Day One Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive working environment
Staff (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIJune 19, 2019
The ED and COO are very condescending and abusive. The staff are afraid of them and put up with the abuse because they care about the mission. It's not a healthy place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Intern (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJanuary 4, 2019
Everyone at Day One was really great to work with. My time there was short but I really enjoyed working with and getting to know the staff. The workplace is very relaxed but everyone is passionate about their work and eager to get things done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun activity
Relationship Abuse Prevention(RAPP) Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 24, 2018
It was a really good job and I learn a lot from it and I made good friends and fun activities and it was really great working with others at the job and get to know other people I didn’t know and became good friends
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy environment for staff
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Portland, ME 04101April 14, 2018
Management does not value their employes. Leadership is lacking as well as making sure the Mission Statement is being honored. Clients needs come last.
Pros
Working with the kids
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sinking ship
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Providence, RISeptember 24, 2017
Day one does not have the funds to cover their own payroll. At one point Peg langhammer and their accountant did not get paid. Their turnover rate is extremely high. A lot of the employees are great people however the management is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great intern job
Peer Leader (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 28, 2017
the whole cast were great very friendly and out going learned a lot about different policies and the staff are very eager to help you in anything very lay back atmoshere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good agency with great results
Care Associate (Current Employee) –  Hinckley, MEJuly 7, 2017
Great environment for the population being served. Structured, and residents are held accountable for their actions. Treatment and community re-integration are only a part of services offered.
Pros
Great purpose
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like what the company stands for and what Day One does for the community.
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIMarch 15, 2017
What Day One does for our state and our community is very remarkable. What we and they deal with on a daily basis is no easy feat. I would receive reports from the various police departments, DCYF and the Aubin Center that contained important information. I would read over what I would receive and send an email out to my team. I would also gather information from the team so as to when I was able to schedule a forensic interview and input data as reports came in. One of the hardest parts of the job was reading what was in the reports, but it was also rewarding knowing that I was helping in some way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative start-up
Co-founder (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 22, 2017
This was a start-up company that had a successful market test, but the results did not prove compelling enough to secure additional capital to grow the business to scale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and passionate work for the greater good of society.
Education Specialist (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIMarch 11, 2016
Day one is closely ties institution with affiliates with professionals are are dedicated and passionate about decreasing rates of dating violence.
Office setting and day to day activities resemble most non profit institutions. You should be passionate and involved in the mission.
Its not a job its a career dedicated to the greater good of our society.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 25, 2015
I learned many things with Day One. I worked with a great team. They were incredibly smart, warm and patient. Each of them taught me so much.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonder place
Domestic Violence Advocate Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIJanuary 23, 2015
It is a good place to volunteer at. The only problem is that you can last months without getting a call out. Overall, they provide a lot of training and job opportunities.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
No day shadowing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Health Policy Liaison (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 23, 2014
Great work environment
Friendly Staff
Has various campaigns going on through LA County
Overall focus is public health
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and chill
Student Assistant/Intern (Former Employee) –  Pasadena CaFebruary 17, 2014
we enjoyed each others company but handled business at the same time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Intern
Film Maker/Volunteer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 13, 2013
This organization does amazing work with teenage IPV survivors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Life Changing
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CADecember 27, 2012
Being around people that help u succed.
Talking and finding productive thing to do for the community .
managers are very nice and helpful
cowokers were fun and people to keep in contact with
the hardest part of the job is nothing just being there on time
everything about thing job was injoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive and nurturing environment.
Prevention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEAugust 2, 2012
Our directors were so fantastic!!! They encouraged creativity and personal accountability and independence. I am still friends with my co-workers there. I would not trade that experience. I truly enjoyed working on so many different levels. I worked with students, parents, police, hospitals, community leaders, and the states Attny. General. It was a fantastic journey. I appeared on televised forums and learned a great deal and appreciate all that I was taught by my mentors there.
Pros
co-workers, travel, public contact, and success of students!!!
Cons
the pay there was minimal but it was a non-profit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

See more Day One reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Day One. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 23 reviews
511
43
34
22
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture