Dallas County Employee Reviews

Showing all 124 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical and unprofessional
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 19, 2018
Very High turn over rate, poor management, no room for advancement, manamagement does not care about employees, supervisors are on a power trip, poor training, outrageous caseload numbers, unethical practices in the counseling department, no support from supervisors, tons of papework, low pay. Employees are unhappy and upon voicing concerns Supervisors, HR, and even directors do nothing to promote positive changes, even though people are quitting left and right and making complaints. Very negative and toxic work environment. Although co-workers were amazing the morale is low throughout the county. Older employees are bitter and demoralized and stuck there. Young/new hires have high hopes but do not last long due to the lack of leadership, and unprofessional/unethical supervisors and upper management.
Pros
Health insurance?
Cons
Everything mentioned
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dallas Community College District
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 17, 2018
I do not have a response for this section, and I prefer not to answer or provide a review for my current employer. I can provide a verbal explanation of my experience working at Dallas Community College District if required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to advance and retire
Dallas County Admin/Clerical Tax Associate (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 14, 2018
Dallas county has alot of jobs and careers to offer. On the job training and countless resources to aid in bettering yourself as a person and employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours but few work days
Student Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 10, 2018
A typical work day was be there by 6:00 a.m. help set up for voters. Then just sit and wait for the voters to come in get them signed in and get them their voters card. When it began to get slow I would have my lunch break and go back into work until around 9:00 p.m.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with professional people
Intern (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 29, 2018
This was a summer job , that i had for two years that help me with life skills , organizing time & in site on dallas culture . Being able to attend commissioners court on Tuesday gave me in site on dallas problems and the will to want to help
Solve them .
Pros
Being able to work with professional people
Cons
I didn’t have any cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n.a
Juvenile Supervision Officer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 26, 2018
a typical day at work
what you learned
mangament
workplace culture
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job

do not include confidential company information
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Clerk I - Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 25, 2018
Daily customer service and court interactions with public, coworkers and elected official. Maintain court files and confidential documents. Provide daily updates to staff regarding status of cases.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace
Deputy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 24, 2018
My overall experience with Dallas County was good. It was very organized and management made sure we understood how to do out jobs. Management was very friends and had an open door policy.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
paying for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Schedule
Community Supervision and Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 4, 2018
Flexible schedule; stressful; excellent supervisor
A great entry level type position for someone straight out of
college. You will learn all aspects of the court system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, alot of room to grow
Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 16, 2018
I secured inmates and keep them safe from others or self-harm.
I assisted with visitation and stood in the room to supervise any inmate and social worker interviews.
I learned how to communicate with someone behind bars and they're likes and dislikes from food to sleep habits.
Pros
alot of team work...secret santa
Cons
work schedule and days can change
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Badging Officer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 8, 2018
Do your job you will be ok the customers are what makes the job easy. Co-workers are more than likely to stress you out like any job. I liked the fact that my scedule was great for me to go to class.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid time off
Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 28, 2017
General clerical duties, filing papers, data entry and answering the phone. The management at the time was very poor. No room to advance to the next level.
Pros
Meet different people everyday
Cons
Low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fast pace
CLERK II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 17, 2017
I loved greeting and working with the public. I learned a lot about car titles and people buying paper temporary plates. I have nothing bad to say about my time there. My co-worker were happy people and we came to work did our jobs and laugh with our customers.
Pros
free parking
Cons
30 min lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dallas County great place to work in.
Chief Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 11, 2017
Dallas County bring out the best of you, is very challenging and fun. The culture is amazing, best co-workers ever! They love to help the community. The best part of it is that you get an hour lunch.
Pros
one hour lunch, holidays off and paid
Cons
not enough holidays, the paid is not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a team
Gang Unit Officer (Former Employee) –  South DallasDecember 2, 2017
Very stressful monitoring gang activity and in some instances having to be part of it to build a case. Can't really go into detail about what I did but if you have a passion to fight crime on the streets then I would recommend getting certified in law enforcement and be careful of the politics.
Pros
Team work with your team, benefits
Cons
dangerous and can be life threatening.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The juvenile department lets the juveniles dictate what happens
Juvenile Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 20, 2017
Facility where juveniles were located should have been more secured due to them basically being in jail.
I learned the juveniles did what they wanted despite the supervision provided
The juveniles were treated like angels while staff treated like disobedient children
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Too political
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Overall Review
Bus Driver for over 27 years (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 9, 2017
Not a bad company to work for but my personal opinion is sometimes they have some managers in place that are not managers materials.
the small guy out
Pros
overall good
Cons
27 years only 1 infraction. I lost my job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication from management
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 7, 2017
Management require training. Lack of communication to staff. Dallas County has excellent retirement benefits. If the employees receive the correct training, I think employees would stay with Dallas County.
Pros
Good Retirment Benefis
Cons
Poor Management Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deputy County Clerk (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 7, 2017
The hardest part of the job was communicating with others.
I learned my customer service skills very well with my customers, always friendly.
A typical day at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Accounting Clerk III (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 31, 2017
can be a very fun place to work if you land in the right department and have a manager that is encouraging and supportive. some departments frown on growth.
Pros
great opportunities if you have friends in the right place
Cons
no opportunities if you don't have friends in the right place
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dallas County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 124 reviews
532
436
337
210
19

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight