Culinary Institute of America Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 50 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding place to work
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 27, 2018
Assisted chef instructors in the day to day operations of thier classes and in the restaurant help instruct or lead portions of the class Although my time was short with the cia i loved every minute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
instructor's role
Professor/ Associate Dean (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYOctober 17, 2018
there were many opportunities for professional development, travel, excellent dining

enjoyable to learn and instruct

very fulfilling role

able to meet culinary experts, media stars, etc..
Pros
majestic Hudson River location enjoyable role
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place
Associate Professor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 22, 2018
Cia tolerated poor performance and rewards those who do a poor job w students

Many faculty should be terminated for a variety of HR abuses

Felt horrible for students but not to do for them

Bad behavior by chefs tolerated for many years
Pros
Good food
Cons
High pressure low standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grumpy top management
Server (Former Employee) –  Napa, CAJuly 24, 2018
Crazy not in a good way employees that are always late, a lot of moving equiptment by the service staff, low pay, the floor managers are nice but not very instructive, the chefs are great, but there is no communication of what's going on in the building way to many missed oppurtunities to bring people in and the the execs are just not pleasant to the regular staff if like you don't exisist
Pros
was close to home
Cons
low, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culinary School
Group leader (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYJuly 6, 2018
Great place to go to culinary school, with many opportunities to learn from the best. This includes both in and out of the classroom kitchens. It is a good pace at which to learn the information; not too fast that you do not get to experience it, but still not too long that you forget other areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gotta love the job
Projects Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Napa, CAJuly 2, 2018
This non for profit company has so much going for it, but it has some hurdles to get over first. No training and pretty bad compensation for the work makes it difficult to justify staying on board when the rent and cost of life in Napa are so high.
Pros
Amazing Co workers
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint Helena, CAMay 17, 2018
Great place to learn and experiment. Low stress. Great place to work while a student. Lots of new and great equipment. Time to learn and train in a professional kitchen environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMarch 6, 2018
Love the students, also love that the job is fast paste. Enjoyed working with everyone, and making the company happy, by following all of the requirements, and not having a problem helping others when I completed my task.
Pros
The environment
Cons
The instructors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job and co-workers
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYFebruary 21, 2018
I enjoyed my job and ,my co workers, but that's about where it ends. Management was not clear and changed their direction often. They were not transparent and therefore not trusted. Plenty of people were loyal to the CIA and gave over 100%. Unfortunately people matter little to this organization anymore. The focus is money and not much else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and go to school
Executive Chef In Training (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 11, 2017
While attending the CIA I had a great experience. The staff is very knowledgeable and i learned a great deal. Would highly reccomend attending this school.
Pros
Too many to list
Cons
Long hours some times and very competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus.
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYNovember 17, 2017
Mass layoffs and severe mismanagement have really tarnished the once great institute. The students deserve better. Facilities workers showed pride in their work. The campus was beautiful year round.
Cons
Incompetent, overpaid management. Many jobs being eliminated or outsourced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CIA is not a career move unless you are a chef instructor
American Bounty Temp (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYNovember 14, 2017
The school pumps out cooks and also produces their own employees essentially. You are easily lost in the crowd. You will find great mentors but the restaurant management seems money hungry
Pros
It’s the culinary institute of america
Cons
It’s the culinary institute of American
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 7, 2017
Working here was fun, I enjoyed myself. The coworkers and customers were great, management was alright. Pay and hours were great though! One thing for the other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and Underpaid
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYOctober 30, 2017
Not worth the things you have to go through, while paying living expenses and student loans. Very little leadership from higher ups, but direct collegues are great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Campus Specialist (Current Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYOctober 5, 2017
My typical day was setting up and breaking down for events. Moved office furniture and kitchen equipment when needed. Assisted grounds department in the winter- shoveling and plowing snow.
Most enjoyable of the job was the many people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard student working environment
Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYOctober 1, 2017
The CIA was a convenient and pleasant place to work as a student on campus. As a student employee, I felt like I was a valued member of each of the departments I worked in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn a lot.
Expediter (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, New YorkSeptember 23, 2017
The typical day involved many hours standing on your feet and racing to keep up with what needed to be accomplished. However throughout each day you would learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Culinary Arts Student (Former Employee) –  Scotch Plains, NJAugust 11, 2017
When i started working for this school. I was so scared. But I really enjoyed myself at this school. I hope on day I can find a better job doing this.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Shorts breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked through a staffing agency...
Server/Runner (Former Employee) –  Napa Valley, CAAugust 3, 2017
I worked for CIA through a staffing agency and my overall experience was great. money was good, work was consistent and the server captains at the time were respectable and managed well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasure
Spanish Professor (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, NYJuly 12, 2017
Working with young adults can be pretty challenging, but my experience from teaching has been a rewarding experience and at the end of the day, I feel that i have made a positive difference in their lives by teaching them about another language and other cultures in other parts of the world.
Pros
The feeling of accomplishment from helping a student with his/her academic needs and also the food.
Cons
no real issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Culinary Institute of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 50 reviews
515
414
311
28
12

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Culinary Institute of America Reviews by Location