DAK Americas Employee Reviews

Found 73 reviews matching the search See all 78 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at DAK Americas, it is an awesome company.
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 28, 2018
I worked in many capacities in my time at DAK. I was given opportunities to advance within the company from 1996 to 2015. I started off as a contractor and was hired by the company. I held lead, relief supervisor, operator, and lab technician roles during my time at DAK. I was transferred to the Columbia facility when Cape Fear shut down. After two years chose to find employment closer to my family. I enjoyed my time at DAK, I couldn't have asked for a safer quality driven caring work environment.
Pros
work advancement
Cons
distance from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 21, 2018
Management was superb. The work environment is very friendly. Most people have been there for a while and have created lasting friendships and it shows. Teamwork is imperative and comes easy to many there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drained the life out of you
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaAugust 20, 2018
12 hour rotational shifts plus they wanted you to work OT. Training lasted a week but was worthless safety culture in SSP was non existent. They literally tell you 100 things about your job and nothing actually related to what your doing. Basically if your coworker didn't set you up the day/night before you were messed up the whole shift and if you didn't set them up they'd talk bad about you.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No life besides work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Chemical Technician (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCAugust 6, 2018
Great job to work with plenty of overtime. Chance to move up. Not much supervision work for your own responsibilities. Great training and benefits are the best. Would continue to be there but had to relocate.
Pros
Excellant opportunities
Cons
Hot enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
SeaBulk Operator (Current Employee) –  Bay Saint Louis, MSJuly 24, 2018
very laid back place to work without stress, but the management and skills progression to advance at the plant is a joke. I seen it as a more of a who you know job.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
dishonest
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay overall
Process Engineer- Melt phase Area (Current Employee) –  Gaston, SCJuly 8, 2018
Great place to work but far below average salaries. Gym onsite and 8 hour days. Not much advancement. Management is good. Only 2 weeks of vacation is given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safe place to work
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCJune 27, 2018
Safe work enviroment. No advancement. Most of the employees complain alot about the job and some just don't seem to care about what they are there to do.
Pros
benefits
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Bushy Park, SCJune 13, 2018
DAK is a good place to work just at the time I was employed there I couldn't do the schedule do to my kids. DAK is a very hot environment, but they do give you as many breaks as you like
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Operater (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCMarch 15, 2018
This place will work you like a dog. Management is on your back 24/7 and if you are on your mandatory overtime and can’t make it they’ll write you up. It is basically a prison that you get to leave and go home everyday. No time for family or kids when you can end up working up to 8 days in a row. Money’s good though. My co workers are great but I would NEVER work here again.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Mandatory OT no time to have social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moncks Corner Facility Production Engineer
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCFebruary 18, 2018
Job/Life Balance:
Shameful that too often engineers were subject to report for work on weekends, holidays and even being called in while on vacation. There were too many weekends and holidays you were scheduled to work from 7PM to 7AM. This was not a request but an "unsaid requirement".
Benefits:
Outstanding benefits and pay but at a personal cost as mentioned above.
Advancement:
Shameful that higher positions were filled based less upon one's qualifications but upon more on their "ethnic background" shall we say?
Management
Total loyalty to local management but unfortunately much of the decisions were made at the next level of management.
Job Culture:
It's a 24-hour operation. You pray 2 things would happen simultaneously. Operator attendance and machine reliability. If either didn't happen, life would be miserable for you.
Pros
Cannot argue the great benefits but at a personal cost.
Cons
"Selective Advancement" not exactly based upon qualifications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful lean organization that demanded too much from managers
Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCFebruary 6, 2018
Great location and people to work with. Upper management 's micro management is running the good employee's off causing there to be too much overtime for the current work force.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't really care for work place
Rope pack (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCFebruary 3, 2018
12 hour work days very laid back and times and can change quick. 12hour work shift including nights can wear you out very quickly. Poor management and very poor training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful fast paced unpredictable
Welder (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 10, 2018
DAK is a good company for the most part. However the position I am in has no room for advancement and is not classified correctly causing it to pay much lower than the benchmark.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect fit if youlike swing shifts
MATERIAL OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Gaston, SCJanuary 6, 2018
work 7 to 7 days and nights get 2 days off and rotate shifts again your away from your family a lot and get little time to be a human being.Great benifits tho
Pros
great pay
Cons
short breaks and stressfull labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for procurement...Beware!!!
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Gaston, SCDecember 29, 2017
If you are looking to be overworked, micro-managed and under appreciated, then this company is for you. Very high turn-over in procurement reflects directly upon current management. Run. Please understand, you will not be able to take a vacation or known in the company as "dakvacation" because of the lack of staff to cover your assignments. Also, be prepared to work 12 to 14 hours a day just to be able to keep up with workload.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Long hours, poor management, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Hours 24/7/365 - Understaffed
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCOctober 30, 2017
DAK Americas provides good benefits / salary to high performing engineers - the time required and no work / life balance is terrible. Most engineers work over 60 hours / week on average.
Pros
Good Benefits, Good Compensation
Cons
Work / Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of morale and work/life balance
Supervisor of Operations (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCOctober 11, 2017
Turnover in upper management at the plant n last 3 years has resulted in a lack of morale and made work stressful and abusive.


Work days of 14 to 20 hours a day is not uncommon.
No work/life balance
Pros
Compensation and benefits are great
Cons
Too many hours of work per day/week and stressful atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My location closed.
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Leland, NC 28451September 21, 2017
It was not a good a work place at the time because they knew they were closing. The safety conditions were bad and work conditions were bad. Maybe other locations would have been better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance Terrible
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Gaston, SCAugust 9, 2017
Work life balance is not good, but they do pay you well and the benefit package is second to none. Very analytical and engineered oriented, so if you are a energetic and enjoy working with happy colleagues, DAK Americas is NOT for you. High stress and if you are salaried, you are required to work 24/7, especially if you are off work. There is no such thing as vacation...the joke was you're on a "DAKation" - the work life balance, I can't stress enough. Also, if you voice any concerns about management, you will not get the results you want, on the contrary, you will be put under great scrutiny, written up or feel pressured to leave the company.
Pros
Benefits & Pay
Cons
Retribution of any complaints and terrible work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company culture is a little difficult
Site Nurse (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCJuly 27, 2017
I loved working with the people and most of the managers. I did learn a lot in the area of administration. It challenged me to push myself to do more and more. I was on call all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport