Crowder Constructors Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 80 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I expected more
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJune 26, 2019
No job interview, just a call from HR asking if I'm still interested in the job. No field test for the manager to access my skill level before they consider hiring me. On day one, he just assumed that I would be good enough for the job after fresh out of trade school. Waste of time, very embarrassing, not very professional. The hiring process was very confusing and unorganised.
If you're new to the industry, I WOULD NOT apply here. Go look somewhere else.
Pros
Pay is decent
Cons
Poor management, now sure what manager want in an employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJune 4, 2019
Crowder const is a great company to work for, very family orientated and you can advance on your own merit. Work schedule is very well balanced and planned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company wouldn’t recommend
Pipe Layer/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAMay 23, 2019
Got fired for “insubordination” for taking my lunch break after 6 hours of continuos work, not only that but I was refused perdiem by the superintendent after I met the requirements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working
Iron Worker/rigger (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMay 18, 2019
Good culture ....good company to work with..safety is number one priority...good people..over time is reasonable...crowder will keep you working all the time
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NC 28216May 17, 2019
Great Leadership in most cases. At times leadership can Challenge integrity of good faithful employees and rubbed them the wrong way , when all they have to do is communicate.
Pros
They give everyone opportunity to grow with company
Cons
Lunch breaks too quick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Concrete Finisher (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VAApril 19, 2019
Steady work , great work place
The important of working safely
Management was outstanding
Clean work place, co workers was friendly
laid off
Completing the job
Pros
Helping the community
Cons
Not able to stay longer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work
PIPEFITTER JOURNEYMAN (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NC 28216April 11, 2019
Great work but only average pay, small company but keeps you steady and located on east coast. Did not pressure you but wanted you busy, as it should be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Solar Installer (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCApril 2, 2019
Real safe and a great place to work they get the job done i got my forklift licence with Crowder the pay was excellent I learned how to do a solar plant and I learned a lot working with Crowder I would recommend this job to anyone and I would love to work for this company again
Pros
Learned a lot
Cons
Work hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be good but not the best at what you do.
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VAMarch 29, 2019
Obviously I cannot speak for all trades but electrical, that I can. If your the best electrician on the job, your going to keep being an electrician while a lesser will become promoted. Same as being a foreman, if your the best, your going to keep being the foreman while they search for other superintendents. As far as a raise it’s not happening, better get your money before you get hired because what you get is where your staying at unless you luck up an end up on a prevailing wage job. Bonus LOL, if you consider $200-$300 a year as foreman while superintendents get $10,000 or more. Superintendents get all the recognition of the success of the project with everyone else getting an at a boy pep talk. But besides these shortcomings it’s a good, safe, and productive place to work and learn. The company takes huge steps to making sure you have all the tools and saftey equipment you need to do your job the right way. If your good at your job you may have a job for life. Might have to travel some between projects is all but most projects are a year or more minimum.
Pros
They spend money on tools & saftey to do your job correctly!
Cons
Get your money when you’re hired and superintendents worry bout them and pleasing their boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Mechanical Electrician (Current Employee) –  Sherrills Ford, NCMarch 27, 2019
Great place to work at I would recommend highly for anyone who needed a job. Great co workers and supervisors are great. Pay isn’t that good but it can get better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demoralizing and depressing
Heavy equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Cooleemee, NCFebruary 24, 2019
typical day at work was enjoyable but the management was poor the office was weak, they would rather keep people that dont benefit them rather than someone who gave all to the project to help get it done, foremans for the project was not properly trained for assigned task,alot of favorites and he say she say kinda like a drama show. most enjoyable part of the job was going home everyday. hardest part of the job was having to deal with poor decisions from management and lack of honesty. the drug screens were ridiculous, i passed every single one everytime they were to have one i was first on the list. it wasnt a problem to take them it was just the qauntity of them ihad to stop my task and production to go up to the office and waste a hour peeing in a cup that i had just peed in 6 days priar. also another thing management likes to do is to report to people that dont even work for crowder construction and give them a (bad report) thats not called reporting thats called slander and defication of character. i trained my replacement for the duration of the project and gave a notice and worked the notice. i knew from the inside that i was going to be laid off after project was done so i found permanent job that would take care of my family instead job hunting after 90 days.
Pros
pay
Cons
harrassing drug screens (once a week), no days off, very short lunch for 12 to 14 hour days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Welder (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 21, 2019
Like alot of other companies the people who they want to advance in the company do the hard workers are over looked and treated badly .on weekends no management is in the work area they take off while every one else is made to work
Pros
Pay benefits
Cons
Hours management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would highly recomend
Electrical Technician (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCFebruary 19, 2019
Great company and people to work with. Great work environment. Laid back supervisors as long as your doing your work in a timely manner. Days off if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and Great Pay, Never know if today is your last
System Operator, Crowder Industrial Construction (Former Employee) –  Belews Creek, NCJanuary 6, 2019
Great Job, and Great Pay. The only downside that as a contractor, every day you wake up and go to work may be your last, and if you get the opportunity to keep a job, it likely requires relocation. If you're good with that, and a good worker, this is a good fit!
Pros
Pay
Cons
Layoffs and Relocation - no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCDecember 12, 2018
Crowder is a great place to work. They have a Lotta work with Duke power. They were very lenient. The management treated me really really well. The people I work with were great. I learned a lot while there.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Is a construction job, that means you have to work every day and the job is going in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work for
Electrician/Underground Work (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCOctober 29, 2018
Crowder Constructor is a great company to work for. They will set you up into a job very fast after the testing and safety training you must attend. This is very important.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive place where you can learn a lot in advance quickly
Heavy Equipment Operator/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLSeptember 30, 2018
a Greek workplace would advise anyone in the Tallahassee area to go and apply for any position that is open at Crowder love the jackness fear love the benefits
Pros
Long hours and good pay
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pitiful,pitiful,pitiful etc.
welder/ Grunt Labor (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, NCSeptember 3, 2018
They stress safety but dont mean it.A big bunch of Mason buddies that are there to exalt theirselves.Talk to the craft like they are stupid,Constantly threatening how they will fire you.Their wages get them people but they cant keep them cause they dont know how to treat them. They are one sorry bunch!
Pros
none
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace but always slow.
Helper (Current Employee) –  Eastland, TXAugust 30, 2018
Days at work normally consist of digging up leaks on gas pipelines or working on equipment at the shop. Alright work environment but just need to work more hrs
Pros
Worked daily
Cons
Not enough hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCAugust 4, 2018
Made a bad decision to quit them. Would work for them again if given the opertunity. Management team is superior and helpful. Provide anything you need to complete the job and do it safely
Pros
Great company and management
Cons
Frowned appon if spoke your mind
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Crowder Constructors Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 80 reviews
532
421
317
25
15

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture