Davis Cartage Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lame
Warhouse worker (Former Employee) –  Corunna, MIAugust 6, 2018
I like it there some time but they like to play favorite to different people and u did not get no overtime at all and there equipment sucks so bad you will never see me working there again
Pros
I like some of the people there
Cons
And only get one break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Davis Cartage Company
September 20, 2018

People in our warehouse get plenty of Overtime, not sure of your situation. Equipment is replaced and upgraded all the time. Also are getting quotes on new Forklifts

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Corunna, MIDecember 26, 2017
like any job it was stressful and was working long hours and putting in more hours a week then i should have but the pay was good at the time of working there.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
not good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and the people were rude
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Owosso, MIOctober 21, 2017
Not a place I would work. I hate it there not for me u always smell like nasty ads pickles and the people are rued and it is just yuck and the home shop has sticky floors
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Davis Cartage Company
September 20, 2018

We listened and changed management and floors have to be cleaned up, not exceptions!

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Mason, MIAugust 31, 2017
Management did a poor job. Employees are underpaid. Management did not allow me to switch shifts due to a family emergency. They allow uncertified people to operate forklifts and other heavy equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Davis Cartage Company
August 20, 2018

Everyone goes thru training and is certified on forklifts before they are allowed to operate

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but laid-back company that allows you to grow and appreciates your input
Manager (Current Employee) –  Corunna, MIFebruary 10, 2017
Davis encourages their employees to bring suggestions for different ways to get the job done. Management is easy to approach. There is a family atmosphere. It is not uptight or rigid. They are flexible on starting and ending work times. They are small, so you get to know everyone on a first name basis. Their wages are somewhat lower than surrounding city wages, but they do offer a nice benefit package with reasonable employee contributions. Overall it is a very nice place to work, especially if you live local.
Pros
great health benefits at reasonable rates
Cons
wages are less than surrounding cities or larger companies in the industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company
Class A Semi Driver (Former Employee) –  Corunna, MIMarch 5, 2015
This is one of the best companies that I ever had the opportunity to work for. They are wonderful to work with and treat their employees like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 19Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress, long hours,
Fork Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Corunna MISeptember 26, 2014
Not much to say about this company other then its not run right and has a lot of safety hazzords.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Davis Cartage Company
September 20, 2018

We have a safety coordinator that over looks all operations and that everything is up to code! Also replaced and hired all new management in 2017

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Safety & Environmental Asst (Former Employee) –  Corunna, MIMay 23, 2012
Safety & Environmental policy managment
Driver review
HR administration
Pros
very professional organization
Cons
business struggling job security was an issue
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Davis Cartage Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 9 reviews
53
41
31
21
13

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture

Davis Cartage Company Reviews by Location