CPI Security Systems Employee Reviews

Showing all 94 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t care about your personal life
Sandy Porter Rd (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NC 28273October 5, 2019
You work for a yes man manager that will hire anyone. You have collected money collect contracts put a system in according to CPI standards that are ridiculous. Too much work not enough pay. They have an accounting and billing department why do installers have to collect money the also have sales reps why do we collect contracts. The make you drive into the off for stupid meetings all while not getting paid. You don’t get paid unless you install. Hate the operations side of this company completely.
Pros
Work vehicle
Cons
Piece pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my kind of place
Customer Experience Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 25, 2019
It’s like being back in high school lots of gossip the mangers don’t say anything to the ones who do it they have there favorites they need to learn to take care of the good employees they have instead of pushing them away
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Service Technician/Installer (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCAugust 26, 2019
fun place to work well will recoment to any one i feels treat you like family cooworkers execelent great place to work fun plsce alots of bonus and treats
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working there.
Alarm Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCAugust 24, 2019
If you do the right thing, the job is a breeze. There is a significant presence about the people that work there. The management generally and genuinely cares about the employees. They offer good benefits, and although it can be a challenging job with certain customers, it's usually straight forward. They provide a company vehicle, parts, and many other necessities. You just buy you own hand tools.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Residential Installation Technician (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 14, 2019
Great company to work for. Awesome benefits. Only downfall is the pay for the amount of hours you work. But overall awesome company to work for and be part of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying Work
Central Station Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 2, 2019
CPI is a great company. Consistent leadership. They do what’s best for the customer. Their product is great. Brand message and goals are made clear to all. Hard work is rewarded - I attended 3 PLC trips and was happy to be spoiled each time! They invested in their employees futures by providing opportunities for advancement.
The compensation and yearly review process was at times unfair and painstaking.
Pros
The perks are the BEST! Colleagues are entertaining. New building.
Cons
The gossip was overwhelming and existed on all levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Electronic Security Service Technican (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaJune 16, 2019
None I can say at this time they have been ok they are very focused on job completion and up sell to the customer. Trips, extra benefits that are non
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside sales rep
Security Consultant (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCJune 15, 2019
Overall I enjoyed the three months I was there, I made a lot of money, had to work 6 days a week to do it but well worth it, I left for career reasons nothing was wrong with the company
Pros
The pay
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibility and Self Growth is a requirement
New Construction Security Consultant (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 10, 2019
Great Company that tries to demonstrate they value employees. Commission structure is strong w/ a lot of flexibility in structuring your workday. Technology that is sold constantly changes and management is great but they're so busy there is a lack of training on the technology so most of the learning about the changes takes place on your own. With smart home technology and the differences in compatibility there is a huge need for technical training or the systems won't work to the customer's expectations There are opportunities for advancement but only if you're willing to relocate.
Pros
Flexibility, feel valued, good commission structure
Cons
Lack of training on rapidly changing technology, mgt not available to spend time training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Poor management
Residential Installation Technician (Former Employee) –  SC, GA, NCMay 21, 2019
I loved this company. However, the management is not the best. Some managers are good and other lack the ability to handle the responsibilities of the position. There are managers who don't know how to perform the tasks being asked of the people they manage. This means that, these managers are unable to assist in picking up any slack or overly booked appointments.
Pros
Ability to work with great Security systems. Company culture.
Cons
Excessive driving depending on your assignments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
CPI Security (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCMay 12, 2019
Commission based. Sometimes don’t get paid No leads all self generated there is no advancement at all in this company. You work for them and they get paid not you
Pros
Commission as much as you want
Cons
Commission low paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former inside sales employee
Account Manager/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 2, 2019
Management did not know what they were doing. Phone calls were unfairly optimized and given to sales reps that were with the company longer. Would go over half the day with 1 calls and some days had no calls. When a call did come through it was a low chance it was even sellable and even then management wanted to talk about why the call didn’t sell. It is definitely a little behind in times there but seems like it maybe taking the steps to progress. I couldn’t wait for this to happen though since I have bills. Unfortunately the most I received in a months commission was $140.00.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No chance to make sales, poor management, over staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is the absolute worse
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 15, 2019
I had a horrible experience working there. Managers are the laziest bunch I have ever seen in my life and don’t help you when you need assistance. It’s ridiculous.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low call volume, horrible management for sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Residential/Commercial Security Installer (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCDecember 12, 2018
No career advancement really and its commission based so you're paid by what you install or service. its not an hourly job, very fast pace, good management. No overtime!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Employee (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 11, 2018
Very stable and great people to work with. Company is growing and changes are always happening for the better. Very involved in the community and always looks at ways to make it better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work. RUN
Worker (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 28, 2018
CPI is like a cult. They tell you all these great things in orientation BUT once you get on that floor you’ll see what it really is. The management is very POOR. They are very cliquish in there. If you’re not down with clique then they don’t like you. My supervisor was so dumb. They play these games in there like if you do something they don’t like you’re in trouble you have to sit by yourself. Very childish. Nothing is confidential. It’s ridiculous. All I can say is if you have other options then DON’T COME TO CPI!!!! You will never have a weekend off unless your in customer care. They refuse to do the schedule so at least once a month everyone can enjoy a weekend. They want you to do a million jobs for $13.00. ALWAYS SHORT OF STAFF
Pros
Sometimes free food
Cons
Short breaks, Pay, hours EVERYTHING
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inside sales
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 19, 2018
Awful, stressful, worst place I have ever worked I worked here for years and the management does not care about employees.

Maybe if they cared as much about their customers as they do their employees as you can tell in all these reviews it would be a better turn over and overall better work environment.
Pros
The people who you work with that been here for 10 years plus.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Representive - Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 10, 2018
I was in outside sales. I traveled everyday for my job to prospective clients to purchase a system. I would do presentation of systems in home with live two voice setup.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced competitive company
Security Specialist (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 7, 2018
Low pay but great benefits small company does show concern for employees family type atmosphere .
Management works with employees for emergencies and familiy hardships. Like deaths and doctor appointments
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at days but stressful on most days
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 15, 2018
That place is like working for a slave master at times . Bonuses are good but if you do not meet your sales criteria they come at you really hard. You have to have a backbone to survive at that place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CPI Security Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 94 reviews
524
432
316
214
18

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight