DHL
Happiness rating is 57 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United States8,531 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 8,531 reviews matching the searchSee all 22,191 reviews

Great place to work at.

Featured review

DHL selected this as a representative review
Best place to work. Decent start pay. Great hours. Scheduling is great with its alternating work weeks of 4 days one week 3 days the other week. Work one weekend get next weekend off.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

July 12, 2022
Hello,You make us glow with pride. We received your remarkable 5-star rating.   We are delighted that you had such a memorable time with our big yellow family. Reading your review gives us confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well.  It is great to hear that you enjoyed working with people. That is what we need. Take a look at our career portal. Perhaps there is a vacancy in your area. Who knows, you might become one of us again.  https://careers.dhl.com/ Stay safe, and let us know how we can help if you need support.Greetings to PortlandYour DHL Team

Productive & fun workplace

Great work place. They care about associates and lots of opportunities to grow within the company. Great pay with incentives. Building company’s morale.
Was this review helpful?

DHL insights

Based on 6,201 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager

Great place to work

4 on 3 off easy work clean warehouse trained in All functions. You first start off in case pick ND once you hit the #s expected you can move onto different function.
Was this review helpful?

Great Place

Amazing job, and I would work there anytime I could. Amazing pay, and benefits are great. Management is good, work schedule is good for families. Make plenty of money.
Was this review helpful?

Don’t care about people

I was treated like a robot and was told everyday by my supervisor my work was never good enough.Who wants to go somewhere no matter how much u tried you’re told you’re not good enough?The building has no AC you’re basically cooking for 12 hours with very few breaks .
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Not bad

Time flies which was a plus people there are great. Management actually cared for you, but I had Covid and was unable to work I told her about it and they didn’t seem the care and let me go
Was this review helpful?

Productive and fun working place

I love this company. They helped me a lot. It changed my life and saved my life. I would recommend anyone. if you want to further your career DHL is the right place.
Was this review helpful?

Fun and great place to work

I heard a lot great things about DHL and the r one of the best companies to work for I love it...but I'm a constant work that learn quickly when I work at the old DHL over year half ago I love it ..yes I had car issues but not now ...I want a nother chance to prove that I'm great worker n possible mananger pision one day ...an all my experience I deserve just little more than watts been offer .thanks you for your time ..an hopefully been work with DHL again ...
Was this review helpful?

Unorganized, poor management

When employed at DHL BRP they had less than 30 employees. Even tho they’re short on staff management cannot control staff. No one knows what they’re doing and management just sits all day ignoring everything until things get really out of hand and they blame the employees that are working instead of the ones playing.
Was this review helpful?

bad

everything bad at this place its a job where u just know u have to have to get by. but u have no life the company talk to u like u are they kid. stay away

Pros

there are no pros

Cons

everything
Was this review helpful?

Horrible Management

Horrible very unprofessional and toxic environment. Very unorganized and employees are lazy. I wouldn't recommend this place for employment, they don't respect or appreciate the employees that actually do the job.
Was this review helpful?

Easy warehouse job

One of the easiest places I’ve worked at, however advancement is all about favoritism and there is no communication outside the workplace, meaning there is no way to check your time off availability.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 4, 2022
Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Great to hear you found your job one of the most straightforward jobs you've ever worked in.Favoritism causes awkward and biased situations and is frustrating when your work ethic and devotion to your company continually go unnoticed while your coworker receives praise or special perks for what you perceive as less effort. Thank you for sharing this. That is a concern and something we will investigate.If you feel your career progression has slowed, we recommend in future to contact your supervisor and have an open chat about it.No employee wants to be stuck in a dead-end job, regardless of its compensation and benefits.We wish you the best in future personal and professional projects and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Best wishes to Ontario!Your DHL Team

Company does not care about the compensation.

Company doesn’t care about drivers. Job needs to pay more. That’s why teams are short. If they’d pay a decent wage people would apply. But they are too cheap. They’d rather pay temp agencies.

Pros

Excellent insurance and cost

Cons

Night shift and no overtime after 40 hrs every other month.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 4, 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for your input. We're sorry to hear that your time at our Jackson location has been less than ideal. Being a yard spotter is a demanding job that is critical to our company's operations.We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with the benefits we provide. That, in our opinion, is an excellent incentive for employee motivation.Each employee should be compensated appropriately for his or her work. We regret that you felt your pay was unequal. We would be delighted to speak with you in person and learn more about your situation. Please contact your manager or human resources colleagues to discuss these concerns. We apologize for your negative experiences with our company in this regard.Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort so far. You make a difference by connecting people and improving lives!We wish you and your loved ones all the best.Warm greetings to Jackson!Your DHL Team

A pretty nice place to work

DHL is a pretty decent place to work, they have some nice amenities, locker rooms with showers a cafeteria with chiefs and a full basket ball court work isn’t hard co worker are nice
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 4, 2022
Hello,What a kind review! Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics during your time with us. It is an honor to read your comments.We are very pleased that your team has a strong sense of cohesion. A pleasant working environment and colleagues who treat one another fairly contribute to a pleasant working day.DHL is constantly working to provide additional benefits to our employees. That, in our opinion, is an important type of appreciation. We are pleased that you received it positively and were able to put it to good use.We are grateful that you had this experience and shared it with us.Best wishes for all future professional and personal endeavors; we hope your time with us was beneficial.A warm greeting to Union City!Your DHL Team

Work/life balance

I currently work for the company. Horrible management. High turnover rate. They allow people to be unsafe which makes it an uncomfortable work environment. Just in the few months I’ve worked there I’ve seen accidents happen that were non osha recorded, they’ve also allowed people to continue working there that don’t pass drug screens just bc of the high turn over rate. They have a very strict time system called LMS. It’s just for the company’s production rates. You have a strict time frame to scan supplies and pick them. If you don’t make it in that time frame you will be written up for it. Definitely very very rough job. It took me a couple months to get in the positive with the system which I got in trouble for doing better. I do not recommend this job to anyone. Wake up!! We’re human beings not robots.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 2, 2022
Hello,We appreciate that you took the time to leave a review and carefully read your detailed feedback.Your feedback helps us to improve continuously, which is why we particularly appreciate it. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your time at our company and that the work was stressful. No manager is perfect, and sometimes stress brings out the worst behaviors. When a workspace is unhealthy, it impacts employee retention. That makes employee turnover inevitable, which places additional stress on our business. Working in an unsafe environment is dangerous and not according to the rules, but it is unacceptable that they are not registered. That is why we will investigate this further. We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right.We wish you the best in future personal and professional projects and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Best wishes to Pennsylvania!Your DHL Team

Nice place to work consistent schedule

Really enjoyed working there a good place to work and they show that they really care about their employees good pay and makes you feel like you’re doing something very important
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 2, 2022
Hello,We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful time with our large yellow family. Reading your review confirms that we are doing an excellent job of caring for and appreciating our employees. Every day, you accomplish something significant.Thank you very much. You were part of this foundation which keeps our company standing not only in good times but also in challenging times.It’s great to read that you felt so good working for DHL. It was an honor to have you as a member of the DHL family. That is amazing.A warm greeting to Westlake!Your DHL Team

Management

I am really fascinated that management team in DHL Express is full of great managers, who are able to lead and develop people around them and what´s more, they are such a great people!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 2, 2022
Wow this is amazing!Thank you very much. You are part of this foundation, which keeps our company standing not only in good times but also in challenging times. Finding, keeping, and developing great people isn’t easy, but finding, keeping, and developing great managers is even harder. We are pleased that this is the case at your location in Prague. Our company is full of great career possibilities. DHL tries to make its best employees even better—and the least of them better than they ever thought they could be. Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics. #TogetherWeAreGREAT!In the meantime, we wish you all the best and thank you for your excellent work!Your DHL Team

Lots and lots of walking

This job will kill your feet! The people were very nice overall. There was no work life balance at all. You basically lived there and only had one day to yourself. If you are okay with that that’s fine. They will work you to death.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 4, 2022
Hello,We appreciate that you took the time to leave a review.Your feedback helps us to improve continuously, which is why we particularly appreciate it. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your time at our company and that the work was stressful, especially with all the walking you had to do. Balancing your professional and personal life can be challenging, but it's essential. Ideally, a company can only have as many employees as there are jobs. However, the amount of work is often not constant but sometimes varies greatly. No manager is perfect, and sometimes stress brings out the worst behaviors. We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right.We wish you the best in future personal and professional projects and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Best wishes to Union CityYour DHL Team

Early start gets me going and was misty easy going with mostly everyone being helpful and friendly

Did not feel stressed most of the day and felt great working with helpful people all around over all, i believe I would give the company a 7 out of 10
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 4, 2022
Hello,You make us proud with a 4-star rating! Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics during your time with us. It is an honor to read your comments and to have worked with such a wonderful group of people. When managers communicate thoughtfully with team members rather than overseeing them from a distance, team members feel appreciated and valued. That feeling typically results in higher job satisfaction and increased loyalty. We are grateful that you had this experience and shared it with us.Best wishes for all future professional and personal endeavors; we hope your time with us was beneficial.A warm greeting to Aurora!Your DHL Team

Management

Management will lie to your face, talk behind your back, and will never fix the problem. They just ignore it. You will never move up if your good at your job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 4, 2022
Hello,Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback as a forklift operator. It's unfortunate that your rating isn't higher.Our goal is for you to feel respected and valued by us, and for us to be your preferred employer in good and bad times.We expect our managers to be role models for employees throughout the Group, not only motivating them but also demonstrating how their work contributes to the company's success.The fact that you felt the management was inadequate is cause for concern, and we will investigate.We recommend that in the future you discuss with your manager, team leader, or with your colleagues the topics that you think can be optimized and contribute to a better working atmosphere and your well-being.Optimization can only be initiated if topics are also discussed.We wish you much success and satisfaction in your next job. But most of all, thank you for all your efforts and patience. Best wishes to VonoreYour DHL Team

You will be forced to work weekends and holidays. No life, All work.b

I wouldn't recommend this job to an enemy. Horrible place to work. It's all work all the time until you quit or get injured. There is no sense of accomplishment, the typical day can last up to 14 hours. Problems brought to management's attention are never resolved. It's a trap.

Pros

Na

Cons

No work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

August 4, 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our site in Newburgh has been far from satisfactory so far. We take every case extremely seriously. Being a delivery driver is a physically demanding position and very important to our business operations.Putting up with a job you hate can seem downright intolerable at times. But, more often than not, it is the management that makes your job difficult. No manager is perfect, and sometimes stress brings out the worst behaviors. When a workspace is unhealthy, it impacts employee retention. A desirable work-life balance leads the individual towards feeling less apprehensive about their ability to manage work and non-work commitments. Let’s explore the benefits of working toward a better work-life balance with your manager.Hopefully, we will soon be able to intensively work on some of the topics you mentioned to increase employee satisfaction. Of course, this doesn't always happen at the same speed everywhere, but we're working on getting a little better every day.Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort so far. You make a difference by connecting people and improving lives!Stay safe, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you.Your DHL Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 22,191 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Compensation/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
3.3 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Diversity score

72
out of 100
Comparably
Diversity Score
Top 25%
In the Top 25% of similar size companies
The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at DHL.
Powered byComparably

Compare DHL with

DHL reviews by popular job title

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee Reviews