Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Employee Reviews

Showing all 252 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Patient Access Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 14, 2018
I like working at DFCI. it is a good place to work for. some people are helpful and they are willing to go the extra mile. I've learned so much.......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Medical Billing Rep (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 15, 2018
They would rather quantity instead of quality of your work. You could never do enough for them. They are also very clicky with some of the old time workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and passion-drive workplace
Research Student (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 6, 2018
Every day is filled with new lessons and new skills to absorb. Colleagues are always available for knowledge exchanges and support. Good communication on events, charity, seminars, fundraising, etc.
Pros
support, connections, proximity to restaurants, shuttle bus, public transportation
Cons
Busy location/traffic, parking cost
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
ADMINISTRATIVE SPECIALIST II (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 28, 2018
It's a good place to work with good benefits and discounts for local attractions as well as vacations packages. Also offers discounts on Dell computers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you learned
Principal Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 23, 2018
The most important lesson I learnt at Dana Farber Cancer Institute is that education and passion and love for your job will take you further career wise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work!
Clinical Research Coordinator, Neuro-Oncology (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 22, 2018
A wonderful place to work and learn from world-renowned providers and amazingly resilient patients. Dana-Farber truly epitomizes hope, and that is what our patients need in their times of need more than anything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Department Grants Management Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 6, 2018
Wonderful place to work, great benefits, located in heart of longwood medical area. Excellent connections with surrounding hospitals and institutions.
Pros
benefits
Cons
hard to get to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Senior Grant Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 29, 2018
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute is one of the best places I have ever worked. The benefits are generous and there are many opportunities to advance within the organization.
Pros
organizational mission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work at
Medical Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 20, 2018
A very busy work environment. With a lot of tools to help you. Unless you have a bachelor cant really plan on a career there. there is no paid lunch time and benefits have degreased what they use to be.
Pros
nice time off
Cons
no paid lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work
Senior Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 12, 2018
You get to contribute to a high profile organization that does meaningful work. Most faculty and scientist are very personable and respect your contributions and expertise. New ideas are listened to and encouraged to work toward ideas, at least in my department. Great deal of independence in your work on most studies.

Pay increases and promotion ladder seems slow on the scientist track.
Pros
meaningful work, variable tasks
Cons
low pay increases, slow advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Regulatory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 6, 2018
Great Place to work, opportunities for advancement, great work-life balance, professional development opportunities are widely available, team environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Billing Compliance Auditor (Current Employee) –  10 Brookline Ave Brookline, MAMay 30, 2018
I really like working here at first. All the guidelines were followed and I felt as though I was making a difference.

Then it all changed and we no longer go by Medicare Rules/Regulations. We give credit to providers that actually have not done the work that they are billing for.

My ethics are everything and I don't feel as though DFCI is ethical; at least in the Billing Compliance Area.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Policies are not followed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a productivity environment
Revenue Control Representative (Current Employee) –  Brookline, MAMay 24, 2018
good company to work for, they work you like a robot but management is horrible. more of dictatorship, micromanagement, no room to grow in the department,
Pros
reputable company
Cons
micromanagement, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating work
Pediatric Bone Marrow Transplant Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 20, 2018
Preparing families and patients for bone marrow transplant. I learned an unbelievable amount about medicine, transplants, families. Management was totally dedicated to the work at hand. Hardest part was the despair of families. The culture was intense and driven. The best part was a successful transplant.
Pros
The work
Cons
The work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 20, 2018
A competitive work environment. Fast paced. Hardest part - it was a little cutthroat. Easiest part - teamwork oriented. I enjoyed being a part of women's healthcare.
Pros
Great benefits!
Cons
Cutthroat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Support Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 16, 2018
Dana-Farber was a great place to work! Good benefits and decent pay. The patient care areas are very challenging work environments and not for the faint of heart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So fun!
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 7, 2018
Truly a great environment to be in and the people who work there genuinely care about the job they're doing and the lives they are affecting. A lot of fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 7, 2018
i liked the dana farber but i didnt like my position i was an intern and then a research assistant but i sat around and just did data entry which is boring to m e
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical discoveries
Program Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 22, 2018
As being part of the administrative staff, I felt a great accomplishment in being part of a team that facilitated the constant research and funding for AIDS, cancer, and immunology research.

The best part of the job was working along side scientists and students whose daily working lives was this research.

The most difficult part was working for the chair, who was sometimes tempermental in nature, and often challenging to communicate with, but by the time I left his staff, I had learned a great deal from him about persistence, tenacity, and courage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
TA (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 17, 2018
management sucks. no work/life balance and so much favoritism. it's all about who you know. They are not diverse at all. Management teams need a tune up.
Cons
salary, work/life balance, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 252 reviews
5116
474
345
213
14

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Reviews by Location