DeVry University Employee Reviews

Found 986 reviews matching the search See all 999 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A joyful and Educational Experience
Registration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Washington, PAAugust 14, 2018
A normal day at DeVry University is mostly testing new students that will be enrolling. I was able to work closely with management which helped me learn a lot about the business side of things. There was actually not a hard part about doing that job. It was really a comfortable place to come into each day and the hours were flexible. That also made it easier for me to attend my classes as well.
Pros
Flexible hours, Learning enviroment
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Institute where the Employment depended on Enrollment of Students
Visiting Faculty (Former Employee) –  North Brunswick, NJAugust 12, 2018
Theory Class followed by Laboratory Instructions.
To Master my Biomedical Engineering and Teach Others.
Management was Excellent
Work Place Culture was very respectful
To Fail a Student after all my efforts to coach him failed.
When I Carried a Good Class and When I was Quoted as the Best Teacher by a Graduating Student.
Pros
Occassional Parties
Cons
Main Location and Satellite location to be covered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Routine
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 9, 2018
I never felt excited about this workplace. The director had been the only bright light in the office. She worked hard to motivate and grow the staff professionally, but though she is armed with many skills, any of the team members were more concerned with everything outside of the office. A never ending uphill battle.
Pros
Creative and driven leader
Cons
working with individuals that just did not care, self-serving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company; excellent manager
Student Accounts Office Assistant (PT) (Former Employee) –  North Brunswick, NJAugust 9, 2018
Collaborative environment and good company to work for.
Good benefits both for health and educational.
Great manager.
This was temporary position but I enjoyed working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Faculty Asst good job while being a student
Faculty Assistant (Former Employee) –  Addison, ILAugust 8, 2018
It was a great job while being a student. Great kids to be around, advising students that wanted and needed help. The manager was fair and great to work for.
Pros
learning up close with professor and having a professor as a
Cons
the pay was not that great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and open work place
Central Administrative Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAAugust 6, 2018
great place to work being a student as well . Pay was not all that great nor was the hours. I was able to get home work done while working . My job was only part time and seasonal.
Pros
did home work at work
Cons
not enough hours or pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has its ups downs
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILJuly 29, 2018
The people you work with you grow close to because you work as a team. Management is constantly on top of you and sometimes it is overbearing for people. The company is not afraid to fire people and talk trash in meetings about the people they fired and use it as a scare tactic to get you to recruit more students. Here you really do feel as though the students are all a numbers game. It doesn't really seem like they are passionate to see their students succeed, just to get them to start classes so the numbers look good for upper management.
Pros
Company Outings
Cons
No flexible schedules, numbers game with students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Workplace
Student, Computer Information Systems Major (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 20, 2018
Slow movement up the corporate ladder. Need to learn on your own time to apply knowledge on the job. Assistance is there if you need it, but very minimal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place to Work Friendly Colleagues
Full Time Student (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 17, 2018
Nice people, really helped students. Only thing is they offer to many online classes which doesn't allow students to fully understand the material the school is offering. They should offer more on campus classes so more can be taught instead of relying on computers to help a student learn. Students pay their hard earn money when repaying their student loans. Its not fair if you ask me.
Pros
Helpful Professors
Cons
Too Many Online Classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Career Advisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 16, 2018
Again, a good place to work, I would return if given the opportunity. Not a lot of perks but a very good place to work. Management was fair, loved the atmosphere and the people that worked there.
Pros
Goog
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but very hectic.
Records Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Addison, ILJuly 13, 2018
Good coworkers for the most part. Worked well as a team. Good repoire amongst departments. Despite being hectic the team work helped to get things done more efficiently
Pros
Had massage therapist come in twice a month for employees at teasonable rate, educational benefits.
Cons
Very hectic for most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Lacking
Senior Project (Former Employee) –  Certified TutorJuly 7, 2018
I traveled a lot for DeVry University. They offered me a great amount of training but did not deliver. Overall, it was up to me to do what was necessary regardless of their promises. They offered courses that didn't exist and made me pay for them. Their compensation is low and their mission is fruitless.
Pros
Cheap place to go to school, will do whatever to get you through.
Cons
Lacking any real reputation that they claim to have, online schooling is a lie, overall this school is a scam.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fsw job
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 6, 2018
Was a nice place to work, didn't give much advance notice of original job being phased out. Luckily my past manager helped me locate the job as a FSW in the on campus Library.
Pros
great people, great manager
Cons
no advance warning of job ending.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, high workplace culture
Professor (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 4, 2018
DeVry is a great platform to finish your degree fast and easy when you have in-campus and online options to take courses. It's very flexible. My Class was always professionally provided by all necessary teaching equipment and materials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLJuly 2, 2018
Helping prospects fulfill their needs
I learned how to be patient in a busy environment
hands on
the most enjoyable part of the job is helping prospects to be successful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain admissions experience
Admissions Advisor/Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 2, 2018
Depends on the campus that you are located at. A lot has changed with this industry in general. In turn, the overall environment can be quite stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros & Cons
High School Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 29, 2018
We had a great local campus with great local leadership. However, the corporate office pays little attention to the opinions and advice of those in the field. There are annual layoffs so no job security.

Pros: Pays better than competition
Cons: No job security, limited advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Student (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 27, 2018
Great work and student balance. Graduated with B.S in Technical Management in San Diego. During my time worked in many project in my project management class.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive yet gloomy
Visiting Professor (Former Employee) –  Beavercreek, OHJune 21, 2018
DeVry had some financial problems, so while the environment seemed supportive, it seemed gloomy, because everyone seemed to know that the college was failing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a student position
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 18, 2018
Worked part time as a student while going to DeVry, the work environment is very welcoming and the bosses are very relaxed as long as the job is done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DeVry University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 999 reviews
5333
4316
3213
282
155

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight