Darden Restaurants Employee Reviews

Found 967 reviews matching the search See all 971 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people I worked with
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Northridge, CAAugust 13, 2018
I would recommend job to my friends and family.
The shift went by extremely fast.
The other staff and employees are incredibly generous and kind. Management is supportive and professional
Pros
Stayed busy
Cons
Smell like greasy food at the end of the shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment
Olive Garden Server (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXAugust 13, 2018
our management team worked really well and our head manager immediately when placing into the position he was in laid out his guidelines and expectations so it is known what you are expected and if you follow what you are supposed to do you are respected and treated well.
Pros
discounted food
Cons
easy call outs which could put other servers in a bind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say. it's a company offering employment in the area.
Longhorn Steakhouse (Former Employee) –  Washington, PAAugust 12, 2018
The resturant in Washington Pa was just opening when I worked their. No family like feeling as of that time. However the people seemed ambitious and unfriendly.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Peopl Good Food
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Las Colinas, TXAugust 11, 2018
Darden was a good job that had a good culture of promoting from within. I went from Dishwasher to line cook in 6 month. there was a lot of Young people working in the front of the house but that is to be expected in the food industry.
Pros
Excellent promotion from within
Cons
alot of young people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family atmosphere
Olive Garden (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAAugust 10, 2018
Everyone was pretty friendly
I had a Great Trainer
Nobody has any problem Helping out
Great schedules also great if u needed to schedule Day Off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s good
Server (Former Employee) –  Sanford, FLAugust 10, 2018
Good crew, consistent rules and management, nice location. Many many regulars in his store that was inviting and good to see people coming back over and over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Managing Partner (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDAugust 10, 2018
Typical day at work are fun full of energy and guest connections. You will learn how to be a great leader as you interact with your peers. Great place to work as long as you are willing to work smart and hard.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day in the Office
Sr. Telecom Specialist (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 9, 2018
Multiple meetings mixed with onsite dining. Never a dull moment. Always learning new things. Support multiple sites. Flexible hours and ability to make decisions.
Pros
Onsite amenities like dining, bank, gym
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a difficult lifestyle
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 8, 2018
This is a place where if you work hard, with excellence and consistently, you can be promoted. The problem is that the expectation of management regarding time spent in the workplace is brutal. Regularly I worked 12-15 hour days, usually over 60 hours a week. That is just kind of the expectation in food service.
Pros
One free meal a shift.
Cons
Poor work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 7, 2018
It was very fast paced. Friendly people. Great money. plenty advancement. I just wanted to go Amazon. Better hours,money,lots of benefits. stock options. Sometimes management did not acknowledge their team members.
Pros
1/2 meal
Cons
no break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned how to close the restaurant for it to be my first job
Hosts (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSAugust 7, 2018
Great service meet a lot of nice & new people learned a lot of things I didn't know got more knowledge then ever thank god for blessing me with that job couldn't have asked for anything better.
Pros
Half price off my orders
Cons
None that I ran across
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Job
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAAugust 3, 2018
A typical day working for Darden Restaurants was seeing to the day to day operations. I was in charge of staffing, scheduling, inventory, bank deposits, petty cash, and training of new employees just to name a few of my responsibilities. I enjoyed the stability of my salary but it was a very demanding job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Chain Restaurant
Service Professional, Server Trainer, Bar Trainer (Former Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLAugust 2, 2018
Typical Chain restaurant. A lot of frozen food. Structured management where everything come from above, no own ideas, everything must be approved. OK place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with many employees and great management
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXAugust 2, 2018
The management was always great and made sure everyone was held to the same standards, the pay was really great, especially for hosts, and the Darden app made it very easy to check schedules, paychecks, and all other information.
Pros
Good pay, fair management
Cons
Customer-is-always-right-attitude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another Corporate Machine
Bartender, Server (Current Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDAugust 2, 2018
This company is all about maximum pay off with minimal effort placed into training, staffing, and supplying its many chain-restaurants. Employee concerns are generally dismissed unless they are severe enough to gather attention.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast-paced, but paid for your trouble
FOH server (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJuly 30, 2018
Culture is server-friendly enough. On busy days there is a salad person, and bussers and hostesses are encouraged to help out servers. Customers are regular and plentiful, but they want lots of service, fast good and cheap. Management is cream of the crop but corporate trickle-down means adapt to a lot of change all the time.
Pros
Free food, cheap meals
Cons
Work till you can't stand up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced with quality food
Bartender/Server/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Casa Grande, AZJuly 30, 2018
Overall it was a great place to work. The hours are generally flexible with an online place to swap shifts, if needed. Benefits weren't bad but on a server wage, they were expensive.
Pros
Trying new dishes that come out and everyone supports everyone.
Cons
Benefits are slightly pricy and server wages could always be improved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits. Hours keep you from enjoying your off time.
Culinary/Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXJuly 25, 2018
Pay is pretty good. Benefits are good. MIGHT get 1 holiday off per year. 1 weekend off per month if your GM is considerate in scheduling. Start with 2 weeks vacation and at every 5 year mark get another week. (Start with two weeks. At 5 years I got 3 weeks. At 10 years, you get 4 weeks. At 15 years, you get 5 weeks. Caps there.) Fantastic company match. 6%, and every quarter match never went below 96% and got as high as 146%. If I could have worked 9-5 Monday through Friday and done exactly what I did, I never would have left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest review
Lead Servers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNJuly 24, 2018
I love the LoHo atmosphere, great food, high turnover rate, discounts on food are always a plus, but understanding of employees needs is a must for any business...
Pros
Discounts
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, especially as a first job.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  FortsmithJuly 23, 2018
Great place to work, especially as a first job. Really good pay, good hours as well. Flexible when working with schedule, if something comes up they are well to work with you.
Pros
Free lunches, discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Darden Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 971 reviews
5342
4336
3213
240
140

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight