COUNTY OF HAWAII Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Director of Finance (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIOctober 18, 2017
Director of Finance is an intense but very satisfying position. Commitment must be thorough. Not a place for on the job training. Must come with prior County of Hawaii Finance experience. Very stimulating work environment which requires flexibility and executive decision making capability. Knowledge of County of Hawaii ordinances and rules very important. Good communication skills required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there and the management is not good.
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Downtown hiloJanuary 25, 2017
Outdated training
No training
Hostile work environment
They sit you in front of outdated material and tell you that you're on you're own.
The equipment is outdated
Out of the 6 of us that was hired at the same time 5 of us quite at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great manager and coworkers that are nice and helpful.
Legal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kealakekua, HIJanuary 6, 2017
It's a nice office to work in. The work itself was complicated and not easy to learn. Very challenging. The prosecuting attorney, who is based in Hilo, paid a lot of attention to the Kona office and I felt comfortable in my job with his support.
Pros
Friendly people willing to help with tight deadlines. Free lunch.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Account Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hilo, HIJuly 13, 2016
Great work environment and benefits. Lots of opportunity for upward movement. The County of Hawaii provide lots of training and classes. The management is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and work schedule
Custodial/Groundskeeper (Current Employee) –  Hilo, HIJune 12, 2016
Good job, pay, benefits. Nothing negative to say at all. County government position, stable job, good sense of security and advancement potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productuve working environment
Activity Aid Technician (Former Employee) –  Honokaa, HIMarch 16, 2016
I learned a lot about organization and how to deal with children in an environment outside of school and sports. It was very interesting and a good learning experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro management & Nepotism
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Big IslandJuly 4, 2015
Job itself was good, however, management does not trust their crew... distrust begets distrust.

Insecurity and insular attitudes abound.
Pros
Lower stress levels in actual job
Cons
Good luck advancing
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun volunteering experience got to look at the beautiful beaches.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kailua-Kona, HISeptember 1, 2013
I enjoyed volunteering for the county of Hawaii because Ive meet alot of nice workers and also people.it was an experience that was well worth the volunteer.
Pros
ride past the beaches of Hawaii
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 29Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Fun
Student Helper (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIApril 29, 2013
Tasks that were assigned to me were challenging from time to time and yet I had managed to get it done in a timely manner.
Pros
Got to meet clients of all backgrounds
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIJanuary 9, 2013
Great benefits, great people. Set schedule (weekends off). Pleasant and professional work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad moral
custodian/groundskeeper (Current Employee) –  Hilo, HISeptember 30, 2012
No Human factor, very low moral. Workers are incouraged to spy on others and report to management
Cons
micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the office of the Governor in Kailua Kona was an incredible experience for e.
Office of the Govenor (Former Employee) –  Kailua-Kona, HISeptember 19, 2012
No typical day, always different and stimulating. Met all kinds of people and learned how to operate state id machines that produced id cards for local constituents. My supervisor was astute, and I have nothing but respect for him who is a visionary and someone very capable of getting any job done. My co worker was a wonderful person who is most qualified in many ways, one being with the computer. I truly enjoyed this job, if there were hard times, I would have to say this would only happen if we were unable to assist a constituent. Often times we stayed overtime.
The most important part of this job to me was to represent the office of the Governor in the most positive of ways, Always honest, on time, and friendly.
Pros
medical benefits, clean office space, convient location.
Cons
not full medical and dental benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 12Report

See more COUNTY OF HAWAII reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at COUNTY OF HAWAII. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 14 reviews
59
43
30
20
12

Ratings by category

4.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.5Culture