Department of Labor Employee Reviews

Found 80 reviews matching the search See all 86 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration and management goals misaligned
Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 14, 2019
Unusually competitive, people are reluctant to help as they are encouraged not to share information between teams as the work process is different between managers it what is supposed to be a standardized process. Co-workers are also tasked with reporting their observations to supervisors, so it feels very Stasi-like. Each day at work is to prove your worth, not how to help the claimant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 10, 2019
It was a great place to work , fun people repetitive work . Manager were always approachable and friendly. Great benefits package and pay. Overall the experience was great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work
Frequent travel, report writing, financial analysis, work with a variety of people. Fast pace environment. Offer telework to staff great downtown location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Change Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 2, 2019
The job was nice. Work home life balance was good. The office environment was good and people were very friendly. My company was very nice to work for and my CEO was very friendly.
Pros
Remote work
Cons
One day weekly remote work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indenpendent contractors mandated by congress to evaluate mental health
Medical Consultsn (Current Employee) –  Stone Mountain, GASeptember 26, 2019
The work is independent and pay is based on a per case completion basis. The learning curve is great. The bureaucracy is fairly substantial in terms of change and flexibility. The comradery among physicians is good, The work hours are flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Edifying and Challenging
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 20, 2019
As a woman working with men it was interesting,edifying and challenging. Over all if I had to do again I would.
I enjoyed what I was doing because it allowed me to assist customers and create an atmosphere of collaboration and trust.
Pros
I had full run of the office
Cons
establishing team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging
Infrastructure Engineer/Dev Ops project (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 16, 2019
Best place to work , challenging. Learnt new tools.
Team was very flexible to work with.
Productive and Challenging
Diverse environment to work. Always had calculated work load.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, self-motivating, professional and exciting to work there.
Accountant (Former Employee) –  1100 N. Eutaw St. Baltimore MD 21201September 10, 2019
I was assigned to work as an accountant by Accounting Principals. It is very friendly, self-motivating and professional office. I liked working there.
Pros
Good paying job and initiating to work there.
Cons
Working there as temp employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job.
Analytical Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Downtown, Kansas City, MOSeptember 3, 2019
Micromanagement constantly. Ridiculous rules. Constantly under scrutiny regarding watching the clock - when to be there, when to go/from lunch, when to go home. Miserable place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm workplace with reliable members
Student-Aid (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRSeptember 1, 2019
My time at the department of labor was met with smiles and reliable co-workers. everyone, including myself, was hard at work and willing to help one another when the time came.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice experience
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Puerto RicoAugust 28, 2019
Working for a government department is great but because of politics it's not a long term position. Making a difference with a great attitude in any states offices it will help a lot to give a better service in the community.
Pros
Work for the government
Cons
Politics Position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the pay you get.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 20, 2019
Always understaffed. Expect you to do the job of three without a raise or a chance to go to a higher position. It is extremely stressful and even if you go above and beyond, you are not thanked or even acknowledged about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
SharePoint Developer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 18, 2019
It has been fun to work for Department of Labor as a SharePoint Developer. The team is very good to work with and helps develop a better outcome when it comes to delivering a project on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carl D Perkins Job Corps
Trainer (Former Employee) –  Prestonsburg, KYAugust 16, 2019
Extremely poor, unprofessional director. Hostile work environment. Laws broken daily but ignored by contracting agency. (Perkins Job Corps/Insights Training Group).
Corporate staff display superior, narcissistic attitudes without regard for staff needs.
Center staff nepotism. Many staff leaving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Guthrie, OKAugust 13, 2019
i dont really have a written review i guess not much as far as the department itself as the job corps program i was under thats the real statistic here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive envornment
PROGRAM ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 5, 2019
It was a great pace to work and wonderful learning experience. The management was going through transition and there was quite a learning curve. but i think it must be pretty good by now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is very poor
Attorney at Law (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 4, 2019
Basically the culture is of fraud and abuse. Telling the truth is usually punished in some form or fashion. Mag emend does not promote unless the candidate is willing to lie and perform illegal/ immoral acts to keep their position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applicants
Outreach & Admissions Counselor (Current Employee) –  North Carolina Job Corps, CharlotteAugust 3, 2019
The number one thing I enjoyed about working for Job Corps was working with the students, parents & community. I believe Job Corps is one of the best programs that allows males and females 16 to 24 years of age to get an education and get trade credentials. The fact that it's a residential program allows individuals to get away from at times a tough environment and have the opportunity to live in a better environment what day thriving culture to help them to be successful! I viewed Job Corps as a scholarship program because for each student attending it's the equivalent of $20,000-$30, 000 for each student that attends Job Corps per year that is being paid by our tax dollars.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
CareerCenter Consultant (Current Employee) –  Presque Isle, MEJuly 29, 2019
So far a great place
There are many different career paths to take. And it is never the same thing each day. Great job to have an actual career and management is focused.
Pros
Potential for growth
Cons
A lot of customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Investigator (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 23, 2019
The benefits are good, but you essentially advance based on the date you arrived. If you are a superior worker but someone was hired prior to your hire date, you most likely will not be promoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Labor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 86 reviews
541
418
315
26
16

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture