Dependable Highway Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 12, 2018
I worked for this company just a few months is the worse company I have work for in more than 14 years of experience Dispatchers are rude with the drivers they don't have respect and they are pushing you all the time they don't have the equipment for all the drivers you have to unload and you don't have pallet jacks is a nightmare the owner doesn't care as long he makes his money
Pros
None
Cons
bad place no management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Office (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 13, 2018
I would clock in do my task and clock out. No communication with other employees. The bad part was the people's bad attitude. Not friendly and always carrying a miserable attitude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Morale
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 2, 2018
Low pay structure, straight time only. Labor intensive: you're basically a driver/ lumper. Trailers are pretty beat up. Expectations are extremely high, yet pay doesn't match.

This is a job for a kid and or some one who needs the experience.
Pros
None
Cons
Already mentioned
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication
Harbor dryage driver (Current Employee) –  Chino, CAJanuary 4, 2018
They need to improve communication betwwen driver and management
Update dispatch practices
Update equipment maintenance practices
Update recruitment practices
Pros
Location
Cons
Lack of communication, old equipment and terrible maintenance of equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and good bonus pay
Truckload (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaDecember 3, 2017
Alot of california freight going to western states. The managers are good and easy to get along with. Good equipment, long and short runs, decent hometime. Bonus pay if you are consistent. Major pay increase.
Pros
Small company vibe, friendly. Good equipment.
Cons
Loads with too much time= less money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Data entry (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 24, 2017
Overworked and underpaid. They never gave me a raise and hardly took breaks or lunches. I was very disappointed with the type of managers my dept had.
There were times i worked 16-18 hrs and we wouldn't even take a 2nd lunch.
Cons
No breaks, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Great people
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAAugust 10, 2017
Good Job nice dispatchers ok paid. nice swing swift position from 5 to 2 full time. No complaints.I had to return back to school so I resign. I want to thanks D.H.E.
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
Touble window at the port
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 24, 2017
good equipment.
fair pay if you can get it. Got to able to negotiate.
maintenance good.
dispatch not always good.
long hrs driving.
sort time home miss birth days holydays weekends.
Pros
lots of work good equipment.
Cons
not home mouch if can get a way with not paying something will.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
Dock Worker / Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA 90023July 13, 2017
The time I was employed from this company i had a great work experience and had a friendly staff and plenty of work for forklift operators. Apply on line for job opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAJune 15, 2017
As a CSR you have to be ready when you go in to take calls. Every day is repetitive scenarios. You learn as you go. Must be sharp customers try to trick you.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
hired as a temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Come apply now.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Carson Calif. Harbor AreaJune 15, 2017
Im sorry to hear the upsetting reviews of past experiences from employees before myself. Dependable is a plce that people need to know about for That employment they believe dont exist... Dispatch works with you on chooing your own load & Help you out of situations this job come across to keep our wheels turning...HR they take time to answer calls, text, and one on one's. They simply care. Just all around fair to the driver's of our company... I was planing to simply get my feet wet at (DHE harbor) but ended up diving straight in to my new career... I highly recommend this company.. To new and senior drivers. 34469 NIGHTS!
Pros
Pay, Health care, bonuses, payed mothly driver meetings.
Cons
None for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive in time
Inventory Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 6, 2017
A day at work can be pretty heavy.

a lot from dependable

poor management

pretty nice environment

the people who don't pay attention

my friends
Pros
none
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
Line-Haul Driver (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 5, 2017
Work is slow and dm's dont communicate with you when work is slow and wait til you get to work to tell you work is slow go home. this happens very often.
Pros
runs are not that long
Cons
work is slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatly Improved morale
driver (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 3, 2017
over the last year or so, I can see the difference in attitude, equipment, and pay.

People are showing that they care more about supporting drivers. If you have a problem, walk in and talk to executives to get immediate attention. it's not perfect, but no job is. Definitely sticking around.
Pros
driver friendly executives
Cons
still have some older equipment that's being replaced slowly
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 26, 2017
Good place to work with opportunity to advance. Different departments don't often interact with each other. Overall I recommend this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Warehouse to work in.
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 3, 2017
Lots of positions available and there is always work for everyone all year long. Its a 5 story warehouse and every floor is different with different types of work for both men and women.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, great people to work with
Inventory Control (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 30, 2016
My typical day consist of handling all inventory request starting with highest priority first. I've learned a great deal about the ins and out of the shipping and receiving process as well inventory control and professionalism always being prepared. The management tends to be too strict sometime and tends to be standing over your shoulder a lot for no reason. Great people to work around very good atmosphere to work in. The hardest part of the job obtaining raises that your due. Learning as much as you can and being able to move up in the company.
Pros
free lunch sometimes
Cons
health care, vacations and raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family owned business
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 18, 2016
LTL freight terminal handling 300 plus shipments daily. Friendly co-workers, relaxed environment. Management is fair and open to new ideas. Experienced employees work well together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and productive office
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 6, 2016
A typical day varies depending on the day of the week. It could consist of processing 100 invoices, paying drivers, balancing company assets, or reconciling accounts. I learned to solve problems and apply what I learned in college. Management and co-workers were very supportive and caring of one another.
Pros
A lot of cross training between desks
Cons
Trucks blocking the parking lot in the morning
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 20, 2016
Terminal manager in Fresno don't care about drivers and talks to you like he owns the company. This company is b.s all around . Cheap cheap cheap .
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dependable Highway Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 42 reviews
58
412
311
26
15

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
2.9Culture

Dependable Highway Express Reviews by Location