing something different
Cons
Days can be very long
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here
Everything (Former Employee) –  United StatesJanuary 27, 2019
Dont work here
Benefits are not good
Management is not good they only care about themselves
Dont care about employees
They do give a lot of holidays off
Invest in company and not employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours to produce substandard products.
QC Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Whitestown, INDecember 30, 2018
This company couldn't produce a concrete wall panel correctly if its life depended on it. Crews not well trained and don't care. Foremen are foremen in name only, don't know how to lead. Same mentality as most precast plants - just pour it and get it out the door. If you are thinking about being a project manager - don't ! You will not like life.
Pros
None
Cons
No desire for making a quality product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  DeForest, WIDecember 13, 2018
I liked working here when I first started but things changed after a while. I got carbon monoxide poisoning at work and I was sent a lot of the hospital bills. Also i did not receive any compassion for my days off work due to the side effects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for most people
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Whitestown, INNovember 1, 2018
If you have nothing to go home to and want to work yourself until you're ready to drop, this is a good place for that. You will have no personal life because you will basically live at work. I worked 70hr weeks on a regular basis, and that was expected. If you can't keep up, you will be replaced. 'Everyone is expendable' was the motto I would hear time and time again.
Pros
Pay/benefits
Cons
No personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a bit of a disconnect between management and employees
forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Astatula, FLOctober 11, 2018
they did pay well but, you worked hard for your pay.
other then that i would consider County Materials a please to work if you are not scared to work hard for your wages
Pros
plenty of O.T.
Cons
not good if you are a family man
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Corporate Attitude
Driver (Current Employee) –  Custer, WISeptember 12, 2018
Typical corporate mentality, you are a number and treated as such. Shop mentality toward drivers is very poor attitude. We are just there to break stuff and make more work for them. Management can swear in your face with no worry of consequences. It is NOT ok to utilize corporate resources such as HR to benefit you. Bullying is an acceptable practice. What else do you need to know? Oh the job, that is pretty straight forward, just follow directions and you'll be fine. Coworkers are all great.

And they continue to wonder why they can't find drivers........
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Lies, corporate mentality, bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s alright.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Roberts, WIAugust 22, 2018
Do a lot of work. Can be very fast paced. Some of the employees are hard to work with. My current boss is pretty awesome. He allows time off when needed. He never says no.
Pros
Benefits and the opportunity to work overtime.
Cons
No time for breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like walking on egg shells
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Roberts, WIJuly 28, 2018
Never get raises as they sat you will. The management is really bad they don't know anything and thing they are gods gift for mangment. safety program is not there all about production
Pros
non
Cons
cut throat
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay I guess
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILJuly 13, 2018
Pay could be better and the work ethic better communication and the last minute loads management could work and trane the employees alot better then just saying go do this
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Plant Laborer/ Machine operator (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILJuly 11, 2018
Pretty good place to work to start off in the construction field, you learn a lot there if not experience far as of welding, concrete, tools, forklift driving and operating cranes
Pros
Able to get a chance to work
Cons
Shifts are 4am-2pm one break and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of nice people.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Marathon City, WIJuly 10, 2018
was a lot of good people to work with. hard working people. management was too family orientated. hardest part was I had a larger area to cover than most and worked out of 2 locations.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
to much family run
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office environment is toxic....they smile at you while stabbing you in the back
Office slave (Former Employee) –  Weston, WIJune 20, 2018
Stress level is maximum. You will live in constant fear of who’s watching you. You will learn that you are worthless. And they don’t care how much you actually know, if you aren’t one of the bosses favorites-you will be over analyzed and every mistake will be pointed out to everyone.
Don’t even waste your time with this place. Pay is horrible, vacation is worse and if you are a laborer the conditions are even worse
The owners are money hungry and don’t care how poor the treat employees or who they destroy along the way
Pros
It’s a paycheck
Cons
the entire company
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
allways have work
Laborer/Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Salem, ILJune 7, 2018
Good place for a young guy on the move all the time .pays not bad now start you out 14 dollers hr learn how to work with concrete build bridge beams how to use certain tools for concrete
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Plant Laborer (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILApril 27, 2018
Hard, hot and dirty. Mediocre facility, but excellent company to work for. No breaks but the ones you make by ducking out when no one's looking. xxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County Materials
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIApril 13, 2018
I really enjoyed my time at County Materials because I was able to learn a lot of new skills and knew that it would be a challenge to fulfill my daily duties.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it!
Aggregate opperator (Current Employee) –  Marathon, WIMarch 28, 2018
I agree with all the previous reviews. Management is poor. They are rude and treat you like you are stupid. They do not want your ideas much less will they listen to them. Actually I was yelled at for giving a suggestion. My job title is aggregate operator. I was hired for offroad dump truck driver. But only did thst for about 2 months. Now I never know what i will be doing the next week. Instead of driving truck or operating I'm a laborer. But they will hire new kids (18-20yr old) for the position you hired in for even giving them more hours and pay.....while you are demoted to labor and treated like garbage.
Pros
Decent pay....and benefits.
Cons
Long hours. Hard, dirty work. Poor attitudes an communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work long days tough working conditions
laberor (Current Employee) –  Champaign, ILFebruary 21, 2018
It pays the bills. Long hours. Tough working conditions. Lack of breaks. One break for 30 min no matter how many hours you work. No experience needed.
Pros
Decent pay.
Cons
one break for 30 min. bad supervising. Very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at County Materials Corp. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 49 reviews
510
48
312
27
112

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.8Culture