County of San Luis Obispo Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for the poles is rewarding
VOTING POLE WORKER (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo County, CANovember 14, 2018
I have been working for the poles for several years. The day of the election the full day is about 15 hours. Usually there are several down times that allow for other things to be done such as reading.
Pros
Fun people to work with
Cons
long day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Law Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAOctober 16, 2018
Personal bias runs rampant, and morale is extremely low. Low-pay for the stressful nature of the job, and the sub-culture is cut-throat. Bypass this one if you want job security, respect, and competitive pay/benefits.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover
CA (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJuly 25, 2018
Poor communication by upper management
Very few opportunities to promote
Little to no support for working parents
Salary is below market
Low employee morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Intern Experience
Energy Section Intern (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJanuary 7, 2018
I had a very fulfilling time as an Intern in the Energy Section. My supervisor and colleagues were genuine, caring, hard-working, and knowledgeable. I'm not sure if it was just the public sector environment, but there was a general sense of congeniality and well-being in the work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Staff and judges
Official Court Reporter (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAOctober 8, 2017
I enjoyed working with the staff and judges that I had known for many years. People were team players and very productive. Everyone pitched in when work needed to get pushed thourgh. Juddges were considerate of their reporters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Competent Direct Supervision
Mental Health Worker Aide (Former Employee) –  PHF in San Luis Obispo, CAJune 23, 2017
A typical day begins and ends with a staff brief/debrief with plans for patient care and treatment.
I learned what good practice and leadership is meant to be. Mid management is politically and incestriously tied to other management types. Immediate supervision focusses on best practices and good procedure with high levels of care.
Hardest part of the job is not always seeing tangible results for efforts.
The best part of the job is the team and once in a while seeing great tangible results from team efforts.
Pros
Good and wise experienced sii-cynical good humored staff.
Cons
Some lazy staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People, but be ready to work in government
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMay 9, 2017
The people in the County are very nice and friendly, but be prepared to deal with a lot of politics and bureaucracy if you actually want to get things done and move forward.
Pros
Good work/life balance
Cons
Very slow paced and bureaucratic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace - beware of benifits
Departmental Automation Specialist III (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo County, CAMay 8, 2017
A good place to work, it is easy to maintain a family life and work schedule, but the MANDATORY healthcare is expensive, the amount of money put towards Medical is only enough for one person. Once you add another person it start to gets expensive, not to mention insuring a family.
Pros
Work enviroment
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMay 3, 2017
i was taught a lot of positions while I was employed there. It was in the probation department so there never was a dull moment. I would go back if ever offered.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Require you to be bilingual now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible experience
Secretary II (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMay 3, 2017
I was the secretary to the Director of Child Support. She has several complaints from the previous County she came from and she was the worst boss I have ever had.
Pros
Worked where I lived
Cons
The Director
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great county to work for.
Water Systems Worker Trainee (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAApril 29, 2017
Work is flexible and management supports the development of their employees. One of the best perks of the job is that it is conveniently located in beautiful central California.
Pros
Flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County of San Luis Obispo Child Support Services
Accounting Clerk and Translator (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMarch 18, 2015
Good people trying to help parents get child support to children. Good work environment, and restored faith humanity. Wonderful city.
Pros
flexible and understanding staff, nice facilities, near-to the downtown, good pay
Cons
sometimes have to be the bearer of bad news
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and stable
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAFebruary 10, 2015
Some career pathways exist while others are dead ends. Depending on your leader, you will either know or be clueless as to which path you are on. Benefits are not nearly as good as you might expect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Traffic Office
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAOctober 6, 2014
Diverse and positive working environment is perfect for high energy individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people!
Workforce Education Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMay 23, 2013
I loved this job and loved the people I worked with everyday.
Pros
Helping those who really needed the help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love SLO County
Employment Resource Specialist III/Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Grand Ave, Arroyo Grande, CAFebruary 23, 2013
It is a great County to work for, they pay well and listen to what their employees have to say. I worked with them for over 14 years and would recommend them to anyone.
Pros
good pay
Cons
expensive benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 13Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at County of San Luis Obispo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17 reviews
55
45
34
22
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture

County of San Luis Obispo Reviews by Location