Department of Corrections Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 1,552 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5472
4460
3385
2142
193
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,209 reviews matching the search See all 1,548 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long working hours
Correctional Officer I (Former Employee) –  Mangilao, GUMay 29, 2018
Working at the department requires an individual to work long hours throughout the day. Many countless hours are spent away from family and friends. Dedication is a must while working at the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be Proative
Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  Graterford, PAMay 28, 2018
The goals of a Corrections Officer are to remain alert and attentive to their surroundings at all times. Safety and Security of all individuals is paramount to the position and being effective.
Pros
Plenty of overtime
Cons
Overtime in complete shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was making the best out of a bad situation... The positive part is I learned a lot about kitchens and working along with others.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  East Moline, ILMay 28, 2018
I want to learn and grow with a company and be able to provide for my family... I learned a lot about myself and that I’m a hard worker and I like to get things right the first time around.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Being an absentee father
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Probation and Parole Officer (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 23, 2018
good department ;no
ability to move up
insurance was good; no raises
job not hard, but work load was overwelming
work life balance not good
not organized
communication between departments not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one should work here
Shop Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Burlington, VTMay 21, 2018
People with terms of life are occupying the most menial jobs with fervent passion, their passion for routine lays bare only at the mention of scandalous rumor. I have little patience for rumor and politics among stagnant roles, I did manage to get a $50,000 printer working, Build a wooden cabinet, and create an educational quiz using VBA after given a chance. All the while being told stretching oneself to learn new things as 'your strange'. The job I most liked was librarian which I held for a year.
Pros
low stress
Cons
ritual, pay, no mentor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Security Officer (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  Tucker, ARMay 20, 2018
Job is very stressful but salary is ok, opportunity for advancement within the department , offers good health care, vision and dental care insurance and paid vacation days off .
Pros
Health care is good
Cons
Short breaks and long 12 hours shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
English Professor (Former Employee) –  Bayamón, PRMay 20, 2018
It was a tense but productive atmosphere. Inmates that enroll the program were eager to succeed even if they were inside.
It was making a change in somebody's life. The classroom was well set.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
completed
Office Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 19, 2018
Repetitive tasks for a general work day. Consisted of a diverse workplace culture. Provided seminars and ice cream parties
Difficult customer serv.
Pros
Ice cream parties and workshops - also great benefits
Cons
work was repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun easy going
Assistant Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 14, 2018
great group of people work there easy work and great pay and over time alway aviable. could not get picked up when the time was up on the temp work. would def work there again,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Correcctions
Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Deerfield, WIMay 14, 2018
Never get raises and constantly asked to do more work. Tons of overtime. The risk of getting hurt is high. Lots of sick calls so constantly forced into more overtime.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career path
Secretary Specialist/HR Specialist (Former Employee) –  Raiford, FLMay 14, 2018
Love my job all around! Learned and inquired so much in detail from my fellow workers and leaders. I'm a hard worker, work well with others, a team leader and work hard for what I do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok to work there but salary was not enough
Word Processing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 12, 2018
This was a state job very slow pace as all the others. But the only thing the pay was very low so you would rather move on if you had a family to take of. Benefits was great.
Pros
The files
Cons
Getting a break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  New Boston, TXMay 11, 2018
I really didn't work there long the drives was to long. But its a good place to work . your life is in danger everyday so pay close attention to your surrounds. training is amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative relaxed environment
Food technician level 2 (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMay 8, 2018
The manager was amazing. The co workers were team oriented. Lots of room to grow. Training people to voluntarily work in the dining hall and dish room.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Unpaid training time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Clerk Typist (Former Employee) –  Crawfordville, FLMay 7, 2018
Work is what you make it with the department if you come in mad it might stay that way if you don't you may have a good day. Thats what i like about it
Pros
lunch
Cons
Using time for doctors appointments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Correction
State Correctional Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJMay 7, 2018
The department of correction is a great learning experience with excellent benefits and work hours. it gives in an in-depth look and understanding of the importance of safety and security and builds on public speaking skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Government
Human Resources Director (Acting) (Current Employee) –  Augusta, MEMay 4, 2018
As with any state government job, there is some amount of bureaucracy and change inherent with the Department. However, this Department is full of employees who truly care about the work they do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Forsyth, GAMay 3, 2018
good place to work, long hours, could pay more, great coworkers, enjoyed the hours that i worked, i learned good work ethics, and how to work together as a team
Pros
good place to work
Cons
no room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food service
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCMay 2, 2018
it was nice place to work in a commuity to help our inmate out to recivers a well balance meal 3 time a day .its be can stressful the sfatt was more the problem
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Corrections Officer (Current Employee) –  Kincheloe, MIApril 27, 2018
The state keeps making cutbacks and morale is low. The supervisors are just there for themselves. Privitization is only a matter to time. Stay away or get out before it happens.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report