Denny's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gm sucked at that time
Line Cook/ Breakfast/ Lunch/ Dinner (Former Employee) –  Lumberton, NCApril 25, 2018
the gm during my time there did not care about her employees unless you were one of her favorites. low pay was a factor as well especially since the kitchen almost always ran with only one cook and one dishwasher and rarely maybe on week mornings they will bring in a second cook
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's is alright to eat at but not to for
Server/Host (Former Employee) –  Kingdom City, MOApril 25, 2018
The management at Denny's is horrible, they blame everything on the servers even though some of the problems are the cooks or being understaffed/over worked. They do not listen to their customers complaints. The tips are good but not worth getting yelled at and blamed for no reason.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all not at great place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Wytheville, VAApril 25, 2018
Manager had to work over if someone didn't show up which was all the time.GM was hard to work with.Other staff was good to work with.2nd shift manager had the worst job.If someone didn't come in as it happen all the time,you came in at 3 to 1 some days you had to work until 6 am and come back the same day at 3.It was hard to do that at times
Pros
Benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Alamogordo, NMApril 24, 2018
I enjoyed working for QK. I advanced quickly however my supervisor at the time was extremely inappropriate. I didn't leave on bad terms and I returned as a General Manager. However I knew I would never grow again within the company. When my brother needed me to move to Ruidoso,it was not in my favor to be transferred.
Pros
Learn a lot through training
Cons
Very political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job.
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Sierra Vista, AZApril 24, 2018
Fast paced, fun hob. You really get to know your customers and stay busy enough that time seems to fly by. Plus its good money if you are attentive to you customers.
Pros
Good people make work enviroment great.
Cons
Very fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great starter job
Cook, Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Haw River, NCApril 24, 2018
When I started working at Denny's it was first opening. good place to start if you need employment. Fast pace open 24 hours. It is under new management since I left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste.
Server/Host (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAApril 24, 2018
They worked really good with my schedule with I was attending college. Started off as a host and worked my way up to a server. Great tips. Learned how to talk to people and take orders over phones
Pros
Great food
Cons
Nothing bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
restaurant management (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIApril 22, 2018
Organizing what needs to be done for the day. I learned how to do scheduling, how to do food inventory with placing a food order. I was in charge of the safe program. The hardest part of my job was balancing complaints . I am a pepole person so I love you communicate with the people
Pros
Free food and lots of learning
Cons
Was driving to far for work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeWitt, NYApril 22, 2018
Management at my location has gone down hill. There is no teamwork what so ever. And the guests can see that. Store is dirty. It’s honestly not worth it. As an employee or a guest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job so
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 21, 2018
I was promoted after serving at the restaurant for 5 years! That’s restaurant is my home!! I love the mangememt team I work with as well as all the support from the district leader and owners!! Very happy to call this place my job and home
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yay
Server (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 21, 2018
Such a good company awesome work environment team work. Very accomodating. Nice people to work with. Will recommend to others as place of employment.t
Pros
Discpubts
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Server (Former Employee) –  Miami Gardens, FLApril 21, 2018
Customer service I work with them for over 5years I was the team leader shift manager I gain alot of communication skills Mangers Change quite often over all we had a great crew we all work well together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Es una familia.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Puerto RicoApril 20, 2018
Ambiente familiar los clientes aman ir a Dennys y se les trata muy bien.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth my time
Waitress/Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 20, 2018
I would arrive at differnt hours different days. Clock in and get to work.seiting costomers and taking drink request as they over look the menu. Give refreshments and take orders place them in computers and prepare what was necissary on the line. Taking trays of food to the table and taking great detail an accknolegement to their request. Then cashing them out and cleaning up after the guest has left the building.
Pros
50% off menu items
Cons
Most times no break and small tips. Lots of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Server (Former Employee) –  Page, AZApril 19, 2018
-serving customers as they come in keeping a clean work place environment.

-be quick on my feet and accuracy

- great management. able to work with school schedule.

- first restaurant job learning new experiences.

- employees and meeting new customers.
Pros
learning about the restaurant industry
Cons
slow winters
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its is for a teen
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Colonial Heights, VAApril 19, 2018
Denny help me get a car I wanted to go back when I got at Amazon but the manager took me off the schedule so I stayed at amazon I would go back but they don't rehire
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Idk
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Hostess/Waitress (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 19, 2018
Clock in, serve customers. Could be a good day or a bad day depending on the customers you great. Go in with a good spirit, if you have no patients this is not the job for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with cash daily
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAApril 19, 2018
A typical day, goes from walking in the speaking to coworkers as I go to the computer to clock in already in uniform. Check with the floor to see if any breaks needed. If so I go to that station and pick up where they left off. Continue to service her customers as well as, the new ones. Take orders, severe drinks, food, check back while they're eating to make sure everything taste good, come back pick up dirty dishes and see if there's anything else they desire. If not I wish them a great day and welcome them back. If time persedes I cash in their tab and give change if necessary. This all done with a smile. I go from station to break the servers and the hostess if it's my day to give breaks. Otherwise I greet customers at the door and seat them, cash them out, just walk through the restaurants to make sure everyone is doing great! This is the most enjoyable when the customers are happy! Most coworkers are pleasant and that's puts great vibes in the atmosphere. The most complicated was, no matter what you do there's always doing to be someone you can't satisfy no matter what. I keep doing my best but, they usually returned. If there's a problem, I'll solve it or the server of that station will. Overseeing all this took place when left in charged, plus making sure all side work is done to prepare for the 2nd or 3rd shift. Deposits were usually made right before or after lunch, depending on the flow of business.
Pros
Daily cash, love working with the public
Cons
usually on your feet 7.5 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Fall River, MAApril 19, 2018
Fast pace quick money new family they take care of their employees honestly best job ive had plus pay is good i wish i didnt have to move but i would deffinatly reccomend and go back
Cons
Rare breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Manager/General Manager (Former Employee) –  King City, CAApril 19, 2018
This is a great place to start your management career. They spend a great deal of time investing in employees. Great training program one if the best in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,013 reviews
51.5K
41.4K
31.3K
2491
1371

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.0

1.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight