Dickey's Barbecue Pit Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work at
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  Palm Springs, CAJuly 13, 2018
dickeys was a great experience for me .. we are sorry it had to end the way it did. due to the franchise owner becoming unstable. Dickeys is always on my list of suggesting to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Pit Boss (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 6, 2018
Everything is super easy to do. When asked to do something the people do it and do not complain. I have learned to better manage and become a good leader.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good job
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Levelland, TXJuly 2, 2018
Work was sometimes stressful and hard to deal with other certain managers because they seemed passive aggressive. Hardest part of the job was there were no breaks unless you work a split shift.
Pros
Customer satisfaction
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company EVER!
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, CAJune 26, 2018
They don't follow their own mission and values statement. They are constantly out of focus with corporates ideas and policy. They hire their children to run the business instead of individuals with actual experience. The owners of the AV locations degrade their workers in-front of customers and allow customers to do the same. The food is mediocre at best and all of the sides are made elsewhere but we are told to lie and say they are made in store.
Pros
Discount
Cons
No appreciation, verbal abuse, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here . Ive been here for 4 years this place is like my family.
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJune 25, 2018
If I could stay forever I would . I like working with everyone here it's a great job and easy . It was never to hard . I liked coming into work and seeing are regulars come in and are always happy with the service I provide.
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Hours cut
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was tough sometimes
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJune 25, 2018
Working here was pretty okay but I feel like it has to be something that you want to do they pay really well but the boss was a little bit mean from time to time but he still was a good one .
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Frustrating
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJune 18, 2018
During my short time at Dickey's BBQ I learned how to smoke various different types of meats. I learned how to cut the various meats in preparation for the customers. I excelled in customer service always leaving all the guests with a satisfied smile.
Pros
Free food
Cons
No health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Thanks
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Darien, ILJune 18, 2018
A place that you should not work at if you want to have a career, especially the one I used to work at. A thing that I would note is that if you have never worked for anyone else before, this is a great beginners job because of how relaxed it is but yet you are dealing with customers.
Pros
free lunches(sometimes)
Cons
horrible, just everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and Fun work environment
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 18, 2018
Dickeys was my first job and I loved it, the coworkers always try to help you in the best was possible and they they have felxible work hours. I was definitely recommended Dickey’s as a good job
Pros
Discounted lunch and Free ice cream
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
general manager (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 14, 2018
Enjoy managing and running restauraunt. the guest are the most important thing to me because i get to know some of them personally.And being the face of the company is something i take pride in an i accept all ownership in my position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great boss, great co-workers
Food handler (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAJune 14, 2018
Working for dickeys was a great first time job and i enjoyed working for such kind and generous boss, and friendly coworkers that are easygoing to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Brandywine, MDJune 8, 2018
fasted paced and repeated work
customer service skills , leadership and payroll
fair but needs improvement
fair
consistency
new customers and flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job with good food
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WIJune 5, 2018
The hardest part is of the job is just learning every thing about the job and sometimes you may have a bad management experience. The typical work day is pretty much the same every day so you get use to it very fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn’t really like it.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Highland, INJune 4, 2018
I throughly didn’t enjoy working at Dickey’s. I did make a few new friends but overall I am happy that I’m leaving and looking for a new job. I didn’t think that pay was worth doing all the work I did.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun outgoing staff
Pit Crew Worker (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 2, 2018
- Arrive, open the store, setup equipment, prepare food, greet and serve guests.
- Team work is helpful and important for a company to be successful.
- Management was decent.
- Staff was outgoing and fun to have conversations with.
- Hardest part of the job was dealing with upset guests during rush hours and machine failure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Understanding
Crew Member/Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYMay 31, 2018
Everyone that worked there (including the owner) were not very strict which made everyone friendly and helpful. No outfit was to be worn and everyone that worked there was incredible.
Pros
Easy going, Nice place to be
Cons
Not enough workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Turlock, CAMay 30, 2018
The management is very nice and the hardest part of the job is not being able to fulfill the needs of every customer like we would want when helping each individual customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic and unappreciative
Assistant Manager/Catering Manager/General Manager (Current Employee) –  Frisco, TXMay 30, 2018
Very little cohesiveness, and no benefits for health at all. Owner knows nothing of the business nor spends time at her own business, just expects everyone else to make HER the money.
She has unrealistic expectations of what this business can/will do for her.
Underpays the GM and all management.
Pros
a meal
Cons
No health benefits and poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced and stressful
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, TXMay 23, 2018
A typical day at work consisted of juggling many tasks and performing them in a small space with lots of people. Very busy and management was not understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entrepreneurial Path
Owner Operator, General Manager (Former Employee) –  Nederland, TXMay 19, 2018
Owned and operated fast casual old fashioned barbecue restaurant. Fast paced, fun, and unique experience. Becoming one of the few famous Texas Pit Masters is one of the most exhilarating experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dickey's Barbecue Pit. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 360 reviews
584
487
3103
254
132

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.4Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight