Cuyahoga County Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
ENVIRONMENTAL WORKER (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 9, 2018
Its great working in this county just depends on what area you work in the hardest part of the job is trying to make every one happy. The easiest part of the job is sowing units.
Pros
I work alone
Cons
dealing with different people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love what I'm doing and I have way more to give
Accountant II (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 23, 2018
I like to busy all day, sometimes I work extra hours .
I do learn a lot at my job, and I keep asking for more work to learn more new things to keep me busy.
My manager is an easy going, she welcomes and new ideas and any improvement to my duties.
I don't feel anything hard in my department.
The most enjoyable part of my job is working in a very friendly environment and team work to get our job done timely and accurately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Contract Compliance Officer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 11, 2018
OEO and small business activities were the primary focus of my role at Cuyhoga county's small business program. The small business program was an effort made to try and level out the playing field for small business to participate on Cuyahoga County's contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I appreciate having a job there
Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 8, 2017
The director is not very good, she is not practical. Cuyahoga county needs to hire good workers and show trust. Instead they hire inadequate people and then micro manage. The building is run down and the whole business and atmosphere creates hostility between clients and employees.
Pros
Full benefits
Cons
poor hiring, under qualified and unprofessional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful coworkers
Senior Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 22, 2017
Most of the coworkers are encouraging. Busy work environment but relaxed, flexible work schedule, depending on the agency the work doesn't fit the pay.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland ohiSeptember 20, 2017
Great working environment with room for growth and advancement unfortunately for me both my parents became ill at the same which forced me to resign and take care of them.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
Can be dangerous at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gainful Employment
Support Officer-Office of Child Support Services (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 20, 2017
Entry level positions offered for those looking for gainful employment. Advancement opportunities offered periodically. The job can be stressful at times, but it can be rewarding at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 13, 2017
Good health care benefits good support system advancement through any agency on the county. Nice teamwork concept good management paid holidays available overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cuyahoga County
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 23, 2017
I worked with the Office of Emergency Management. I never thought I would end up there but I am very glad I did. I learned a lot about different emergencies and dealing with the public.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad morale, bad culture
Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 6, 2017
What they say they are doesn't match what they are. Toxic culture. Disengaged, self-serving management. Favoritism and political buddy system - stay far away if you have talent and real values.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Pay scale, culture, managmen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Employment & Family Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 6, 2017
Fast-paced. Management values quantity vs. quality and does not respond to employee concerns - reassigns employees vs. addressing issues. Have to be able to adapt to change. Good benefits.
Pros
Union
Cons
Union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 19, 2017
Great job security, however the job is very overwhelming with caseload of over 200 per worker.
Benefits are good.
Constant changes in policy and work assignments.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diappointed
Employee (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 17, 2017
This was not the job that I anticipated it to be. There was no room for growth or advancement. The only means to "self promote" was changed to benefit the employer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being self employed is great.
Childcare Provider (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 9, 2017
Its ok. Time for a change!! Wouldn't recommend it for the money. I've been doing it a long time. You must love kids & your job!! Part time is great but full time doesn't work for me anymore.
Pros
Making your own schedule.
Cons
The pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Activities Center is fun and productive
Substitute-Workshop Specialist/part-time (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 26, 2017
I enjoy working with adults with a disability and my co-workers, this is a fun and productive place for a adults with disability to meet and greet each other
Pros
I enjoy the people and the different personalities
Cons
The activity centers are about to shut-down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable culture, career killer
Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 9, 2016
No one with motivation or intelligence should apply here. Bad pay, no advancement opportunities unless you are "connected."The only good thing is the regular hours because by the end of the day you can't wait to leave.
Pros
hours, medical benefits
Cons
culture, no leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corruption
Deputy Sheriff (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 11, 2016
The county is still a corrupt place. Glad to be gone, took my pension and ran, it's really not worth it. You need to be a minority, or a homosexual to advance, or buddy buddy with the in crowd. There are many two faced sneaks that you just can't trust.

I was completely disgusted after working there for 25 years.

Surrounded by co-workers that just don't care. If you work and do a good job, they get angry, because you are making them look bad. So many people are lazy, pretending to be doing something. It is glorified welfare, if the general public only knew the truth they would be amazed at the nepotisim, and general waste of time and money that goes on.

I do not recommend this place for anyone who has a brain or motivation.
Pros
Good health insurance
Cons
RED TAPE political correctness, zero proactive, all reactive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was rewarding, you will all kind of people
Customer Service Support (Former Employee) –  cleveland, ohioMay 3, 2016
I have worked there for 19 years and I met all kind of people. My typical day at work was helping people. I learned being a manager you have to be fair to everyone.
Pros
free parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy work place
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 3, 2015
Answering 14-line phones, typing, scanning, ordering supplies, schedule conference rooms and set-up conference rooms open and sort incoming and outgoing mail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Customer Service Aide (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 20, 2015
Very busy environment dealing with many clients from different walks of life..
Fellow employees work well together, always willing to help each other out.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Did not accept suggestions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cuyahoga County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 33 reviews
59
48
311
23
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture

Cuyahoga County Reviews by Location