Denny's Employee Reviews

Found 5,171 reviews matching the search See all 5,549 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Fun
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Durango, COSeptember 18, 2018
This is a wonderful place for young energetic people to work. It pushes you and teaches you so much about people and how to serve them better, in any aspect of living.
Pros
Dicounted lunch
Cons
No Health Care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place but super slow and low pay.
Server (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2018
I would work for 9-10 hours a day and leave with $12 in tips. Its ridiculous! I would go back if they raised pay. I would recommend working at a Dennys that’s popular.
Pros
Discount food
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great tips & experience
Hostess/Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CASeptember 17, 2018
It was stressful but tips helped a lot and so did the discounts ! Great when you need it. ............................................................ It’s great if you need it for a first job
Pros
Tips, discounts
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but Busy Environment
Prep Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lamar, MOSeptember 17, 2018
Denny's is a fast paced and fun job for the most part. I learned a lot about customer service there, and a lot about food safety and procedures. Its a family friendly environment, as well as a place for Seniors to gather at certain times of the day. There was a lot of children's parties, receptions, showers and other activities held there too. I found interacting with the customers was the most fun part of the job, and the hardest part, being on my feet for long hours. The shifts are scheduled every month and basically I got the same days on and off for the entire month. Schedules did changed from month to month.
Pros
Fun to work at, friendly people, good work conditions, great tips
Cons
Few benefits, pricey health insurance when you qualified for it, low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 17, 2018
Dennys is a job good for any person looking to start somewhere and gain serving experience. I cannot say that they have the best management team. Other than that its a great way to make tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
That's a great company to work for co-workers and stuff good experience
Denny's (Former Employee) –  Harris County, TXSeptember 17, 2018
I really enjoyed to be part of this company ever sence the first day I had a good time they have a value menu that helps with the customers to enjoy something good and since is 24 /7 it makes you as an employee to make your money it's always work there for you .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enthusiastic work space
Sever (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXSeptember 17, 2018
Always keep a nice steady pace to yourself! Stay clean, continue to check on your customers! Always keep a smile on your face! Don’t let your emotions interfere with business decisions.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work at
Dishwasher/Busser (Former Employee) –  Calumet City, ILSeptember 17, 2018
Denny's was not a fun place to work at. The management was biased to other employees that worked longer at the location than I have. Rude management and easily tempered owner.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
20 minute breaks or no breaks at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start rehiring good people and Pay more
Cook/Server (Former Employee) –  Moline, ILSeptember 17, 2018
Revise rehire policy sometime things are misunderstood as to what happened and now its as if I cant go back to a great place to work because of a technicality.
Pros
Good food
Cons
Its not free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
server/manager (Former Employee) –  Utica, NYSeptember 17, 2018
I loved my job at Denny's, but due to myself having to relocate, I unfortunately couldnt stay with this company, and with the new environment wasnt making what I was before the relocation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opened
Server (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYSeptember 17, 2018
I helped open the restaurant and I have to say it has improved 100% since opening. I loved the smaller work environment, and was able to learn a lot about serving. I worked all hours, mornings, nights, and overnights, and they were always willing to work around my schedule. I have recently re-applied with the company because they are a great company to work for. Management is easy to work with and the customers are great as well. Loved it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow paced environment
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  Burleson, TXSeptember 17, 2018
we did not have very many customers. i worked overnight the tips were not bad. it was not a bad job to work at i just did not like that the manager was always late
Pros
tips
Cons
manager and employees always late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i left
Waitress/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bastrop, TXSeptember 17, 2018
Working at Dennys was a living nightmare. Especially working with high schoolers that didn't want to work. I would have loved to stay at Dennys if I could have moved to morning to be able to get my kids at 3.
Pros
discounts, costumers
Cons
manangerment'
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen Area
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLSeptember 17, 2018
Una empresa con grandes oportunidades buen ambiente laboral
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First real job.
Server/Host (Former Employee) –  Altoona, PASeptember 16, 2018
This was my first real job while I was in college and it served its purpose. I made a lot of great friends there and met a lot of nice people surprisingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Server (Current Employee) –  Clovis, NMSeptember 16, 2018
If you love to interact with people then this is the job for you. I love working around the guests. A lot of drama sometimes but keep to your self and it will be ok
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
I really can't think of none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and steady
Server (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDSeptember 15, 2018
I absolutely loved working here. Allot of the people were awesome to work with. even the managers made it to where you loved your job. It could get testing at high traffic times such as lunch, but everybody was there to help each other. It wasn't like most places where it's each person for themselves.
Pros
awesome people
Cons
lunch and dinner rush chaos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people
Sever and hostess (Former Employee) –  Carthage, TXSeptember 14, 2018
Good job there caring about you th er y help teach you how to do your job there awesome to work with and talk to they take time to make sure you know how to do you job
Pros
There nice
Cons
Idk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Chef (Current Employee) –  Austintown, OHSeptember 14, 2018
Pay is not good and some
Managers don’t run the company as smoothly as they should and they let people drink while on the job and really just do what they want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting out job
Hostess / Server (Former Employee) –  Ripon, CASeptember 13, 2018
Not recommend for long term, good job to start out!
Management at dennys in Ripon CA was not always handled the best!
the environment is very fast paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,551 reviews
51.6K
41.5K
31.4K
2548
1433

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight