Cummins Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
ORDER PULLER AND RECEVING (Former Employee) –  Richwood, KYDecember 12, 2018
I really liked working at cummins even know the pay was a little low but I would not mind going back to work for them again cummins has good management
Pros
Good place to work and goo benefits
Cons
Pay is low compared to other similar companys
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sr. Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 11, 2018
Great company. Would enjoy returning to Cummins if the right opportunity presented itself. Would have never left if circumstances had been different at the RLCC in Memphis, Tn.
Pros
Passionate employees about the company.
Cons
No matter what an employee does, they are not dealt with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Trade Compliance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 10, 2018
This is a great company to work for great benefits, working remote, salary and very diverse atmosphere. They have training classes and six sigma programs for people who desire to expand their knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to do
Accountant 2 (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 10, 2018
I worked there for a month and they were not organized & didn't have much for me to do. I played Suduko every day. I felt like I was wasting my time & that is why I left.
Pros
Nice work get togethers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 10, 2018
At my job at Cummins I always had to stay busy it was a very quick paced n sometimes stressful job but I am used to quick paced jobs but overall compensation wise it was good
Pros
Long break time
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cummins
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PADecember 9, 2018
Work environment was great among co workers, management could of been better. Favoritism was a problem with management which led me to eventually leave. I was there for four years and was denied four promotions.
Pros
overtime, pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location with opportunities
Director of Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Whitakers, NCDecember 9, 2018
Walking trails, fitness center continuous training opportunities,, detail meetings on the conditions of the department, I learned how to be involved in the community, enjoyed working with the managers they supported HR, very diversified, controlling manpower levels, working with people.
Pros
Keeping moral levels high
Cons
Turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ladson, SCDecember 6, 2018
They have a high turnover rate do to poor management and lack of compassion for their employees. You never know how long you're going to have to stay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so bad
Parts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 6, 2018
Company always had plenty of work, almost always worked more than forty hours. Union Job. Co-workers were great, management not so much. Have worked other places where workers not treated as fair as this company.
Pros
Structed work hours
Cons
Benefits could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pay with zero security
Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  IndianaDecember 5, 2018
Cummins is a great place to work if high pay is your goal, however, don't plan on retiring from there. It is rare of anyone to last more than 10 years there before being RIF'd or fired.
Management rules employees by the fear of being fired. Indiana is at At Will Employment state and Cummins actively uses this policy. One of their favorite tactics is to fire people a year or two before retirement.
Pros
High pay
Cons
Zero job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was better in the old days
CNC Operator & Machine repairman (Former Employee) –  Columbus, INDecember 4, 2018
The people you work with is what makes a job great or bad. We had a great team and had great time. The overtime was plenty and bills got paid. I miss my old friends and all the great benefits.
Pros
Big money. And great benefits
Cons
Never saw family or home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company Great people Diversified environment
Fluid metrology engineer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, INDecember 1, 2018
It is a good experience overall while working in columbus indiana site. There is a good orientation for the first week. There is usually team building activities. Manager usually respects your way of work and gives some guidance for work.
Pros
Professional work environment
Cons
Performance review
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Over the counter parts sales (Former Employee) –  Colton, CANovember 30, 2018
Great place to work
Managers were horrible to much politics involved
Not enough employee appreciation
Managers would belittle you in front of customers
Or co workers
Pros
Amazing pay quarterly lunches
Cons
Managers were horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time of work there
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, INNovember 29, 2018
They always were fast at giving u work and making sure u stay bizzy.the breaks r short and u r not to b late coming BK in.bt overal it's s good environment to work in
Pros
Very friendly and well mannered enviroment
Cons
Breaks r to short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse place to work
Quality Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, INNovember 28, 2018
Cummins is a diverse place to work in. Most employees recognize the importance of a work life balance and value family as priority. Opportunities for growth may be dependent on the function or team that you are in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 28, 2018
Great company to work for as the culture embraces open communication and collaboration. People are very nice and the work is complex, so it can be very rewarding. The only problem is that there can be a lot of bureaucracy involved which can delay progress on specific projects. The company should drive to become more customer driven.
Pros
Great people, diversity, and work-life balance
Cons
Bureaucracy at different levels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Externship (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 26, 2018
I enjoyed working. It is the perfect balance of a casual and formal work environment. Everyone working here is friendly and goes above and beyond in your time of need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with amazing benefits & room for growth
SERVICE WRITER (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 26, 2018
Cummins is an amazing company to work for with great benefits and lots of room for growth. In my personal experience, had management not changed, I would've probably stayed longer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2018 Layoffs
Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, INNovember 25, 2018
For months my group was told we were in the process of doing a reorg but definitely, definitely not doing a RIF. Then, a couple of weeks ago, in a suddenly scheduled meeting with HR, I was told its turned into a RIF, my position was eliminated, and I couldn't apply for another job in the company, turn in your computer and badge.
So much for communication, being above board, and supporting your employees.
Pros
People I worked with
Cons
H/r
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor choice in manager
Technician (Former Employee) –  BossierNovember 21, 2018
Absolutely loved the job. If the manager that ran it didn’t like you then he found reasons to get rid of you. Let employees cuss at customers and definitely brought personal life into professional. Corporate should really look into that store. They are losing a lot of business bc of the general manager.
Pros
Good pay and flexible
Cons
Bad choice in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cummins. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,772 reviews
5989
4995
3523
2145
1120

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Powered by Comparably

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP30%
In the Top 30% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Cummins.