Cumulus Media Employee Reviews

Found 473 reviews matching the search See all 477 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive work environment
ACCOUNTING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 24, 2019
It was a fun place to work at, the best part was good management . We could be overworked sometimes during the close period. No training or advancement opportunities available.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement
Cons
Overtime no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Director of Marketing (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 23, 2019
Poor management, makes Cumulus Media a difficult place to work. The corporate management is great, but struggled a local level in Grand Rapids. No opportunity for advancement and don't respect peoples hard work and efforts.
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Engineer
Contract Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 20, 2019
Contract Engineer working with Chief Engineer in building a ground up 6 studio broadcast facility.

Paid fairly and on time for work.
Pleasant atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Leader
Director of National Sales (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 16, 2019
Managed over 9 million in revenue for 460 radio stations. Developed a new business incentive program for National Reps for the entire country. Was in the top 5 of sales leaders in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enjoyable for lower level positions
Assitant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2019
Didn't get to use vacations days that were earned, as well as time off and sick days. They weren't paid out or rolled over. Free concerts were nice though.
Pros
Free concert tickets
Cons
No one takes their lunch breaks, no overtime pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommened
General Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 9, 2019
Account Executives are not given proper training for a successful career. Large accounts are protected for senior employees. No support staff. Upper management does not like input of local staff and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers but no corporate support
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Eugene, ORJanuary 7, 2019
They are chronically understaffed and behind the ball. I understand that sales drive the company but the lack of support and tumultuous atmosphere make it difficult for even the sales force to concentrate and do their job effectively.

There are also, frankly bizarre edicts from corporate that shackle us in our attempts to hit the sales goal.
Pros
Flexible hours, performance based
Cons
Pay, stress, lack of corporate support, lack of foresight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Event Worker
Event Worker (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXJanuary 3, 2019
Great place to work, especially if you are able to obtain a highly sought after full time position. Hours are long, but with the new Management structure from Corporate the work/life balance is better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Listener Base
Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CADecember 27, 2018
Cumulus Media is the leading radio broadcasting organization in the Central Valley reaching over one million listeners on a daily basis with top rated music and original content.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive past experience
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Lane County, ORDecember 18, 2018
I was fortunate enough to have an incredible sales manager who I learned a lot from and was able to carry that knowledge with me to a larger market in Dallas where I was very successful.

At the time of my employment I had awesome co-workers that supported one another. We had a very collaborative environment which made going to work a lot of fun and more successful.

The sales manager and general manager were very open minded to ideas of how we could improve the culture, sales incentives, and developing creative marketing campaigns.
Pros
The Ducks perks
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic
Credit Manager (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMDecember 16, 2018
title says it all. unhealthy. nothing is confidential. terrible management. no set policy. Culture is sad, non trusting, selfish,. no standards re held for anyone , force you to be misrerable, do too many jobs for your pay
Pros
none
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Business Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 11, 2018
Hard working dedicated employees and managers. Was a great place to work and learn the business. It was relaxed atmosphere
where everyone worked as a team to meet deadlines
Pros
Good Company
Cons
Layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Environment
Art Director and Head of Digital (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMDecember 8, 2018
They just don't take care of their talent. Toxic environment. They were trying to improve but didn't see the efforts at the local level. There was no room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Several stations and genres to work with
Sports Reporter (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 20, 2018
I leaned to self manage. Tell each story with facts, tell it interestingly, and then ask questions for interaction. I learned to edit sound, and script the segments with an ear to what the listener knows, wants to knows, and need to know.
Pros
sponsor lunches, event invitations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
On-Air Personality (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNNovember 15, 2018
Bad culture, gross mismanagement, was not an enjoyable place to work. I learned a lot about how talent, going above and beyond, and working as a team player will get you nowhere at Cumulus.
Pros
Free coffee and water.
Cons
Outdated equipment, middle school type behavior from department heads, ZERO job growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Advancement
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMNovember 1, 2018
Enjoyed my managers. They believed in me and let me have the autonomy to grow professionally. My managers gave me the tools to succeed, and were open to me when I came to them with ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I thought
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLOctober 26, 2018
Pay is not equal to amount of work expected of you. No work/life balance. Expectations far exceed pay. No commissions for the first year. Pay is super low.
Pros
nice people to work with
Cons
pay is way too low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funnest Job Ever
Promotions Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 22, 2018
Cumulus Media is a very fun place to work. The staff at Cumulus have become a second family to me and are some of the closet people I know. I love working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCOctober 18, 2018
It was a great intro into outside sales and taught me the cold calling skills that i have been using for over 10 years. But be ready to hustle the job takes real effort but the rewards can be great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAOctober 16, 2018
Always going business to business learning new business needs and wants. My co workers and made the job fun! The bonuses of gifts were great. My manager made it fun to come into work. Hard to sell air to a lot of non believers of radio .
Pros
Fun days with co workers and boss
Cons
Micro manager and bad meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cumulus Media. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 477 reviews
5118
4129
3127
260
143

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight