DHL Employee Reviews

Found 4,708 reviews matching the search See all 12,582 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced logistics company with very diverse work force
HR BUSINESS PARTNER (Current Employee) –  Erlanger, KYNovember 1, 2018
International logistics company with over 220 locations world-wide. The work environment is very fast-paced, diverse and intense. There are always opportunities for advancement for those who are willing to work hard and show an interest in process improvement and career advancement. DHL is invested in helping you succeed by providing training on day 1 and throughout your first several weeks on-the-job.
Pros
Great health benefits, 401k, pay increases twice per year for hourly, cafeterias, tuition reimbursement, referral bonus, retention bonus, quarterly incentive bonus, employee recognition perks, maternity and bonding pay
Cons
Shift times and job duties are not for everyone, logistics work is typically very physical and exhausting as it is at all logistics companies, pay isn't high but perks are great, turnover is ongoing, environment is stressful during busy times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work.
International Specialist (Former Employee) –  Erlanger, KYSeptember 11, 2018
Worked here for 2 years and 7 months. Trained for leads position twice instead it was given to people with less experience and someone who threatened to quit. Managers stand over you. They dont care about your home life if production is low they will make you come in an extra day and threaten to write you up if you dont. They show a lot of favoritism. If you are up their butts they will be glad to have you around them, if not they treat you differently. Money was ok, but you dont bring home nearly what you should for the work they require. Most of the time they take 300 dollars in taxes, you can gross 1600 and take home 1200 or less.
Pros
Paid time off for full time and part time, ok money, 401k
Cons
Poor management, make you work when they want you to, dont care about your schedule, only two 15 min breaks, one 30 min, say theres room for advancement, but its only for certain people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy, poorly-communicated, ghetto, uneducated, immature work culture
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  McDonough, GASeptember 11, 2018
You will be surrounded by associates who get paid little to move boxes. These people are of low-class and immature who may make you feel threatened and will cause much of the human error aspect to creep in and allow for an impossible work culture where you will put out daily fires and tell employees to just do their job, which is all pretty simple in moving boxes. Management is constantly moved around and will not provide new employees with any training at all. Associates are constantly fired and you will never see a consistent workforce.
Pros
Move around and stay active
Cons
Work Weekends, Deal with low-class & immature associates, constant workforce turnover for management and associates
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company with amazingly affordable benefits!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCAugust 29, 2018
Love working for DHL Supply Chain. I have gained a vast knowledge of the business and have been promoted a couple of times. Every site is different and the culture is driven by its leadership... the majority of the sites I have worked for have a collaborative environment with the opportunity to cross train. I am in a leadership role, and have the opportunity to expand my knowledge of the business and other areas of the company via web based training and off site training. There is flexibility to move to other sites to learn different aspects of the business.
Pros
401k, medical/dental/vision insurance, promotional opportunity, competitive pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced work
Space coordinator/forklift operator (Former Employee) –  York, PAAugust 22, 2018
Ok place to work if you don’t mind physical work. Some opportunities to advance. Decent management, although production seems to be all that matters. Loader service allowed to do regular employees job pulling out bounds getting paid differently. Creating issues between both sides. Employees getting paid hourly, while loader service, by load/piece/weight rate. Employees working steady, neat doing things properly while loader service flying around, taking shortcuts on procedures & safety.
Pros
Steady work, decent management, Overtime
Cons
Pay raises, working along side loader service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company initially
Service Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 6, 2018
I started me career with DHL as a warehouse employee in 1994. It was a great company where management and the hourly employees worked together to get the job done. There was plenty of opportunity for growth if you applied yourself and within a year and a half I was promoted to Supervisor. I worked several operations from Ramp, to Customer clearance and PUD operations. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The company was merged with Airborne Express and it did not go well, I eventually left the company
Pros
work atmosphere, growth opportunities
Cons
Compensation, merger with Airborne
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest logistics company in the world with room for advancement
Operations Manager- 3PL (Former Employee) –  Corinne, UTAugust 8, 2018
While working at DHL I learned the lean practices of working in a logistics environment. I was afforded career growth as well as professional. Some policies are difficult for some people to deal with but overall it was a good experience.
Pros
Rewards and recognition program; monthly free lunches; competitive benefits and retirement plan
Cons
Some management issues; strict company policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad for Someone with no family.
licensed trainer (Current Employee) –  Mooresville, INJune 20, 2018
Don't get me wrong work is work, but DHL supply chain takes it to an extreme. Sure they offer competitive salary, benefits, and paid time off. But what they don't tell you is that while working 6-7 days a week you cannot have a social or family life. Paid time off? that's great and all if they don't black out entire months so you cant use paid time off and instead have to use points to get a day off unpaid.
The job is easy, albeit very repetitive every day. The people you work with are great as well, but that is where is stops. Management is lacking and most of the time you forget you have a supervisor at all. (except with its time to fill out the mandatory overtime sheet for that day)...so I end my review with this. do I like my job at DHL? yes its a good job., Do I like the people I work with? yes love the people I work with. Do I like the pay and hours? pay is excellent but the amount of hours forced upon you for months at a time with no days off is a Deal breaker for most. Management? poor at best.
Pros
good pay, excellent benefits!
Cons
1 break for lunch, long hours, no days off for months at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to gain experience - low pay
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rialto, CASeptember 5, 2018
I am grateful for the formal leadership experiences I gained here, and for the vast operations experience - not just ops management but continuous improvement, employee engagement and culture creation, HR policies - but the pay was so low I qualified for state medical assistance. Also, the management was pretty unethical in my opinion. For these two reasons I left the company. If you are looking for a start in your career it's good, but don't stay for too long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DHL is not the place to grow unless you'd like to stay as a import agent for the rest of your life.
Import Agent (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJOctober 26, 2018
DHL in newark office does not live up to their Name. Management treats you very poorly, un-professional, lack of training, amazing benefits, very stressful environment, to progress up within the company you either need to be a family member from a manager, or anyone higher in charge. theres no opportunity to anyone that is not family in the company. no support for education. its either you work 10 plus hours or your out the door!
Pros
hour lunch break, many activities the company provides
Cons
no place to grow within the company unless your related immediately to someone, gives you un realistic goals to achieve, breathes down your neck every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for a job for quick cash, not a career, this is it
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MONovember 29, 2018
Senior Management is not in tune with what is going on at this site. There are only 2 shift managers that actually are hands on and even walk the warehouse floor during their shifts. We have Round Tables and Employee Opinion Surveys but no matter what is brought up everything stays the same. Mandatory 5 and 6 10's is normal each week for the labor call. If you are after a temporary job to fill a gap and make some cash this is it. If you are after a career and want to chase a management career then this is not for you. There is an exception if you can get in the "Good Old Boy Club" then the sky is the limit. If you desire a fun and safe environment where the management truly cares about you as a person and not a number then please keep looking.
Pros
Overtime, Covered Parking, Paid breaks
Cons
Non-caring Management, short breaks, cold work environment, every man for themselves, no team, no family
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disconnect between corporate values and site values
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 16, 2018
If the corporate values and site values aligned then the company would be excellent. However, there is a gap in values from a site level. The only great thing about DHL is the benefits for those Associates been there one year and more.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Site Culture, Management and lacking true leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities for growth and advancement
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYAugust 27, 2018
My manager was fantastic. He saw that I was a young and enthusiastic talent with large career aspirations. I was allowed to get involved in global projects and was allowed to take ownership of my shift relatively quickly.

Provided that you are willing to relocate, the potential for promotion is endless.

The hardest part of the job was that it was 2nd shift, and being in upstate NY with a plane operation can make for some VERY long nights.

The people were fantastic. I had a committed group of senior employees who made the day to day operation of the warehouse a breeze.
Pros
Promotion potential, salary, ability to travel for training
Cons
Long nights, uncontrollable KPI failures
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work temporarily
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYJuly 22, 2018
Peak season is best time to work as pay is worth the long hours and job duties; Overall if looking for long-term, this is not a good place to be; no career advancement, lack of communication from top to bottom, culture is horrendous, management only cares about numbers not people; they don't invest in their people. You can make more money in less stressful environment with other companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You and your Co-workers set the atmosphere
Courier (Current Employee) –  Long Island City, NYAugust 12, 2018
It's fine if you have nothing else going for you pretty much. If your not looking to further your school career, want a decent job with good pay, little personal time for yourself and benefits than this is for you
Pros
Pay, weekends and most holidays off.
Cons
Too long to acquire ample vacation time, Hours are long, Management have no idea what they are doing, Blame the couriers for everything even issues outside of their jurisdiction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Export Agent (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAAugust 7, 2018
The management is extremely unprofessional and incompetent. Most people have no idea what they're doing and getting pretty vague tasks that they can't follow. Working environment can be toxic at times with demoralized workers who have to be mindful about overtime. Lack of somewhat adequate training and you have to learn everything on the fly. If you don't perform, they will get rid of you in a heart beat. All top management are untouchables and you can't get through with any ideas. All things they promise are not what they tell you, you will have very limited room to grow, and it will not happen anytime soon. For someone who's just starting career in the industry this company can be a good option, for someone more experienced - do yourself favor, stay away. It's not worth it at all.
Pros
sometimes free lunches
Cons
No support from management, this list can be long
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work load was unreasonable. Management style was punitive.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYJuly 4, 2018
Workload was unreasonable for an 8-hour shift; no OT allowed.
Employees were constantly given warnings for unreasonable infractions.
Environment was cut-throat, employees lied out of fear of getting in trouble. Management did not appreciate a good work ethic.
Benefits were good; co-workers were ethnically diverse.
Pros
Occasional free meals for rewards. Great co-workers.
Cons
Mgmt. was horrible & treated employees like 5 year olds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Module Operator (Former Employee) –  Upper 2August 24, 2018
You might find 1 or 2 employees you can work with but other then that management was useless and couldn't care less about about your opinion. You were just a tool. I worked in upper 2 were i got along with everybody but the supervisor favored the one person who was disrupting the mod and got all upset when we went above after complaining for 2 weeks just to have OM push it back down to the supervisor. Also pay sucked you do not make enough. i made around 20k a year and im still well below the poverty line. Also 1st and 2nd shift were contently at war with each other.
Pros
Paid lunch, Benefits
Cons
Narrow views, Poor and useless management, Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Failure to Plug and Play
Warehouse Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Pass Christian, MSOctober 18, 2018
Management was flown from around the country and had no real experience with the products or personal that they were on site to manage. Policy makers were not willing to heed advise from veteran employees resulting in a loss of contract.
Cons
12 hour ships, no real raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Archaic Office Culture - New Office to Come
Senior IT Implementation Analyst (Current Employee) –  Westerville, OHOctober 9, 2018
Right now, the culture at DHL is very archaic, but they are making an effort to become more accommodating. More work from home opportunity, working completely remote, etc. The office itself is very much a reminder of Office Space. DHL currently constructing a new building with an ETA of December 2019. As an IA, you will be required to travel, a lot. No formal comp days and starting salary not very competitive with other comparable companies.
Pros
Work From Home
Cons
Travel can be extensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12,588 reviews
54.3K
44K
32.8K
2803
1674

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP40%
In the Top 40% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at DHL.

Powered by Comparably