Denny's Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 5,324 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.5K
41.5K
31.4K
2523
1412
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 4,955 reviews matching the search See all 5,324 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was poor
Server (Former Employee) –  Ocean City, MDJuly 19, 2018
I really did like working at Dennys when the previous managers worked there. When they left and sold the restaurant, they brought in new management, people started quitting because he was a very rude and disrespectful young man. He treated the people who had worked there for years with utter disrespect.
Pros
we got discounts on our food
Cons
management sucked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXJuly 19, 2018
Dennys was my first waitress job I love the atmosphere of Dennys, Denny’s is a great place to work at just not as busy as it use to be. Management is very good never had problems with the managers. And love the staff I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wotk was stressful
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  New Milford, PAJuly 18, 2018
i had to was dishes from the shift before and none of my co-workers where supportive or helpful all they did was complain and talk down about me so work was always stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn’t a good place to work
Dishwasher/Busser (Former Employee) –  Millville, NJJuly 17, 2018
The management is not perfessonal and they have you doing too much for what your getting paid to do. It’s always problems with the employees and sometimes start into fights
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena
Restaurant (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJuly 17, 2018
Ay mucha comunicasiones con los empleados es muy bueno
Pros
Bueno
Cons
Si 30 minutos de descanson
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for dennys great hours and wonderful tips.
Waitress/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 17, 2018
Flexible schedule and such a fun up beat environment. Really enjoyed working for them. They have such a Clean friendly establishment. Enjoyed every minute of my job.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Not enough sections at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, fair management.
Server (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDJuly 17, 2018
All my managers are nice and care about my feelings. It's like a family when you work there. If something ever came up and I needed a day off they would do whatever they could to help me. You never get neglected with tables and everyone helps everyone. I love my job and would always recommend to anyone looking to start serving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work envoiroment
DISHWASHER (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJuly 17, 2018
the time that i worked at dennys to the time i left, denny's was a very comfortable fun, easy to understand job stettting, love the pay, and i also loved the work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
HOSTESS (Current Employee) –  San Dimas, CA 91773July 16, 2018
Denny's has taught me more customer service skills and how to serve. The employees are very friendly. The hostess job is easy to learn. Management is a bit unorganized with the hours but will work with you on your schedule
Pros
food discounts
Cons
not a lot of communication between employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Placerville, CAJuly 16, 2018
It's very tedious at times because of rushes but overall is an easy job. As a host you have to assist the servers, run the cash registers, do janitorial duties, etc.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
No benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience
Cook (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 16, 2018
It was a very rewarding experiencein the end i didn't agree with the new general manager and the lack of cleanliness and the lack of dedication to her position
Pros
Fast paced, busy
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was long time ago.
Associate Manager/AGM (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 16, 2018
It was long time ago but it was the start of my restaurant management career and I was lucky to work with some great managers and I learnt a lot from them,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love being a food server
Food Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Lake Tahoe, CAJuly 16, 2018
If I had the opportunity to be a food server again I woul do it because I made a career out of it for years and I'm good at it😀you are either the type of person who is cut out to be a food server or you are not and I m one of those people that are.
Pros
Very good tips
Cons
It can be overwhelming at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Canton, TXJuly 15, 2018
Its a decent place to work at. I love my co-workers, but im not making enough money. Im a single mom. The GM is difficult to work for, but the owner is wonderful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  French Lick, INJuly 14, 2018
I enjoyed working there.i worked thsre for several years. I seen many people come and go. Overall a fantastic place to work. Managers needed more though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun crew nice people
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTJuly 14, 2018
i loved working for dennys. it was a great family environment to work in.everyone is super friendly and willing to train thouroughly. all in all dont hesistate to apply and enjoy your career at dennys
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment filled with friendly people
Server (Former Employee) –  Simi Valley, CAJuly 14, 2018
Here I learned what it really was to be a server due to the fast paced environment in the morning, and working here really sharpens your customer service skills, and work as a team.
Cons
24hr restaurant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First real job
Service Assistant/ Host/ Cook (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAJuly 14, 2018
I did almost everything except serve and manage. I would avoid working graveyard unless you have too. If you work hard try to get a morning shift. Service assistants do a lot but there was no tipping policy when I was one. It was up to the servers but not mandatory for them. Cooks make good money, but the better you are the more likely you’d be working by yourself on the line, which is fine when it’s slow but if it’s busier than usual it can get stressful and better hope the manager on duty had good cook training.
Pros
Free lunch for cooks, social environment
Cons
Graveyard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Server (Former Employee) –  Plant City, FLJuly 13, 2018
Seated guests, took drink and food orders, bused tables, restocked tables, stock behind the counter, clean the counter tops, made coffee and tea when needed, restocked salad bar and took inventory.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I will Never return
Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJuly 13, 2018
I worked as a late night server in a college town, and you would think it would have been easy money. It was anything but!!! We were often understaffed and management was a revolving door. One minute we had a set of rules, the next it was different. I left and am glad I did!!
Pros
I met my husband here... only good thing
Cons
hours, location, and in general was a bad place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Diversity score

65out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Denny's.

Powered by Comparably