Department of Labor Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 435 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5185
4134
380
222
114
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 428 reviews matching the search See all 435 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping Others
Employment Counselor (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJuly 18, 2018
I was able to help many people while working with this company. That was the best part of the job. I also enjoyed collaborating with coworkers on how to best help my clients. Management was also very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Claims Deputy (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 16, 2018
I think the Department of Labor is a great place to work for job stability. There should an increase in pay being as though the work can be overwhelming at times .
Pros
Diversity
Cons
Pay is not great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Lopez, PAJuly 10, 2018
I worked there for a bit and I just watched it go downhill. It started with the not showing up to work stuff when it started to show on the cars after people stopped doing stuff with them
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding position
Supervisory Management and Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNJuly 10, 2018
Challenging position; always learning something new and resolving unique issues. Allows for initiative and autonomy as well as working in a team environment.
Pros
Great benefits; good people
Cons
Not enough advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Special Assistant to the Director, DEEOIC (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 9, 2018
A great place to work that treats its workers well. Depends upon your supervisor and the division that you work for. Excellent benefits, and get to serve the public.
Pros
Great location! Excellent benefits
Cons
Can be creatively stifling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dysfunctional and hostile enviorment
HUMAN RESOURCES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 9, 2018
The HR office had a great deal of turnover. Antiquated and cumbersome Personnel and Payroll systems. EEO issues. Extremely low moral. Unmanageable workloads.
Pros
Flexible schedule.
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Special Agent (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 25, 2018
The most enjoyable part of my job was the amount of travel that I was allowed to do. It gave me a great sense of pride to represent the U.S. Department of Labor when conducting investigations in other parts of the country.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Long work days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Fiscal Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 19, 2018
The Department of Labor is a good place to work because of their flex time. There is a cafeteria, snack bar and card shop in the building. Most people like working here because it is close to the Mall and the Capitol.
Pros
Flex time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to be if you know what you doing
Tier 2 Help Desk Technician (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 11, 2018
great place to work if you can carry your own weight. If you are a direct fed hire then you are great. I was a contractor and the contractpr fired me after I had a stroke. the FEDs did look our for me however they could, great people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Residential Counselor (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 10, 2018
I really love my job but there no room for advancement and the hours don't really allow me to have a personal life because I work graveyard and most weekends. The most enjoyable part of this job is I work with young adults trying to better their lives and I love being apart of this.
Pros
When a students completes the program.
Cons
No benefit package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productively slow
System Analyst (Current Employee) –  Christiansted, VIJune 6, 2018
Government in general is lacking the ability to keep good employs. 3 years ago, a raised was promised, nothing yet.

Good Environment.
Low spirited

Staff is friendly and fun to work with.
Pros
No overhead
Cons
No desire to boost employees moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission-driven public service work
Regional Director (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 5, 2018
The U.S. Department of Labor affords employees the opportunity to serve working men and women in the U.S. The most valuable part of the job is serving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady, but not overwhelming
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJune 2, 2018
Worked with under privileged young adults. Enjoyed interacting with residents and students. Staff was friendly and made working in the stressful environment more enjoyable.
Pros
Friendly staff & benefits
Cons
Off site management staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth
CTR Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PA 15206May 30, 2018
Working there provided me with the opportunity to grow as a professional. I learned my worth and knew when it was time to leave. I enjoyed the students and staff however, there were many challenges along the way.
Pros
knowledge and training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYMay 29, 2018
A typical day at work would be me cleaning the cafeteria, auditorium, bathrooms and some classrooms. Working here helped teach me how to work in groups and to be patient working for people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace, with outgoing coworkers.
Licensing and Regulation (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 26, 2018
Everyone was willing to help me with whatever i needed. i only was there for a couple months due to it being a youth works job but overall it was a very good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of employment, great supervisor and work environment.
Administrative Assistant, (Former Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLMay 22, 2018
This was a one year pilot program to provide paid training/education to veterans and low-income persons.

This job entailed recruitment, site monitoring, community resource recruitment, meeting with the customers, interviewing and encourage all to take advantage of the free educational and training benefits.

It was great to see recipients of the program graduate from the program and some to go on to higher education.

We also helped find housing, clothing and counseling services for all who became students of the program.
Pros
Free lunch, great business environment.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work environment
Office of Foreign Labor Certification (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 14, 2018
ability to learn more
friendly people
relaxed environment
learning how the government works
overall job is exciting
best job I've had in years
family oriented environment
Pros
incentivies
Cons
temporary job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace was enjoyable
Caseworker (Former Employee) –  Baden-WürttembergMay 13, 2018
Working with applications that contained confidential information, multitasking and having to be very accurate. I worked there over 20 years and it was a ongoing learning process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Secretary/Stenographer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC 20212May 4, 2018
Very good agency to work for. Lots of potential for professional growth. Classes were offered to expand employee skills and lots of on the job training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport