Dean Foods Company Employee Reviews

Found 466 reviews matching the search See all 470 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits
VACATION RELIEF OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 17, 2018
Needs better work/life balance for employees. Off days can be scheduled a little better so employees can have at least consecutive off days. The pay is good and the benefits are too.
Pros
Pay/Benefits
Cons
Work schedule, No time to plan anything with family except for vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay
Warehouse truck driver (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCAugust 17, 2018
Warehouse works off of four employees. You have busy day & very few slow ones. No air or heat in warehouse. You make a nice amount yet you work a lot of hours.
Pros
Good money
Cons
No life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constricting
Withheld (Current Employee) –  WithheldAugust 17, 2018
Industry is shrinking. Dean Foods is shrinking with it. Although an industry leader, competitors market & innovate MUCH more effectively and are gaining share.
Pros
Good products
Cons
Less opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drunk big boss runs wild on plant and women manager
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 17, 2018
Bossfropm dallas always drunk when he came in wildly raging at woman boss allowed to physically threaten this is no place for a woman to work.Think twice before joining up..no protection woman are set up for failure..this is a good old boy company other then HR
Pros
At local leval bosses try to protect you
Cons
Dallas hires fractured executive's ( men) sets them lose with no supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Ricoh Managed Services (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 16, 2018
Great Environment to work in. Very professional and friendly environment! Co-workers always a pleasure to work with. Maintained a positive culture. Don't regret working there.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Bad Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and steady
Filler Operator (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILAugust 16, 2018
Helps knowing what I'm going to run on a daily basis
In constant contact with management
Shift has lighthearted attitude
Hardest part is if some part of the machine malfunctions
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Under staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate decision to close local plant
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Evart, MIAugust 14, 2018
Evart Michigan Liberty Dairy had been a main source of employment for the local area for over 100 years. Dean Foods decided to close the plant in 2013.
Pros
Free milk products, good benefits and wages
Cons
Plant closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work but could be stressful
Multiple Positions (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCAugust 14, 2018
Was a good place to work but could be stressful and could overwork you at time. The hardest part was the amount of hours i worked and the travel i had to commute to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great company
Key Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 13, 2018
Used to be a great company, customer service is what drove to growth. Now Customers are last on the list and they are cutting back to the bone and cannot deliver service and don't care.
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Poor leadership direction changed on a whim
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking team environment
Leadership Team Member (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 11, 2018
Leadership lacked team work environment the "team" was in large part made up of friends and not the team as a whole. Several areas of the facility needed much work, maintenance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Route Settlement Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILAugust 8, 2018
I’ve learned a lot working for Deans for 10 years now. Worked in 2 departments, Customer Service & Billing. I’ve learned a lot of about the company and myself. Such as, how the company works, working with distributors and drivers. Everyone is very nice and welcoming. We are like a family. Some management needs some work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good pay
Area Sales Manager/Key Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 6, 2018
Pay/benefits very good. You have to pay for your own company car. Training could be better. They have cut back so much that everybody is overworked. People leave you alone but if you need something its tough to make contact.
Pros
Pay/benefits
Cons
Training not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Loader/Unloader (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 6, 2018
An ok place of employment could have better management and pay better attention to their employees. Need more raises. Needs better scanners and electric pallet jacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace cut throat environment
Loader (Current Employee) –  Thief River Falls, MNAugust 5, 2018
If you enjoy life you don’t want to work there. Impossible to get a day off and you have to pick your vacation a year in advance and take it a week at a time.
Pros
Paid good
Cons
No time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Orientated, Get your job done and go home.
Break Relief / Freezer Operator (Former Employee) –  Saint George, UTJuly 31, 2018
- Reviewing your paper work to figure out what's the best way to get what you need to get done within that day. Taking 5 minutes to review your paper work can save you 2 hours of wasted time.
- Team Work is the number one thing. Learning how to time manage everything at once was definitely a learning experience.
- I believe management could've cared more. We were a start up plant that needed all the help they could get. There were times when I'd work 60 plus hours a week for 8 weeks or I would've been pointed out and loose my job.
- The production side is very friendly but also sturdy. They don't mind sharing a laugh with you as long as you know what your job is. They want to be proficient and as long as we keep our heads up things tend to run well.
- Lifting 55 lbs buckets up and over your shoulders was the hardest part of the job. The short runs to make ice cream was a challenge as well.
- When you have a 30,000 product run that's the exact same. The bigger the runs the easier the day is. My goal was to hit over 30,000 and then second shift would have the other half to finish.
Pros
Healthcare, Dental, Vision
Cons
Uncomfortable waterproof Steel-toed Production Boots are the Worst Thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My life at Dean Foods
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 31, 2018
I like my job at Deans and I get along well with my co workers. The hours are long, but the pay is good. It's not my choice to leave Dean Foods, they are going out of business.
Pros
Great Insurance
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a really great place to work just most of the time the manager has no idea what hes talking about
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Homewood, ALJuly 30, 2018
It's a great place to work it just has a lot of cons management is terrible the war between first shift and second shift it the worst I've ever seen you really have a total war there without 2nd shift there is no Mayfield
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Not really a career
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment was better 25 years ago.
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Huntley, ILJuly 29, 2018
When I started with Dean Foods in 1988 it was a pretty nice place to work. When SUIEZA bought them out in 1990 things began to change. It was no longer a family owned business. It became part of a large corporation.
Pros
Good health care, nice co-workers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Forklift Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MIJuly 25, 2018
My time at Dean Foods was good. I'm leaving due to facility closing.
The job and the people were to my satisfaction.Teamwork and production was the daily goal.
Pros
Collaboration
Cons
Closing of facility
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome pay and retirement
Lead Person (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KY 40218July 19, 2018
A very unsafe place to work. They didnt care about you personally. It was all business too them. Their is alot of good people there that are very unhappy because that's the way the run the place. If you ever got hurt there..then they would push you away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dean Foods Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 470 reviews
5111
4118
3118
261
162

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.1Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight