Cowan Systems, LLC Employee Reviews

Found 149 reviews matching the search See all 152 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cowan
Yard Jockey (Former Employee) –  Bordentown, NJJuly 5, 2019
Over equipped electronics on trucks for companies safety
Which protects themselves from driver error. Big brother watching you from onboard cameras and uploaded computer data.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company held back by bad dispatch
Line Haul Driver (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 1, 2019
Cowan pays on the lower level of Line Haul Drivers doing the Mid-Atlantic region. They just approved a "bump" in pay for drivers in 2018 but they still don't meet the national average.
Pros
company paid fuel, maintenance, etc.
Cons
low end of pay scale, dispatch is hit or miss, extremely long wait at certain regular stops
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expensive benefits
Local Driver (Current Employee) –  VirginiaJune 27, 2019
Pay doesn't add up for the amount of hours that you work. benefits are extremely pricey, if you have a family that you care about this isn't a place for you
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Health care pay forced dispatch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication Horrible
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 19, 2019
It's was another alright place in Bmore . Truck was bad. They didn't care about drivers safety or communication. Cincy terminal is HORRIBLE! They do not care about their drivers, just the load.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always looking ahead
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNMay 13, 2019
this company is competitive in the markets they deal in and has a good customer base but sometimes they slip and let things get away from them. They paid real well and try to take care of their drivers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your career
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Westfield, MAMay 1, 2019
Training is good

New trucks

Most of the loads is no touch freight sometimes your load is not ready you could wait 3 to 4 hours to get your load and they make up for that wait
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight forward info but cant back up with miles
Lease Operator (Former Employee) –  Apopka, FLApril 17, 2019
Very clear cut and straight forward just cant back it up with the miles and pay I was a lease operator and only way I could make it was to get 3000 miles a week to pay Bill's and pay the weekly lease payment of 712.00 plus
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Not enough pay for a lease owner operator
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 10, 2019
Management is helpful. I like trucking and I liked trucking for Cowan. Maintenance department is Lax. There is NO room for advancement and for these comments is why I seek other employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Sandston, VAMarch 29, 2019
Didn't like the routes to upper Virginia late hours getting back to northern Virginia traffic getting home coca cola customers had attitudes some delivers made you wait longer then you had to to make deliveries
Pros
Hated the job
Cons
Hated the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good home time bad pay no OT
Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 25, 2019
The work is pretty easy mostly drop and hook.
NO GPS
They send you on routes they want you to take even if they suck
They pay hourly but they dont pay OT even if you get 60 hours a week
Insurance is really expensive and not worth it.
Talked to a guy thats been there 8 years and only makes 1300 a week
Pros
Daily home time
Cons
Long hours, low pay, no OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient workplace
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halethorpe, MDMarch 18, 2019
I work for the payroll department at Cowan Systems. The department works really well together as a team and has never been late with payroll. Overall a very productive workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to work for a company at will
Line haul Driver, Regional, and Yard Jockey (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMarch 14, 2019
Company was very good to drivers that they had if you where like us from Harris you got the boot as soon as you did something wrong and the company would in act there moto.

YOU DONT FIT THE COMPANY STANDARDS
In the hand book there is no company standards listed.

EMPLOYEED AT WILL ???????
What type of a company dose that unless there just looking to turn driver.
Pros
Benefits only
Cons
Dont go there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to wortk
Fleet -Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, NJFebruary 20, 2019
everything else is just bad, Need help people to move up and stop only picking people who are favorites.. The management is not capable of training or helping you get to the next level
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expected more
Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Westfield, MAFebruary 13, 2019
The company has a lot to offer. I think that each location is ran a bit different. The cooperate office need to do more to assure that each location is following cooperate standards. "We are a HR nightmare" is a said one a week and profanity in the office is acceptable in a multimillion dollar operation, the culture must change. The management staff seem to not want to mess with what was there before taking over the operations. The pay was good but there is no work life balance. There seem to be a revolving door in the location the I worked because the schedule seem to change week to week. "It all about the service" is a great mission statement I expected more.
Pros
Great pay.
Cons
No work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tell you anything to keep you with the company.
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 12, 2019
I was told that I’ll get $1,000-1,200 a week with the option of two days off and a sign on bonus of $5,000 dollars that’s paid out over 8 months. I am out of the Jacksonville Florida BJ’s yard so I was started off with 41cent a mile.They Promise 2500-3000 miles a week. I have never gotten over 3000 miles and I been on the road 7 days. My take home is between 1,000-1,100 dollars a week. I run from Florida too Georgia,south Carolina,North Carolina and Virginia. Then when I ask for two days off the say I am the reason I not making money is because I took days off after been out for 7 days. Don’t waste your time the pay suck. Every week a Driver quits they stay looking for new Drivers so they can feed lies and waste 8 months at this dead end paying job.The have Favorite who get assigned stores and get over 2500 miles by there 5 day. Stay away from this company.
Pros
They get you home too your appointments.
Cons
The pay sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours were great
Fleet Manger (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, MD 21001January 28, 2019
I loved my hours I loved the job I did and some of the people I worked with. But the people I had issues with no one would do anything about. I was promised advancement and after 3 yrs never got any thing I was promised but was expected to keep training others to fill the positions I was promised.
Pros
Hours
Cons
liers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, MAJanuary 28, 2019
They have the worst management of any company. They dont care if you are sick or have family issues. They play favorites and dont treat the drivers fairly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees amd equipment
Local Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Baltimore County, MDJanuary 10, 2019
I was real happy being a Cowan driver and liked the other drivers.We all worked together as a team and thats the way it should be.
All companies can learn. From them. To me they ate a prettu honest company to a point.
Pros
Nice equipment
Cons
Some dispatchers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations/Dispatch
Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Halethorpe, MDJanuary 6, 2019
Busy day, 10 hours per day (standard per industry). Very collaborative culture, but held accountable for your responsibilities. Overall would recommend.
Pros
Room for advancement and Job Security
Cons
Short Breaks, Average Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the best freight company you could work for.
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Burlington, NJJanuary 5, 2019
Cowan really appreciates good employees. If you are a good, hard and reliable worker you will be appreciated and rewarded at Cowan. I wish they operated in the area I now live I would go back to work for them in a heartbeat.
Pros
Everything
Cons
They don't have a terminal where I now live.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cowan Systems, LLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 152 reviews
529
425
334
229
135

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight