Cree Inc Employee Reviews

Found 340 reviews matching the search See all 347 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJanuary 15, 2019
Don't work here. This company is terrible--has terrible work-life balance (you can barely use your vacation days). They also have very dubious ethical practices. Don't work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Stability
Product Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCDecember 28, 2018
been here 10 plus years, company functions are great, Lots of positive changes since the new CEO took over giving the employees a more uplifting outlook that we matter.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Tech (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCDecember 27, 2018
management does not listen to workers, they will work you to the bone and throw you away like bad leftovers. they only care about production yield. "Cree is We" is the motto but its a joke and everyone knows it. Shareholder value is all they care about. never work here unless you like double mandatory overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse place ever
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Racine, WIDecember 5, 2018
worked there for 1 year, went on vacation, when I came back I was laid off. no reason, just pulled aside and told I was no longer needed. this place is a joke
Pros
none
Cons
management was horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Racine, WINovember 30, 2018
I came in and learned how to use all these different types of tools, and different types of machines, and learning how to buils all kind of different types of lights for all over the world. i love cree
Pros
Free lunches once a week
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture change is underway, but still very negative for now
Maintenance and Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCNovember 30, 2018
Cree is undergoing change, but your experience is likely to vary wildly based on your department and whether you are hourly or salary. Expect to start on nights and depending on your position, a day shift position may not arise for quite a while. Engineers frequently work far after their scheduled hours. Technicians, especially maintenance, are understaffed and expected to carry the additional weight.
Pros
Decent pay, gym is great
Cons
Very negative work environment, few opportunities for those that want to advance out of hourly roles
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused and fast paced
Manufacturing Supervisor/Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCNovember 14, 2018
Typically, a regimented shift. Opportunities to perform different types of job tasks during work rotations. Work culture on the part of some of the employees was laid back. The most difficult part of the job was diagnosing/troubleshooting process issues for resolution.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Some lack of consistency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest managment
RF Design Application Engineer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCNovember 12, 2018
Manager fake employee review after giving inconsistent instruction. If anything goes wrong, they will find someone to blame even though you achieved your goal while others don't achieve their goal or make mistake.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Dishonest management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average company to work
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCNovember 2, 2018
routine
supply chain
not much of autonomy, no set process and everything is conducted on the fly.
Hardest part of the job is try to do a job and not really provide any process for doing it. It is like learning by making mistakes.
Pros
none
Cons
no process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing and Peaceful
Operator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 18, 2018
Work was peaceful unless managers came with false information.
Process of a Fab workplace was new and refreshing.
People at the workplace was positive.
Hardest part is staying up for 12 hours but it is an enjoyment to have 3 days off on every other weekend.
Pros
1.25hr breaks
Cons
12 Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cree
Equipment Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 15, 2018
loved my job hated to leave. Had a good manager that looked out for me and my family. People there were always helpful and understanding. There always someone ther to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dealing with metal and iron creating street light.
Metal Handler (Former Employee) –  Sturtevant, WIOctober 12, 2018
i got paid 13.00 and alot of overtime was offered.making beautiful street lights.working together on a asembly line, the benifits was a A+.paid-time lunches
Pros
paid over 13 dollars
Cons
was only a temporary job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean Room Experience
Wafer FAB Operator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 11, 2018
Worked in the manufacturing floor, wearing a fully covered gown to protect product from contamination. Rotational basis workday, blue and red teams, 12 hour day/night shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very environmental- and health-concious company
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 9, 2018
Great place to work in the growing technology field. Opportunities for advancement as long as you have a degree. Onsite café and gym for the convenience of employees.
Pros
On site cafe and gym
Cons
Frequent lay-offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with excellent mangment.
Manufacturing Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, NCSeptember 21, 2018
I loved the job, it as hard on me because i lived two hours away and was not able to relocate at the time. Amazing place pool, cafe, gym, family days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a laid back place that values their employees
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Sturtevant, WISeptember 17, 2018
Cree is all about the point system. Simply follow the guidelines with in the system and there should be no problems to come. Cree was one of my favorite jobs. You meet a lot of different people. there are various assembly lines with different kind of light fixtures.
Pros
they care about their employees
Cons
Once you hit the negitives in the point system its wrap.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Racine, WISeptember 14, 2018
No room to grow. You never knew if you would have a full paycheck due to inconsistent working hours. They had slow periods of the year, which would be hard to find work. Management was overall good. Benefits were nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Sander (Former Employee) –  Sturtevant, WISeptember 12, 2018
Cant complain liked what I did paycheck was always nice and who I worked with really made a difference supervisors were also a reason I stayed around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Distance
Semiconductor/ Processing Technician (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 10, 2018
Its an alright job but the driving distance from home to the work place is too long for me. I still continue the drive because it is a nice hourly wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cree needs to stop changing leaders.
Operations (Current Employee) –  Racine, WISeptember 8, 2018
Cree has a long way to go before it will be a work place that everyone will want to work for. Leadership changeover also needs to stop as we continue to get new leadership that must learn their position and company, as well as understand and analyze how production runs before changing processes. We continue to go two steps backwards and one step forward.
Pros
Increased pay for the assemblers has helped those employees.
Cons
Company puts their employees third in line behind stockholders and customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cree Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 347 reviews
579
491
397
253
127

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

1.7InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

1.5Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight