DAIRY FARMERS OF AMERICA, INC. Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 184 reviews
Ratings breakdown
541
455
355
216
117
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 184 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, bad hours
Quality Assurance Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Winthrop, MNJune 19, 2018
Hours were not good for someone with kids at home. Pay was good when I worked there, I'm sure it's even better now. Not all coworkers were trustworthy, a few were downright cut throat whiners.
Pros
Free lunches at meetings, pay for meetings, pay and benefits were good
Cons
Having to pay Union Dues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work very demanding with hours
Packaging (Former Employee) –  New Wilmington, PAMay 25, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the day was when things were operating smooth and product was moving. The hardest part of the job was when equipment did not work correct and you had to do multiple jobs at a time
Pros
cheese at cost
Cons
never really did much for their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excessive overtime/horrible shifts
Maintenance Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOMay 23, 2018
money is decent, rules galore, if you want to feel unappreciated for hot, boring, political work, this is your dream job! Hopefully you will be one of the favored group. Otherwise, get ready for bullying, discrimination, and general game playing with zero opportunity for advancement or pay increases.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place
Master Operator (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAMay 18, 2018
They'll say that they got the employee s backs but they don't. I did alot for the company to treat me like dirt. I had a problem with one of their employees and they totally treated me like a weirdo. Don't talk to management about problems they won't do anything. Plant manager is very mean guy. I won't ever go back. Company can't ever do good enough and take it out on employees. Pepsi shouldn't continue haveing a contract with DFA. Company is full of wimpy people.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Plant manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bulk milk hauler and milk tester (Current Employee) –  Henderson, COMay 14, 2018
Driving to the farms is enjoyable, But driving in Denver traffic is not. Hardest part of job is driving different tractors every day and backing into black holes at some producers.
Pros
most of the time easy
Cons
Some equipment is old
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DFA would be a better place to work if it wasn't for management.
Full time Production at Oil Filler (Current Employee) –  Winthrop, MNMay 2, 2018
I liked the work. I have worked there 10.5 years. Its the new management that is making me want to quit. Somedays it is a fast environment and sometimes its relaxing depending on what we are filling.
Pros
The pros would be smaller plant so everybody knows everybody and I live in town so no commute.
Cons
management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Farmers
Stacker/Packer/Operator (Former Employee) –  West Middlesex, PA 16159May 2, 2018
Dfa was a very good place to work. They provided adequate salary for this area. The management team was hard to work though as they seemed to only advance people who were close with them personally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained alot of experience in managment
SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Adrian, MIApril 26, 2018
Good job to start a career in management. The management and employees are nice and accomodating to work/life balance. Not very much room for advancement and professional growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Milk Tanker Driver (Former Employee) –  Henderson, CO 80640April 25, 2018
The only Class A job I had that I didn't want to leave. I Stayed until retirement. The greatest thing about DFA is that you are home every night. It's a great place to work.
Pros
home every night
Cons
can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Maintenance Manager/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Schulenburg, TXApril 23, 2018
Could never say a bad thing about this company. They were like family to me and gave me many opportunities to showcase my abilities and providing a path to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAApril 22, 2018
Its a good place to work. The downside is the shortage of available labor to meet production. On boarding and training takes a long time to complete.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean work enviroment
Milk Reciever (Former Employee) –  Cass City, MIApril 22, 2018
Super clean place to work
Fast paced when busy but very boring and tedious when slow
Work hours are difficult with 12 hour shifts being split during the week.
Pros
Clean
Cons
Work hours and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work
Master filler Operator (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAApril 16, 2018
working here was very laid back since the management team was on top of any issues you would come across. very good pay with what you were doing on a day to day basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going place
warehouse driver (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOApril 11, 2018
I worked warehouse 3rd shift, swing shift. I dollied trailers around property and was in shipping and receiving. it was a slow paced job but working 3rd shift and working 6 days then 2 days off gave me no after life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you’re up for it
Cooler Operator (Current Employee) –  Rochester, MNMarch 28, 2018
Kemps fluid dairy plant is a job that pays well, has good being its, and expects you to earn it. You will be expected to work lots of overtime and shifting hours for the first couple years. It’s not a bad job by any measure but it’s not for everyone
Pros
The pay is great
Cons
You’re going to basically live at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trabajo divertido muy ocupado todo los días
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brownstown, INMarch 20, 2018
Me gustó mucho hacer el trabajo de veterinaria, trabajar con animales
Pros
No hay seguro médico
Cons
De hay descanso los 7 día a la semana
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work
Operator (Current Employee) –  Schulenburg, TXMarch 19, 2018
Fast paced work , good pay , a lot of different equipment to learn , working there has built up my confidence to try and move up in the ranks of the company. Company provides tuition reimbursement .
Pros
good pay
Cons
busy durring the football season, no time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Regional Safety Manager (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 26, 2018
Great place to work, self directed position. But too much travel coast to coast. Manager was great at allowing us to schedule our own travel, as long as the locations are serviced appropriately.
Pros
Self directed
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace family oriented workplace
Cage loader (Former Employee) –  New Wilmington, PAFebruary 21, 2018
Great place to work at D.F.A they make you feel like family. Very understand staff, there is plenty of opportunities to advance. I had one bad experience with one person but the company as a whole is great. I wish i was still there
Pros
Personal locker, day shift, advancement possible
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relief Operator
Relief Operator (Former Employee) –  Schulenburg, TXFebruary 20, 2018
Management and HR is unprofessional. They don't care about employees. That's why they are always hiring. Turn over is high and management and HR don't care. They will wait til late Fri afternoon to tell employees they have to work the weekend and if you don't work the weekend with such short notice you get occurrences. Management is so out of touch with employees. They really don't get why people don't stay. It's because of management and HR.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management HR and lack of respect for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DAIRY FARMERS OF AMERICA, INC.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

1.9Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight