Despatch Industries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Panel Control Assembler (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNDecember 17, 2017
No ac in the shop makes it very hot in summer to work.
Wiring control panels for large industrial ovens, reading schematics, pulling and terminate wires.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despatch Industries Review
IT Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNNovember 27, 2017
I am not sure I can give an accurate review as it has been a very long time since I worked at Despatch.

I do keep in touch with my co-workers from there occasionally and I know a lot of things have changed sine I worked there.

I mostly remember the great people I worked with, everyone was always friendly and greeted you with a smile. There is a lot to be said for a happy work environment! :)

There wasn't much room for advancement at that time and the pay wasn't that great which is why I left.
Pros
Friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees work well together
Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNSeptember 4, 2017
The employees work well together we had a large engineering department and had a lot of input from the shop as far as input as design changes and improving manufacturing of projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Welder (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNAugust 21, 2017
people are friendly here . they will help you out if you are not sure how to do something. only welded for a few days but it was good experience. i like the benefits in here.
Pros
long breaks
Cons
layoffs unexpectedly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, but very volitile
Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNAugust 9, 2017
Despatch was a great company to work with for career development. I learned so much from being here but the company is very volatile with capital markets. Either it is growing or they are laying off.
Pros
growth
Cons
lots of layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom to make decissions with minimal supervision,enjoyed working here
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNJuly 6, 2017
Probably one of the best companies I've ever worked for thus far, definitely not a boring place to work, there were challenges but plenty of help if needed, jobs were always on the forefront of new technology, so you were always learning new service techniques and able to use troubleshooting skills, great co-operative environment and compensation for hard work was rewarded well, the only drawback is when the economy turns down so does the ability to stay employed. I worked twice for this company and would return again if offered a job. That is saying a lot about a company in this day and age.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Turn down in business when economy slows! Possibly layed off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun always something to do
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNJuly 5, 2017
Very good people to work with that were understanding and willing to learn to do things a different or better way. The management was pretty terrible because the salesmen got way too much pay for not making any sales and costing people their jobs. Management also sent over their bread and butter products to china so that wasn't smart either. The company isn't going to be around within the next 5 years without major changes. Other than the not so genius leaders of the company, the laborers on the floor were all top shelf people who knew exactly what was going on all the time. they really kept the company going for 40 plus years and still do. but with itw newly in charge of management all that is going to go away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eyes wide open
Metal Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNMarch 13, 2017
A typical day at work was unpleasant. I learned nothing. Management is biased! Workplace culture is oppressive. The hardest part of the job was showing up! The most enjoyable part of the job was going home
Pros
Union
Cons
Abusive management!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNFebruary 22, 2017
It was a fun place to work. Great group of people. Management was very friendly. The hours were early, but you got off at 2:30
Pros
good benifits
Cons
hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great environment to work
Welder/ Assembly (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNJanuary 25, 2017
work life balance is great. great managers. benefits are great. union is one of the best. job security is not too great. but great pay, great job, great management. they rehire when they can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All purchasing personnel are being laid off
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MNFebruary 12, 2016
All purchasing personnel are being laid off. Company being dismantled. Not a good place to work. Production being transferred to china.
Pros
Warm inside
Cons
Company being dismantled
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despatch is great long standing company
Sr. Project Manager-Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MNJanuary 20, 2016
During my time at Despatch I found my work there engaging and interesting. The customer interaction was professional and the equipment was well built and durable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despatch was purchased by ITW a few years ago
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MNDecember 7, 2015
The company has changed significantly. Many layoffs have happened as company duties were and continue to be consolidated with other business units worldwide.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great personnel
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNJanuary 1, 2014
150 year old private company making industrial ovens. Bought out by large public company. Business slowed down and first choice of the company was to outsource all production then lay-off personnel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despatch Iindustries
Full time Summer Electrical Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNDecember 27, 2013
Welcoming working environment

Company has for departments each encourages employees' contribution and development
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Test Technician, Electrical Assembler (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MNNovember 17, 2013
Some production lines are going to be eliminated. Some work has been out sourced.
Pros
Occasional Free Lunch or Doughnuts
Cons
Workforce Shrinking
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with.
Senior Materials Clerk (Former Employee) –  stockroomOctober 24, 2013
pulled parts to support the floor,aslo did shipping for ups,fedex.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked this shop
Welder (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNSeptember 16, 2013
i liked this shop a lot i liked the people a lot i got hired as a welder but didn't do a lot of welding there. i loved the hours. but they had a lot of people that worked over time and they ran out of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company destroyed by buy-out.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNAugust 20, 2013
Was a solid company with a very long history. A majority of their resources were moved into the development and support of solar cell manufacturing equipment. When the bottom fell out of that market, the layoffs started. They retained the talent for the solar line and cut the rest of the company. Now they can't build their traditional product lines and there is no market for solar at this time.

Expect layoffs every few months. If you don't get cut, you will get the work of those who were laid off dumped on you until you cannot keep up, then you will be let go yourself.

ITW bought them a couple years back, and put in place policies that crippled their ability to be profitable (i.e., outsourcing even when it cost more and took longer).

Otherwise, good people and some really good products. Hopefully things will change there.
Pros
Location, pay, hours
Cons
Regular layoffs, no bonuses, no chance for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a little dingy at times, although all the employees worked together well
Designer (mechanical) Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MN---Worked from Oxnard, CAJuly 30, 2013
My primary duty was as a design engineer and project manager. Besides providing good designs to a shop that was located in MN, I also had to manage smaller projects that were being constructed there. The hardest part about this position was trying to control the construction of items that were not made on site, they were being built 2,000 miles away.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Not being able to control the work that I was creating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Despatch Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 24 reviews
54
49
34
22
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

Despatch Industries Reviews by Location