Derby City Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good work environment
Data Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  DerbyFebruary 8, 2018
a good work environment, along with a great work place culture. Work life balance is a big plus and a very enjoyable experience. I've learned a lot during my employment with Derby City Council.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Ground Worker (Former Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireJanuary 11, 2018
Working with a team to provide great customer service for the clients requirements for gardening maintenance, also emptying bins and litter picking in communal areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent authority
Learning Mentor Consultant (Former Employee) –  DerbyJanuary 8, 2018
Derby were very good to work for. No complaints at all
Wages, HR , support services good. I worked across all Derby Schools and always enjoyed going in to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flat Liner
Civil Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  Derby City Centre, DerbyshireDecember 8, 2017
Unless your in middle/upper management level, you have no chance of progressing. Young people are bored and look to leave pretty quickly. Management are lackadaisical and struggle with man managing.
Pros
easy going
Cons
quickly become stale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
HR Assistant (Current Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireDecember 8, 2017
Derby City Council is a good place to work, staff and friendly and helpful and are keen that you develop.

There are plenty of internal job opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive
Derbyshire (Current Employee) –  DerbyshireNovember 22, 2017
To many chiefs hard work for the people that actually do work typical council.working hard to serve the public I do my job very well hence the years service
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Health Care Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireOctober 10, 2017
Reasonable place to work , though hours are limited to part time, not full time. Restructuring of the company leads to job uncertainty, otherwise i would certainly have stayed with them.
Pros
Flexi
Cons
not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  DerbyOctober 9, 2017
I would not be hear if it was not for derby city council, so I thank them , I was only a young boy back then so much to learn, and meeting different people, my job was to paint property s for the Derby city council, and you get to meet different people,
Pros
Very good work place then
Cons
You had to work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work life balance benefits
Manager (Current Employee) –  Derby City Centre, DerbyshireSeptember 19, 2017
Excellent work life balance benefits but a very stressful and frustrating working culture at times, mostly due to constrained resources, and unstable administration due to 3 in 4 yearly local elections.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and work life balance but no progression
Housing Officer (Former Employee) –  DerbyshireSeptember 14, 2017
A typical day at work included registering clients, finding emergency accommodation etc. I learnt how to cope in a pressurised environment. Excellent management.
Pros
work life balance flexi time
Cons
short staffed and too much workload
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Valued
Desktop Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  DerbyAugust 6, 2017
Not valued enough to continue working at this place . My skills diluted and feel neglected. Need to move on ASAP. Too much politics and favoritism happening. Not a good environment.
Pros
Nice people to support
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a good place to work
Children's Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireJune 28, 2017
There is no typical day at work. I have received excellent support from peers and manager. Very happy to be working there, I feel my job is fairly secure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer, opportunities for learning new skills
Passenger Transport Team Leader (Current Employee) –  DerbyshireMay 30, 2017
Been at Derby for over 10 years and have progressed my career and skills throughout my time here.
Good hierarchy of management.
Difficult times due to restricted budgets.
Supportive of employees.
Ive made good progression through the grades in my time from senior officer to team leader.
Pros
Flexitime
Cons
Limited budget
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireMay 13, 2017
Working here was a great place to have my first real job. I was given a broad range of duties and allowed to develop as an apprentice, The supervision given however was not great and I was mainly supported by colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fast paced.
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireMay 4, 2017
Relaxing environment to work in although the IT can be challenging and always crashing. Working with the public so I can get stressful however the colleagues are lovely and make your day so much easier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mkn
Civil Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  DerbyApril 18, 2017
i dont feel that this is going to help mew get a job, my current job is enjoyable and has a good core team. i would recommend this if you are fit and enjoy the outdoors
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireJanuary 22, 2017
Quite pleased how easy it was to upload my cv. Been in my current job for fifteen years so I am out of practice with all of this. Happy to recommend this service to my friends .
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Passenger Assistant (Current Employee) –  DerbyJanuary 18, 2017
start at 8am to 9 20 each day monday to friday.
My job consists of picking the children up from home and taking them to school then returning them back in the afternoons.
I transport 6 children on a bus some walk and others are in wheelchairs in which we have to clamp in so they have a safe journey to school the others I make sure them are in there harnessess and seatbelts.
I talk with the children so we have a pleasant journey to and from school.
Pros
in both my jobs I work for tdifferent companies but at the same place
Cons
none at the moment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Derby, DerbyshireJanuary 13, 2017
Poor management with no duty of care, good at not listening to you and believe its their way or the high way.

Procedure does not seem to be followed and when it does it is manipulated to suit them.

The people I work with are great and very friendly.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
HLTA (Former Employee) –  Normanton, DerbyshireJanuary 2, 2017
Good job prospects lovely people and nice families. Good salary and reasonable holidays, buildings comfortable and easily accessible.
Pros
Prospects
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Derby City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 68 reviews
526
424
311
24
13

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture