Dartmouth College Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 76 reviews
Ratings breakdown
531
427
315
22
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 75 reviews matching the search See all 76 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old School Research Culture
Graduate Student (Current Employee) –  Hanover, NHJuly 9, 2018
Not in a good way. Performing research at this institution is difficult because the faculty need to keep you around for as long as possible for -basically- free labor. Would not recommend coming here for graduate research. Some of the faculty are psychologically abusive, and those that aren't are friends of those who are.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academia
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJune 26, 2018
Professors tend to be individuals with lives outside of the classroom. Few want to be teaching undergraduates. Expect, in most cases, to be the students' first source for information regarding lectures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job with little guidance and strange hours
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJune 14, 2018
The housekeeping position was an ok job, it fit the bill for an easy to do summer job, but it had its drawbacks in that there was very little oversight from the management and very little training. This caused a problem when the whole group of housekeepers were new to the job and inexperienced. Overall, it was ok, but the hours were all over the place, so some days only lasted 2 hours, while others could take 8 or 9.
Pros
a good summer job
Cons
weird hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJune 5, 2018
The campus is amazing as are the students. There are good and bad as with any job, but somehow it is easier to put up with the bad when you work in such a beautiful place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and family oriented
ACCOUNTING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, NHMay 31, 2018
I have enjoyed working at Dartmouth College. It offers flexible time and great benefits. I would definitely recommend working for Dartmouth if you can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dartmouth College
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHMay 25, 2018
Working for Dartmouth was a great experience. I learned a variety of everyday life skills, and was treated with respect. I enjoyed working for Dartmouth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great shop/not best life balance
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHMay 18, 2018
I was only a contractor. I had a dire family emergency requiring me to leave the state. I came back and had no job. I do not feel this was cool. Otherwise, the people are awesome, a beautiful campus and good all around.
Pros
A very "tight ship, " well run, very competent people
Cons
Not the best life balance for contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHApril 2, 2018
Just a good place to be. Benefits were amazing and I loved what I did there. That's all I can say about being there. A bit of stress and the driving there was a pain.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the students
Counter Worker (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHMarch 23, 2018
very fast filling coolers making lots of sandwiches
the way that a food service runs
good to work for
loved the positive spirit from students
keeping up with the young kids
Working with the Students
Pros
free food good hours
Cons
parking and changing job for the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomous Environment
Registered Nurse -College Health Nurse (Current Employee) –  Hanover, NHMarch 23, 2018
Triage for primary care patients
Blood drawing per provider orders
Inpatient care of college population
Mental Health Crisis evaluation and triage
Adherence to medical standing orders per providers on call
Pros
Autonomy of nurses, wide variety of skill used
Cons
Low pay, 9 month position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok as a job make good money
CUSTODIAN (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHMarch 9, 2018
clean up after college students , wax floors wash windows , clean dorm rooms , clean bath rooms dusted rooms and buildings..........................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not flexible, poor management
Employee (Current Employee) –  Hanover, NHFebruary 28, 2018
What I was told in the interview and hiring process did not meet what the actual job was. Management does not help when you need them and there is no formal training process for my job to help me succeed. Feedback is only given when necessary, not on the spot to help you succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Dartmouth College
April 6, 2018

Would you be willing to have a further conversation about your experience, we are always looking at ways to improve our employee experience. jobs@dartmouth.edu or contact 603-646-3466 to reach Talent Acquisition.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Institution
Associate Athletic Director for Facilities (Current Employee) –  Hanover, NHFebruary 27, 2018
Work \ Life balance can be a challenge in some of the different areas of the College. There are many great staff members at the College but most have to take on a great deal of responsibilities as positions have been cut over the years causing staff to work harder and commit to additional hours to still provide the highest level of service and resource.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, benefits, worth while.
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJanuary 30, 2018
Competitive pay and excellent benefits, make the sometimes demanding work well worth the challenge and dedication required of this fast paced environment.
Pros
Great health care, benefits, pay
Cons
Micro-management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervised student lab assignments.
Engineering Lab Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hanover, NHJanuary 25, 2018
Taught labs of 4 - 14 students, mostly night labs. Students were eager to learn and mostly cooperative. Some weeks would get long when supporting several classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mixed
Assistant Registrar for Systems (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJanuary 24, 2018
needs better leadership. culture is somewhat dated and with a rural economy, they have a captive population.

great benefits

poor leadership and communications with the general staff.

Tenured faculty can be challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJanuary 23, 2018
Its been a while since I worked there. I did enjoy it. I suspect that it has become an increasingly competitive place to work. That is true for most academic environments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beautiful area
Waitress/Server (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJanuary 17, 2018
Loved working for Dartmouth College. A lot of benefits, nice campus. The management were very supportive. Got to meet a lot of famous people. There were a lot of activities around campus that always kept us busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful academic setting to work in.
Financial Aid Assistant - Dartmouth Medical School (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJanuary 14, 2018
Diverse, interesting place to work. Work was challenging, freedom to work the projects your way with direction if needed. Great benefits and hours, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NHJanuary 2, 2018
This is an excellent place to work. They take care of their employees and is a great place to help students and faculty with their studies. It is an inclusive, diverse, and great work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dartmouth College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Dartmouth College Reviews by Location