Detroit Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary work
Field-Technician (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 12, 2018
Being it was contract work it can use some upgrades on how each operation is executed. Also paying it forward or broadcasting for the next shift or coworworker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Excellent example of an urban hospital system
Emergency Room Nurse (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 3, 2018
The DMC / Vanguard is a wonderful employer that places the community in the seat as the patient. They are friendly to Unions, LGBTQ, as well as anyone and everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry-level job...
HIM Processor II (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 30, 2018
Being a processor is a good entry level job, but is a bit repetitive after a period of time. Productivity is tracked, but environment was relaxed as long as you were working. Learned a lot of information about medical records and the death process paperwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
RN (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 26, 2018
I worked the night shift and took care of 7 patients each night. DMC gave me the opportunity as a new nurse to develop my skills as a nurse and provide patient centered care.
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Not enough support for night shift nurses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 25, 2018
Very competitive place to work.
Very limited carrier opportunities as a Medical Technologist.
No money and respect as MT
Good Coworkers to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The DMC was a nice place to work. We were a family.
Benefits Data Assistant (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 24, 2018
I really loved being able to help the employees with their benefit issues.
During my 20 years art the Detroit Medical Center.
I moved around to many different positions and I learned how to do many different Han Resource jobs such as COBRA and Retiree benefits
Pros
Detroit
Cons
The fact that DMV
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work environment
Project Genesis Intern (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MIJune 11, 2018
Standard medical center
Was an intern for 3 months
thoroughly enjoyed my experience
very personable staff
Salary was great for a summer intern $10/hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment
Regional Director/Abstraction (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 6, 2018
My most enjoyable part of my job was I had the opportunity to work work and give back to a company that I was dedicated to for 34 years. I had the analytical ability and comprehensive knowledge base to identify opportunities for improvement and problem resolution, and to evaluate clinical improvement procedures/techniques, analyze and interpret a variety of data and promote the translation of research into operational improvement through each one of my employees that I Directed.
Pros
Opportunity to Advance my Educational Career.
Cons
Laid off after 34 years of service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 4, 2018
a typical day at work was to come in and find out what location of the med/surge floor of the which was 5west. meet your patients and recieve a report from previous shift.
At Detroit Medical Center I learned how to handle an emergency life threatening situation without panicing.
The hardest part of the job was to see a human being going through an illness that was not curable or there was not another treatment for it, or to watch a person loose their life.
My most enjoyable part of working here was that everyday I learned something new.
Management was impeccable!
Pros
benefit package
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization overview
HR Director (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 24, 2018
Communication is disseminated effectively
Staff members work together like family members
Culture is diverse and embrace change
Executive team is transparent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goodd
Patient Attendant Safety (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 22, 2018
very good workplace
should work there
very diverse
pay is okay
staff is oak
family friendly atmosphere
management is nice
visitors is the hardest part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Harper Hospital Pharmacy (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 20, 2018
Best job to work, conveniently located. It is always busy and safe and secure. Love this place I wish it had more jobs for people to take part in. Lots of overtime avail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Housekeeper/Laundry Assistant (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 17, 2018
I love working here,met some really interesting people whom I had the pleasure of looking after.To them I was more than a housekeeper ,I was a friend they could trust,may they rest in peace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an great experience!!!
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 15, 2018
DMC was one of my very first jobs. I was working as an clerk.
My manager was great , the team was good. I just hated to leave and it was only because another job became available in my field. Also
I didn't know better. I should have looked around before I left the system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work
Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 9, 2018
Productive and busy place to work depending on the work site assigned. I have learned how to submit physician orders in the lab databases. In addition to the diagnosis and insurance billing information. While insuring successful venipunctures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 3, 2018
I would work there again because its close to my home and they care about their employees. The city needs to come up with some mental institute for some of the patient.
Pros
helping the community
Cons
no mental hospital nearby
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Change
Director (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 2, 2018
Caring management, but constant changes - which is pretty standard for healthcare. Benefits, especially time off, could be better. Employees carry a higher burden of benefit costs, again pretty standard for healthcare.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a nursing student and had clinical rotations here.
Nursing Student (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIApril 30, 2018
I am a nursing student and had a rotation here at DMC. I enjoyed the pediatric population that we helped treat. I loved the environment, it was very welcoming and there was plenty of opportunities to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting and so much to learn
Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIApril 23, 2018
Since the DMC is a teaching facility you learn a lot and so many different ethnic groups are here and the experience is great working for the DETROIT MEDICAL CENTER has been a good experience
and the people are great, there were rough times but we would make it through like when we loose power because of the weather etc. we receive specimens from every hospital and clinic with in the DMC which keeps us very busy the hardest part of the job to me is when Dr.'s send 99 test on a patient (figuratively speaking) and not enough specimen and we have to call the Dr. to see which tests he would want first. I would say the most fun part of the job is working with my co-workers because we all ways work as a team.
Pros
flexible when u have emergencies
Cons
donot like when they combined our sick, vacation time together
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding experience
Financial Counselor/ Pt. Service Rep. (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIApril 21, 2018
The DMC has definitely taught me a lot over the years. I have been with them for 31 years plus years. I have been ther through several merges with several hospital. A typical day for me is busy and productive,. I have learned so much over the years, from work experience and also working with the public. I have also so very good managers who has help me in so many ways. I really enjoyed working my coworker and together getting the job done. I am definitely a Team Player!
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Detroit Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 321 reviews
5139
497
361
211
113

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.9

2.6Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight