County of Los Angeles Employee Reviews

Found 545 reviews matching the search See all 546 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A position that takes in upwards of 3 years to learn the position.
Children's Social Worker II (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 11, 2018
There were many policy changes that weren't always known by direct Supervisors. Heavy caseload of 25+. No teamwork. Constant blackballing by colleagues that took no accountability. Establishment could benefit from utilizing an Occupational Psychologist.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Unreal expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project employee
Consultant/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 1, 2018
Worked on a project for the county of Los Angeles. Great experience. Flexible, reliable employer. I would recommend the county as an employer if you are looking for a public service position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience and grow proffesionally
Administration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 26, 2018
Great place to work. Have to work your way up to a pay increase. some people were supportive and very easy o come to for help. lots of pot lucks for an occasion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited
Computer Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAJuly 26, 2018
Managed staff operating mainframe computers and networks. Also during this period worked with installations of networks at various sections throughout the county of los angeles.
Pros
ability to work in other areas. Not locked into office.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job for someone to have out of high school
Parks and Recreation Leader (Former Employee) –  Alhambra, CA 91803July 25, 2018
I learned a lot about patrolling the park and talking to people. I got my first taste of professionalism and situational awareness. Great supervisors and co workers to learn from.
Pros
outdoors and something new everyday
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at home
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Hawthorne, CAJuly 23, 2018
Worked at home. freedom of scheduling challenging job. little to no Supervisor oversite. i really have nothing more to say about this job. Sorry It is a very hard job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly co-workers
Intermediate Typist Clerk (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJuly 21, 2018
It was truly a pleasure to work for the County of Los Angeles. My only personal dislike was my manager. Unfortunately, there were too many times where I need her approval or assistance with an assignment causing my work to be delayed and untimely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assertive management
Intermediate Clerk (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJuly 14, 2018
Plenty of hours to go around for over time for nursing and support staff. Management could be more compassionate and less policy and procedure. Patients have more rights then employees.
Pros
Plenty of hours
Cons
Drama like all hospitals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very encouraging environment, hands on and great employees to work with.
ASSISTANT TO PROBATION OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CAJuly 9, 2018
This place was a very encouraging and fun place to work at. It was as well a hands on environment. I got to learn from many different woman and people from all kinds of backgrounds. I got to learn from different types of cultural backgrounds as well. Time consuming in a great way and I am overall glad I experienced volunteer work at this place. My experience their has allowed me to take a step towards life with the knowledge I have gained being able to apply to certain jobs that look for the experience I have.
Pros
Free lunch, got to help out the cooks, chefs, and probation officers
Cons
Short breaks, recieved great health
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good retirement package
Treatment Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAJuly 9, 2018
The retirement package causes one to loose some coverage that is included when working as an employee. The job itself requires state certification by taking and passing your Grade 1 to Grade 5 State certification. You have three years to pass the Grade 1 certification.
Pros
It is a great career choice.
Cons
It is not for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place with great benefits
Grounds Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAJuly 7, 2018
Los Angeles County gives some of the best benefits around the work environment is decent. management is not so great there, and it is also very difficult to advance.
Pros
benefits
Cons
slow to no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 5, 2018
I really enjoyed being part of Metro. I liked the benefits they offer and the multicultural environment. I highly recommend to apply for a job and be part of Metro.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you like to help people.
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAJune 28, 2018
The environment was comfortable and the fact that I was being of service to people made the position enjoyable. I would recommend this type of job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Health Information Associate (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJune 27, 2018
Great health and retirement benefits. Will have slot of opportunities to promote up to a higher position. Have many helpful employees and managers. Alot of resources and training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
Student Professional Worker/ Inspector (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 27, 2018
My job was driving in LA county checking traffic signals and provide information. I was a part time student worker. Most of the time, i was a student at the California State University, Los Angeles.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work place.
Student Professional Worker I (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAJune 25, 2018
It is very relaxed and the benefits are amazing. It is a good, secure job that will be here even If there is a recession. Everybody seems nice and if there is a problem, Supervisors will resolve it quickly.
Pros
Health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Nursing Attendant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 20, 2018
Fast paced, a lot of overtime, diverse staff
Great managers, emergency room is always something different coming in. You get great experience there.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
No Advancement for NAs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Position
Eligibility Worker (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CAJune 18, 2018
Unfortunately, current management at my office is not efficient. Lack of efficient management is creating a very stressful work environment. Assisting families in need is satisfying but the fact that there is too much pressure from administration makes my job position feel like we are really underpaid.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Bad Administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Career Development Intern (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 14, 2018
The county is a great place to work. They provided excellent benefits with little to no pay out of pocket depending on your circumstances. Great company to look into for a career they always have advancements
Pros
Hour lunch breaks
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice
Visitation Monitor (Former Employee) –  Alhambra, CAJune 12, 2018
Just supervised visitations, it was no biggie really. Every family is different but the family that I was assigned to were friendly and flexible. Made for a decent work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at County of Los Angeles. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 546 reviews
5264
4164
388
219
111

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Women's ratings

2.7Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

33%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss