Davey Tree Employee Reviews

Found 219 reviews matching the search See all 250 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive Workplace
Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 6, 2019
As large as they, they are very focused on family and the individual. Corporate is very down to earth. The meetings are valid and almost always open to questions and comments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If it sounds like hard work it usually is.
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJanuary 2, 2019
Davey tree has been a good company to me. I have traveled for storms and paid handsomely. This line of work is not easy. It is dangerous. Luckily Davey has the highest safety standards and safeguards in place. Easily the most exciting job I've ever had.
Pros
Overtime is often offered.
Cons
It can be an abrassive work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Davey is a good place to work
Foreman/Climber (Current Employee) –  Placerville, CADecember 26, 2018
I have worked for Davey for 8 yrs started at the ground level worked myself to a foreman Davey is a fair company to work for they do recognize hard work and give you the opportunity to advance in the company I personally have been happy with the company
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
Lots of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont bother unless you're a felon.
Crew Foreman (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 26, 2018
low pay, a lot of work. you can get your CDL here, so I guess that is a perk. you will be in a safety sensitive position, tree work is dangerous. pay isn't worth it.
Pros
free CDL license
Cons
everyone you work with is high and nobody cares about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Enviornment
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Trenton, NJDecember 16, 2018
Davey was a great company to work for I really enjoyed all of the work there was. It was a great place to learn a lot of new things and get experience under my belt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VADecember 6, 2018
The money was good. Long hours and I worked with a blower. Spend a lot of time in the truck and driving from different sites. The managers were relax.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair and unorganized
Fleet Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VANovember 30, 2018
Turned down another job offer to take this one. After being actively employed for two weeks, corporate decided to terminate me the day that my background check came back. Even though I answered all questions on the application honestly, they still terminated me. Now it's Christmas time and my kids have to suffer. Yea, thanks Davey.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Corporate sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to call a career
Sales Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Aston, PANovember 27, 2018
lots of work hours if you want .
always keeping bust year round
nice working equipment
bosses are really nice to work with salesman are awesome too
get to see some nice places
clients are nice
Pros
steady work
Cons
work outside in all kinda of weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  MichiganNovember 26, 2018
First.. they said i would work in my home state all year. next thing i know im flying to ohio. they changed my flight and location 3 times before i left. got to ohio and from there on was just a ball of chaos. no one knew exactly what we were doing. luckily i came from a utilities industry leader. management was awful. i had a truck i got in ohio that i told management wasnt safe. made it to michigan and lost the transmission. stuck in a cornfield for a day. after the next truck being even worse i simply flew home. stay clear.
Pros
none
Cons
eveything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company every company has its flaws
Climber/Grounds Person NYC ALB Contract (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 26, 2018
Not a bad company just not the best people making the decisions on the lower end of the company. Not the higher ups fault, Im sure they were not aware .
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and not productive
Equipment Operator/Bucket Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PANovember 25, 2018
Very understaffed, management does nothing to help those in the field. Barely anyone there knows how to actually do tree work. They preach safety and proper arborculture practices but fail to meet any of what they say. Pay was good
Pros
Pay
Cons
No breaks, unskilled workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but fun
Tree Trimmer (Current Employee) –  Newport, TNNovember 17, 2018
This is a great place to work if you like using a chainsaw. You get to go to tops of mountains sometimes and see a great view. The work isn't bad just not for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers
Climber (Former Employee) –  Livingston, TXNovember 13, 2018
The management at the Livingston Tx locations is awful. Poor management; lack of respect from management; no advancement;no tools and equipment for use;
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unable to provide detailed review
Yearly Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Flat Rock, MINovember 11, 2018
Confidential company and cannot provide detailed review. Enjoyed work at this company and would recommend to anyone who likes to work long hours in the outdoors.
Pros
Fun eviroment
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work environment to earn some great money
Driver/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Marianna, FLNovember 2, 2018
Productive and fun work place to earn good money.The work can be dangerous at times but you have great people who around you to make sure that you stay safe..
Pros
A friendly atmosphere
Cons
Short breaks, easy work pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low key and interesting place to work
Customer Experience Coordiantor (Current Employee) –  Soquel, CAOctober 31, 2018
I was part of a acquisition from my previous company. It was a fairly smooth process. However, I needed more training than what was provided. The other people in this position offered great support so I was able to come up to speed.
Pros
Very good benefits and good work environment.
Cons
Managers need more training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Plant Health Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 30, 2018
Great people, possibility for advancement, great for forestry majors after college. I work as a Plant Health Technician. The hiring process was easy, just a drug test and a physical. The work is physically strenuous at times, but pretty relaxing on the mind. Overall, good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but management sucks
Tree Forman (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COOctober 29, 2018
Love the safety an the stock option. Has great room to advance you knowledge if you love the field your in. Helps you become a better forman an climber.
Pros
Love stoc an health insurance
Cons
Not a great management to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Tree Worker (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHOctober 23, 2018
Great place to work at however work is sometimes temporary and seasonal. The team worked well together and management was a support and the only downfall was in order to become permanent you had to relocate to Toledo, OH, which I could not do because my family was in WV.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDOctober 22, 2018
Great company to work for, only thing is need to change pay rates per area not a company wide pay. There is a big difference in Mid Atlantic than Ohio.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Davey Tree. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 250 reviews
578
473
351
223
125

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight