DeVry University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private University model no longer competitive in today's higher ed!
Associate Professor (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 16, 2018
DeVry University had a large number of great people teaching but management and cultural changes have decimated their educational model.

Class size diminished from over 35 to under two.

Commitments to employees to get advanced degrees were dropped in mid stream.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was always about the numbers
Student Support Advisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 5, 2018
The hardest part of the job was to work on enrollment, it was too expensive and we always struggled to enroll students in classes.
The best part of my job was working with some amazing students who I got to know and build relations with. I saw how they grew over time while in school, got an education and then good jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place
Professor (Former Employee) –  United StatesApril 4, 2018
A once wonderful institution became greedy. It is a travesty for students, faculty, and all the various people this University has touched. Let's hope it can be saved!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Student Admission Advisor (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNApril 3, 2018
I attended DeVry and worked as a work study intern. I enjoyed its environment of learning as well as there employment options for students. while at DeVry I Excelled Academically and I now I can truly say that I am an over achieving student due to DeVry Dynamic Staff and student Services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated team
Admissions Advisor II and Mentor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 2, 2018
Just a complete pleasure to work this company. Very hands on and fast paced. Supervisors always willing to roll up their sleeves to help. Never a dull moment.
Pros
Rapid promotions
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Oracle E-Business Applications DBA (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILApril 2, 2018
It is private firm operating higher education, so it has strict management and frequent management shake up. Which is the main reason I leave the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
CUSTOMER SERVICE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 28, 2018
I worked for Devry as a student worker. The team was very kind and understanding, they made sure that my schedule was set up so that i could have time to make sure all my assignments were completed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Senior Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLMarch 26, 2018
I had an opportunity to learn a lot. My position allowed me to help people who wanted to make changes in their lives and saw education as a way to get ahead.
Pros
Company Benefits
Cons
Terrible Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job while in school
Head Faculty Assistant (Supervisory) (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 24, 2018
This job gave me supervisory experience as well as private tutoring and troubleshooting projects. The best part was helping the students troubleshoot their projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DeVry's Library was a great place to work as a student.
Certified Tutor (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 19, 2018
Since the job was part of a federal work study program, the pay was fixed and the job was only part time. One of the requirements for being a part of the program was that you had to actively be attending classes. I lost my federal funding so I could no longer attend classes. That is why I had to leave Devry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked evenings only- it was good
Adjunct Professor- part time (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAMarch 18, 2018
I only worked in the evening with student/adults who worked in the day. I was not there during the day. There were break times for both professors and students.
Pros
Break time was good for the program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILMarch 18, 2018
I was in a systems analyst role at DeVry University. The work was intriguing and fun at times. I left the position because of my manager. She was new to the role and did not know how to deal with certain employee issues. She was not engaging at all and did not know how to motivate her employees.
Pros
interesting work duties, benefits
Cons
salary, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a University
Full-time student (Former Employee) –  AtlantaMarch 9, 2018
it was a good experience going to school at DeVry. I learned a lot and the staff was always willing to help and assist at anytime. A bit expensive if you ask me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very satifying. A very good place to work at.
Registrar Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 24, 2018
I always had a very productive day at work.
I learned how to work closely with the students and co-workers.
Management was very helpful and always available to assist.
Culture wise the University was very active in having various events celebrating.
I don't recall having any hard parts in the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job was participation on the Graduation and getting appreciated by the graduates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A for-profit university in the San Francisco Bay Area.
Adjunct professor (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAFebruary 12, 2018
This was my first college teaching gig, and I loved it. I had near total autonomy regarding my curriculum and syllabus, and my students were inquisitive and interesting.

The policy for adjunct professors missing class was a bit unbalanced. I once needed to miss four hours of my 20-hour work week, and was docked a full week's pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience for student worker
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 8, 2018
It gives an opportunity to International students to gain experience and work for 20 hours a week. The team is very supportive and guide you throughout.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale with little advancement opportunities
Federal Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 7, 2018
The job itself wasn't hard in fact, most days there was very little to do but the morale there was horrible. Management only seemed to be worried about obtaining student quotas and getting themselves to the next top level and had no regard for their staff the hours they worked or what issues they were dealing with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching at Devry
Visiting Professor (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 7, 2018
Teach Critical Thinking /Career Managment
8 week course
Group Project
Fun Staff Meetings
Online submission of assignments
Excellent Course Shell Tool
Pros
Software Discounts
Cons
Dont get to teach each session
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILJanuary 29, 2018
I typical day would consist of cold calling prospective student to apply to DeVry online. The work culture is great for younger employees in regards to giving a college like atmosphere.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Having to meet quotas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstructured
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tinley Park, ILJanuary 28, 2018
Unstructured, disorganized. Management not in tune with staff. Work culture, favoritism toward certain staff. .......................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DeVry University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 954 reviews
5325
4305
3197
275
152

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

2.7Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.